Nelson Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 135 reviews

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Nelson President Steve Brown
Steve Brown
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "It has great people great product(in 12 reviews)

  • "The employees at Nelson truly care about the business(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Watching a car crash is never pleasant, except when it comes to Nelson Education(in 8 reviews)

  • "Right now, there is not much work/life balance but I know it is not the norm(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great company, with great people where teamwork is the way.

      Apr 14, 2021 - Royalty Manager in Scarborough, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Workday flexibility, benefits, and great work atmosphere.

      Cons

      Right now, there is not much work/life balance but I know it is not the norm.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Beautiful dreams set aside

      Apr 27, 2022 - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, and some great people

      Cons

      Vacuum of energy, There were grand plans in the past but it seems like we’ve settled for vanilla mush.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Sinking ship

      Aug 11, 2021 - Worked for MPS in Scarborough, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flex hours are great. Every other Friday off in the summer. The people are amazing.

      Cons

      The division that made the company the most money was sold. More than half the emplyees let go this year. They have put all their eggs in one basket.

      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Honest feedback

      May 10, 2021 - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decreased corporate debt, I guess.

      Cons

      Toxic and uninformed management, shrinking business and workforce, generally directionless.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Tons of changes

      Apr 16, 2021 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and focus on inclusivity.

      Cons

      Sales target were unrealistic for most this past year which can be discouraging. A lot of change this past year due to the pandemic and making big team changes. It can be nerve wrecking when there seems to be so much uncertainty but I guess that's happening to many companies during this time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great potential, huge dead weight

      Apr 6, 2021 - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cushy jobs, old school performance approach, WFH

      Cons

      Zero opportunities for growth, incompetent management, five consultants to make every decision.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company that understands where education is going

      Mar 29, 2021 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and the vision

      Cons

      A lot of hard work as the market is transitioning.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good and bad areas, but decent place overall

      Mar 17, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Good benefits Work life balance Cool new direction

      Cons

      Some director and vp level leaders did not use much analytics in marketing Some business decisions involved too many people making the project last too long, cost too much, and eventually get canceled.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I regret leaving my previous job

      Mar 11, 2021 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. If they decide to go back to the office I don't think I will stay People on my team are great to work with, there are some really great people at Nelson.

      Cons

      Management on all levels is terrible to deal with. The employees are great, but the managers I have dealt with act as though they are better than everyone else. I was expecting a great company culture when I joined and believed it until I completed my first week. I quickly realized that management is only interested in making themselves look good.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Formerly Great Company

      Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees have always been the best part of the company

      Cons

      The leadership in the past 4 years has been terrible

      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Nelson Reviews FAQs

    Nelson has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 135 reviews left anonymously by employees. 39% of employees would recommend working at Nelson to a friend and 28% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Nelson employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Nelson. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

    39% of Nelson employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Nelson 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.0 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Nelson Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nelson? Share Your Experiences

    Nelson logo
    or