Nerd Corps Entertainment Animator Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Animator

Nerd Corps Entertainment Animator Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Nerd Corps Entertainment CEO Asaph “Ace” Fipke (no image)
Asaph “Ace” Fipke
3 Ratings
  1. "Doing ok but feeling the burn.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and the teams you build while you are on a project are amazing. Everyone feels like a family at times in the sense that we are all pulling through times to get things done and encouraging each other.

    Cons

    Sometimes, management puts the pressure on people, especially newer people. I can't tell you how many times I've run across someone burned out from just stress and pressure, myself included. I know that TV has a tight turnaround but people are dropping left and right from the studios because they aren't being paid enough to put up with some of the mental things they have to go through.

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2015-08-07
  2. "its okay for starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - friendly people - employee appreciation events

    Cons

    - quick fast animation, never get time to be proud of your work - basic rigs - sparks -very poor pay for the cost of living its so absurd you cant make 30-50 and hope to have a savings in this city. -cap on how much one can make they all follow same wage system which is the lowest -

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2018-02-15
  3. "Good for juniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool projects. It's a good first job to get into the industry. You'll learn a lot.

    Cons

    It seems like the company is going through some growing pains. The quotas are high and it's kind of a sweat shop

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2015-10-24
  4. "I learned a lot, the work load was too much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Newly introduced benefits are better than you will find at most places in the animation industry. The people were great. The directors were patient. A great place to find your footing in the industry.

    Cons

    Low wages. Probably the lowest in the industry. The work load was too much. Animation quality was lacking. A tracking system was used that overloaded it's employees telling them they were cronically behind. Felt like a career at a factory rather than a dream job.

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2015-11-13
  5. "Good place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Animator in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to progress, interesting work, full scenes assigned to animators

    Cons

    Largest quota I've ever had to produce, time tracking software tracks every second of your day.

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2014-08-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "........."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the largest TV series animation Studio in Vancouver. People, co-workers and directors are great to work with.

    Cons

    Very unique and poor time management using a certain 'timer' for animators. Lacks balance of continuity and quality of work. No reviews or meeting for animators to communicate as a team. Very POOR Quota - average 60 sec per week, animators do layout aswell (no layout artists in the studio) all overwhelming quantity work to be done using overtime, which is ofcourse, unpaid.

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2014-03-13
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Eh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, fun shows, great directors.

    Cons

    poor management. promotions/raises are very rare. they work you to the bone and expect more. You don't feel appreciated what so ever. not organized at all and it made it really hard for employees. employees are extremely underpaid.

    Continue reading
    Nerd Corps Entertainment2012-08-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Better than I was expecting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animation PA in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the animation team has been a huge pleasure. It's a very relaxed environment, even with the heavy time pressures everyone is under. The people are great, and always willing to help each other out. The supervisors are competent and care about their staff. Good job stability.

    Cons

    No benefits, no overtime pay (and expect to do a lot of overtime), and very little time to spend on polishing animation. Oh, and the coffee is just godawful. But overall the company has grown a great deal in the past year, and I believe for the better.

    Nerd Corps Entertainment2012-08-12
  9. "Good place to start your animation experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerd Corps Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Awesome place to start your experience in animation industry. You'll learn a lot about how the industry flows, not only in animation but also in films and video games too.

    Cons

    Tracking system is extremely stressful, sometimes people ignores quality but chooses ways to catch up the tracking time. Wage is too low despite its entry level for an animation industry.

    Nerd Corps Entertainment2014-08-23
Found 9 reviews