NetMotion Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
NetMotion Chief Executive Officer Christopher Kenessey
Christopher Kenessey
34 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Sadly Disappointing

    Oct 8, 2020 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you like a Frat Party

    Cons

    The Sales Kick Off will set the scene for what working at Netmotion will be like. If you enjoy a Frat Party that goes until 3-4am and this includes ALL the Execs (except HR they disappear before it gets rowdy) are partying like they're back in college. This is a 5-6 day bender with some sales related meetings on the side. HR have a look of despair all week hoping they don't get complaints or turning a blind eye in disbelief. If that's your thing then join up. The Executive Team is a boys club just be aware you won't be able to circumvent that group (except HR who is kind of in the club when it suits them). There's also some in leadership positions (execs and managers) who appear to have never undertaken any formal leadership / people management education. Promoted in to a people management position with no knowledge of leadership. Not just business degrees but how to manage people. Their idea of leading is to threaten or berate individuals believing this is how to lead and get the best out of people. HR is there to protect the company so don't expect too much in the way of support.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    NetMotion Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re proud of the culture we’ve built. So much so, that we brought in a videographer to capture the product of all of the effort we put into our teams and Sales Kickoffs each year. The video from our most recent Sales Kickoff can be found on the Careers page of our website. For our annual kickoffs, we spend 9 – 10 hours a day in conference rooms discussing company objectives and sales training, and we organize our evenings and social gatherings around events like karaoke, dinner cruises, and charitable giving. There’s quite a bit of camaraderie amongst our teams and it shows anytime we gather. We encourage our teams to enjoy events responsibly. Executive Leadership and HR are present to ensure that’s the case. Also, my HR team and I and participate in the kickoffs and evening events, and we’re proud of how our people conduct themselves. With regards to leadership training, most of the management team across all of NetMotion is staffed by those who were promoted into the position and demonstrate the ability to perform at that level. Regardless of whether we hire from within or source a new team member from the outside, we take hiring and promotions very seriously. We continually invest in our people, whether via external leadership opportunities or internal development, and it shows in the culture we have today. Again, thank you for your feedback. As we do with all current employees, we encourage anyone to speak with us if something is out of alignment with our values, especially if they are a manager. Another point we’d like to emphasize is that you did not bring your feedback to us while employed. The option for us to speak with you would have provided the best opportunity for productive conversation and for you to experience change, if needed, real-time.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company!

    Oct 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NetMotion is a fantastic company. I have worked for several software companies and found that NetMotion is best of breed both for products and culture. The products are rock solid. It is refreshing to walk into meetings where customers genuinely thank you for the great experience NetMotion provides. At the same time, NetMotion is not standing still. They are releasing new exciting and innovative products that are opening up opportunities in new markets. Employee Culture is also a great strength for NetMotion. From the top down it is a culture of support and accountability. That support comes not only from leadership, but often times from peers helping out other teammates. I have also seen many teammates have the opportunity to be promoted in their roles and grow their careers. There is a lot of opportunity for personal success, while also having a culture where team members are invested in the larger success of the team and company.

    Cons

    - Name and brand recognition outside of core verticals is not as strong. This is a focus area for NetMotion and they are making progress.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Thumbs up from a newbie!

    Oct 17, 2019 - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office feel is light, friendly and energizing. The layout and interior decor is well balanced between a modern design that promotes collaboration and interaction, with some traditional components that allow for employees to be heads down without distraction. The view of Lake Union and having windows facing into the atrium make the office feel open and bright. One of the first things I noticed about NetMotion (NM) was how upbeat the employees are. Regardless of the team/department, people seem to jive and are genuinely happy. At NM it’s encouraged to partake in activities at your own speed and to be authentic (which is refreshing). As a new hire, it was cool to see all the outreach and interest from existing employees and know that it’s on their own accord. Managers and Leadership are a well-balanced, cohesive group of long-time employees and new additions. I think this variety in experience and history has enhanced their efforts in contributing to the great culture at NM. Employee well-being and development are a top priority and it shows in the low attrition rate, internal promotions and transfers and employee acknowledgement programs. When talking to the Leadership Team it’s very apparent that they care and are committed to the company and the people. There is an obvious need for the product and it’s making the world around us work better. NM has a high NPS and renewal rate which is very telling in how customers feel about the product.

    Cons

    A month in to my role, I don't have any cons to share. I guess more raspberry fig bars towards the end of the week would be nice. :)

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Team-oriented, with lots of upside

    Oct 18, 2019 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very team-oriented culture with great people who want to see their peers succeed. Solid software that serves an important purpose, with strong customer loyalty. Lots of upside with market strategy, fueled by broad channel engagement. Everyone internally seems to be pulling together to work through transitions that will make our customers and company successful.

    Cons

    Sales org changes were a bit tricky at first, but the benefits have become noticeable. Although brand awareness is growing, it's still somewhat weak outside of core verticals.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Feels Like Home

    Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Goshen, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A family environment - Supportive and strong leadership team - A culture and values they strongly believe in and embody ever day - A high performing team that understands family/work balance - People are rewarded for their efforts and valued for their contributions - Employees are empowered to make decisions at all levels

    Cons

    - None anticipated - HQ in Seattle is a long flight from NY

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Growth. As an individual but also as a company.

    Dec 7, 2018 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Culture. I’m a remote employee in sales but still manage to feel connected to my colleagues. I can genuinely say I enjoy the folks I work with. The software itself is top shelf. With over 20 patents no one does what we do how we do it. Over the past 3 years we’ve developed new feature sets and rolled out new products. Innovating and challenging the status quo. I have a high degree of confidence in the product and selling it personally leaves me with a feeling of doing good by our customers. Marketing has raised the bar and done a great job of increasing brand awareness. We are breaking into new verticals which is very exciting to see. Existing customer rolodex is candidly impressive.

    Cons

    Need to continue to push brand awareness. For being in business since 2001 some industries still haven’t heard of us. Past owners and leadership probably failed here but Carlyle Group and existing CEO and team are doing a fantastic job. Making good headway and the outlook is positive. Quotas tend to be lofty with not as much room for multipliers as I’d like to see.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Outstanding Company

    Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best of both worlds, exceptional product and company culture.

    Cons

    Increase brand awareness. Much progress is being made in this area.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, great culture top to bottom

    Oct 9, 2019 - EMEA General Manager in Reading, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive culture, super product and a great place to be. NetMotion allows you to grow.

    Cons

    None to mention now, it is really that good.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The best company that I have worked so far.

    Jan 12, 2019 - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked in various companies in the IT industry for over 20 years, but NetMotion is the best company. There are two reasons. The first reason is that we have our own technology not found in other companies, and the products are very competitive. The second one is that colleagues are all very kind and the atmosphere of the company is also very good.

    Cons

    To be honest, there is no negative thing, but what if I think about something, is there a small number of toilets in the office? However, as it is enough to go to other floors, that is not a big problem. Since the company moved a year ago, the office is new, spacious and comfortable.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Mar 18, 2019 - Marketing in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting product roadmap, genuinely supportive HR, office dogs, professional development opportunities (training/conferences), coffee, Bagel Friday, competitive compensation/benefits, transparent financials, flexible work options.

    Cons

    Cubicles, departmental silos (very little business-wide interaction opportunities).

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 56 Reviews

Popular Careers with NetMotion Job Seekers

Jr. Software Developer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Software Development Engineer
Learn About the Job

Work at NetMotion? Share Your Experiences

NetMotion logo
or