New York Community Bancorp "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

New York Community Bancorp Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
46%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
New York Community Bancorp Chairman, President, and CEO; President, CEO and Director, New York Community Bank Joseph R. Ficalora
Joseph R. Ficalora
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "Collegial work environment and atmosphere(in 13 reviews)

  • "NYCB is a really tight knit group of workers who will do everything they can to make sure you succeed at the company(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "NYCB does not offer work/life balance and the benefits are horrible(in 14 reviews)

  • "No room for advancement and they do not make you feel very appreciated(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Credit Risk Analyst in Hicksville, NY

    I worked at New York Community Bancorp for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly- inviting environment Low Stress work environment

    Cons

    Work wasn't very engaging Not much growth opportunities

    New York Community Bancorp2020-02-07
  2. "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York Community Bancorp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bank hoilidays, because you are not at work dealing with all of the negativity.

    Cons

    Inept management at all levels. Popularity contest in order to get promoted. Management does not listen to employees concerns. Its a do as I say type work environment. How they stay in business is beyond me. I wouldnt place a dollar in that bank. Culture absolutley horrible.

    Continue reading
    New York Community Bancorp2020-02-20
  3. "Financial service associate review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Community Bancorp part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leniency when making sales goals Calm work environment

    Cons

    Poor pay for the amount of work done

    Continue reading
    New York Community Bancorp2019-05-21
  4. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Community Bancorp full-time

    Pros

    Collegial work environment and atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of senior leadership and vision

    New York Community Bancorp2019-03-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "NYCB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Community Bancorp full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work environment is nice.

    Cons

    The bank is horrible at compensation. The yearly raise is a joke.

    Continue reading
    New York Community Bancorp2019-01-15
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Operations Coordinator in Staten Island, NY

    I have been working at New York Community Bancorp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great to work with

    Cons

    Work environment needs approval. To many of the policies conflict with each other

    New York Community Bancorp2018-04-14
  7. "Part Time FSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Community Bancorp part-time

    Pros

    Bonuses for college students, chill work environment including management and great customers

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    New York Community Bancorp2017-05-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Family Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Community Bancorp full-time

    Pros

    True to its roots of where the Queens County Savings Bank originated. Keeps and continues to keep the company values of great ethics and employee encouragement. Offers a unique opportunity to all individual's coming from different walks of life. Work environment is positive as well as the people working for this company.

    Cons

    Overall not too quick to jump on the new technology bandwagon as there are plenty of checks and balances before the company implements a new fast way to bank or a new app. In a way not really a con because it cares that much about its customers security.

    New York Community Bancorp2016-12-20
  9. "New York community bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Financial Services Associate 

    I have been working at New York Community Bancorp for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment. flexible with school schedule. have bonuses for people enrolled in college

    Cons

    can be slow paced some days no benefits for part time

    New York Community Bancorp2016-10-14
  10. "Great years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Service Associate/Head Teller in Staten Island, NY

    I worked at New York Community Bancorp part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a few great years with great employees. Good work environment, loved helping people with their daily needs.

    Cons

    Wish the pay was a little better.

    New York Community Bancorp2016-01-19
Found 17 reviews