New York Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

New York Life Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2414 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
New York Life CEO Ted Mathas
Ted Mathas
1188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Provide a great training program(in 178 reviews)

  • "Robust and comprehensive training program with extensive support from development team(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unsteady paycheck due to 100% commission based salary(in 103 reviews)

  • "No base Salary could work on that so people would stay longer(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at New York Life full-time

      Pros

      good working environment for employee

      Cons

      no work life balance. too much

      New York Life2018-12-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Windsor, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at New York Life part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great training for new hires.

      Cons

      Management only care about their own asses

      New York Life2013-09-05
    • "Great structure and company, no hourly pay or salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Insurance Agent 

      I have been working at New York Life full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      high levels of training set you up to succeed helpful management

      Cons

      no set hours results in lower productivity all commission leads to very high stress

      New York Life2019-06-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Saddle Brook, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun, positive environment. helpful people and supportive culture

      Cons

      when you do bad, you're kind of left under the rug from management. needs more attention to all the agents

      New York Life2019-06-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great support, need financially stability entering position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Cleveland, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management Support, Training, Career Growth Opportunities

      Cons

      100% Commissions, Out of pocket expenses for overhead, The leads you get are the leads you prospect

      New York Life2019-06-05
    • "Great Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Senior Specialist in Houston, TX

        I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The benefits are so excellent.

        Cons

        Hours are not so flexible.

        New York Life2019-06-06
      • "GREAT PLACE TO WORK"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Internal Sales Consultant TPD Annuities in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at New York Life full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Awesome team Helpful Insight Great training

        Cons

        8-6 schedule Monday through Friday

        New York Life2019-06-05
      • "First Impressions after 6 months"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - AARP Sales and Service Representative in Tampa, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at New York Life full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Lots of time off. Good pay, Great retirement package

        Cons

        Older and mostly out of date equipment, communication between managers and staff could be improved.

        Advice to Management

        There is absolutely no reason why we have to work with such crappy programs. Invest the time and money be bring us into the 21st century.

        New York Life2019-06-17
      • "A little hectic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Representative in Cleveland, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great benefits. Really nice office and location.

        Cons

        Disorganized and very stressful at times. The workload can be overwhelming and training is not great.

        Advice to Management

        Management NEEDS to be trained on basic processing stuff at the very least. We are doing our best, but need better support when handling difficult cases and feel management does not understand what we are asking of them.

        New York Life2019-06-17
      • "Great Company/Offerings BUT..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Agent in Houston, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at New York Life full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great line of product offerings and extensive and cutting edge training system.

        Cons

        Local Office is managed by young corporate driven numbers only individuals. Partner staff are too green to responsibly coach new agents for success. Mgmt hires too many new agents in effort to meet recruiting goals and agents are left to attempt to meet sales goals (while being paid zero) with limited actual support. Need to rethink their overall hiring strategy. Less could reap higher success ratios

        New York Life2019-06-17
      Found 2414 reviews