Nerdery Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nerdery Reviews

Updated 25 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Nerdery CEO Adrian Slobin (no image)
Adrian Slobin
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great people, great benefits(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance - Each and every one of us enjoys a great balance of work and life(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "0 vision from upper management and poor communication(in 9 reviews)

  • "Previously was the best place in the world for nerds to work(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "In Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food. Free beer. Social Coworkers.

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities. Lack of empowerment.

    Nerdery2019-01-30
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Not the same company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nerd 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Nerdery started their growth with a business model of working with agencies. They focused on agencies that didn't have the in-house talent to build out the website part of rebranding or marketing initiatives. Somewhere along the way, mobile apps and other services became part of the offerings, but websites were always the bread and butter. They figured out they could make more money by helping companies do... "digital transformation". Hired a new CEO and tried to turn on a dime to go after relatively huge clients. As a result, the business model is almost completely changed. There's much less website work. The remaining work is also different, so there's turnover/layoffs. The sales cycle takes longer. Not doing smaller projects means there's less ability to simply get the foot in the door and eventually scale up to large transformation projects. There is potential here for the company to make money. No idea what it's going to be like for developers. Biggest pro for the company is work/life balance. This hasn't changed - if you make sure your work is taken care of, you have flexibility (time off or work from home) to do what you need .

    Show More

    Cons

    The high point of the Nerdery was always the people. Passionate developers that care about their work. This is becoming less and less true. Some people are being let go. Others are leaving because they don't feel as secure or engaged. No idea how much this will continue. I've seen people laid off that I consider to be top notch, first class nerds. The sales people I've talked to have been really alienated as well.... There seems to be less opportunity for real engagement with the work. Bottlecap - the Friday end of week party used to be an opportunity for socializing. It helped knit the company's culture. Now it's been moved to noon, and there's less socializing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You've burned a lot of bridges. I hope you figure out the sales cycle and preserve the company. Not sure how you can keep the high quality of Nerds we had in the past. Good luck with that, no sarcasm intended. Keep communicating and do your best to allow people to take pride in their work. With these larger projects there's going to be more of a tendency for people to feel like parts of a machine instead of... valued individual contributors. Watch out, since people will leave because of that. You've pretty much shown you don't value Nerdery culture, apart from how it directly affects the bottom line. Mistake. Hope you start taking the sense of community seriously again.

    Show More
    Nerdery2019-07-16

    Nerdery Response

    July 23, 2019CEO

    Thank you for spending more than five years of your career here and for sharing your insights with us. You are absolutely right that our business model has shifted away from primarily supporting agencies and creating marketing sites towards long-term partnerships with our clients ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Commodity Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At times, people were highly engaged and working together

    Cons

    The focus on the customer was misaligned between teams and it became a cutthroat environment

    Advice to Management

    Find your differentiation and focus on the customer

    Nerdery2019-07-25
  4. "Not a bad little company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tight knit groups, people have fun and work well together. No bad apples that I've found.

    Cons

    Better support for remote workers

    Nerdery2019-06-02
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented coworkers, ability to contribute at varying levels, flexible work environment, regular company activities with food.

    Cons

    The turnover. Wow, it was surprising, constant, and disruptive to both teams and client projects. You walk the halls and everyone is just miserable. A vision touting "change" and "new direction" and yet no ability to communicate "why" or "how" or for "who". Leaders who seem to be paid by the buzzword yet can't explain anything in plain language. A desire to move the company downtown because it would be... "cool" like the other shops. The Nerdery was good because it wasn't like the other shops. A "Boys' club" at the top of leadership - lots of past coworkers working together again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ha, very funny. They don't have ears. Only mouths.

    Nerdery2019-06-03
  6. Helpful (14)

    "No idea where the company is heading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Nerds have always been what made Nerdery a special place to work, but people are leaving left and right, whether through being laid off or quitting on their own accord, so I can't really say that's a pro anymore.

    Cons

    All leadership support of the unique culture that made Nerdery a great organization has been removed and it's a struggle to organize anything special anymore. With so many people leaving, it's unclear whether they want to even have a development portion of the company or simply want to be a consulting group. While adaptation is understandable, there's a real loss of any positive corporate culture or a clear... understanding of where the company wants to go. It's very different than what Nerdery used to be and because of this, I can't advise anyone to consider getting a job there. With so much outside leadership coming in, long-term employees simply leave to get a promotion somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't know if you have a long-term strategy to sell or simply change the focus of the company, but your current activities (and lack of any sort of culture or current-employee career paths support) will leave you with a shell of a company with nothing but employees that don't care about the company or their work.

    Nerdery2019-04-02

    Nerdery Response

    April 15, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback around your frustrations. As a current employee, I hope you were able to participate in the rollout of our new vision and priorities and that you will work with us as we continue to gain momentum around it. In those sessions, we discussed ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (7)

    "WHOA! Lots of Feelings on Glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Bloomington, MN
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nerdery is able to hire really nice people. You're offered a pretty flexible work environment, it's not smack in the middle of downtown, and Nerdery has a pretty decent reputation with clients in the local area. Contrary to what others may think, I do think that the leadership team does care and is willing to listen, but I don't think many people know that. Instead of approaching them to have a conversation, many... sit and let their feelings fester, which is never good.

    Show More

    Cons

    There has been a lot of turnover at all levels of the organization, the direction, who we are, what we do and who we help is constantly changing. Many talented people who could have pushed the company to the next level have left. You can look at that two ways - really great talent leaving OR making room for the next generation of new leaders - your choice. Leadership is fine. Many are new, none are the terrible... people that have been cited in the previous posts. Are they similar to the original leaders (owners) who were some of the most down to earth, humble individuals? No, they aren't - but Nerdery isn't the same either. Nerdery used to be an amazing place to work, great perks, lots of fun, ever-changing environment - it still has a lot of those qualities, but the competition does too. There's lots of work to be done there, many production people are incredibly talented in their craft, but lack the soft skills to be client facing and the production staff that does hold those highly coveted skill sets are leading multimillion dollar engagements and won't be able to lead a new project or mentor other people. Everyone leaves jobs, everyone leaves companies. Nerdery isn't terrible, but it also isn't the special gem it used to be. I'll be interested to see where the company goes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your people, listen to how they are feeling and empower them to be leaders. There is a lot of good talent left at Nerdery, if you can provide emotional security for them to push some boundaries, great things can happen.

    Nerdery2019-04-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lost the way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. A great culture that’s slowly degraded to a new normal. There’s potential for greatness. You’ll learn a lot, assuming you have the right connections and get into good projects. Still better then most corporate jobs.

    Cons

    5 star reviews that sound oddly like the leaderships hopes. Turbulence. Never ending revolving door at every level. The great people are inevitably finding themselves much better off elsewhere. Benefits are slowly reduced and are noticeably less then the competition. The common theme is to pay under market rates. The last leader who cared was replaced and now it’s purely about the vision of current leadership,... subject to change based on the winds of the day. Limited growth potential. Lay offs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make it the best place in the world for nerds to work. Used to be the slogan.

    Nerdery2019-05-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Fantastic people and direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is finally on the right track after lots of changes over the last several years. Yes, people have left, but the people that remain are awesome, and I'm amazed at the kind of talent that we've been able to attract to help us continue to evolve. I'm really excited about the direction and where we are headed!

    Cons

    There is still some cultural work to be done in getting people focused on the right things (less about us, more about our great work and great clients).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep us all focused on doing great work, and the rest will take care of itself.

    Nerdery2019-02-27

    Nerdery Response

    March 8, 2019NA

    This is Adrian Slobin. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I agree that the people and level of talent here is one of the best part of the job, hands down. You’re right that we have some work to do in terms of culture but I’m excited to see where our new vision statement ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nerdery really cares for their employees. My job is relatively low on stress. We get a catered meal and free beer every Friday. The kitchen is stocked with free bananas, apples, bagels, cereal, coffee, ramen, oatmeal, chocolate, and LaCroix. Employees at Nerdery are very social and friendly, as well as into technology and their careers. Employees are often empowered to learn new things and cross-train on different... technologies.

    Show More

    Cons

    The overall vision and direction of the company is mysterious, and attempts to communicate vision to the employees often fall short.

    Nerdery2019-02-19
Found 168 reviews