Nava Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nava Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Nava Co-founder  Rohan Bhobe (no image)
Rohan Bhobe
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great People, Great Environment, Tough Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nava full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work that aligns to my beliefs, great work location flexibility, a company that treats you like an adult, leveling up policy to evaluate if you were brought in at the right level after 4 months

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry, the work is tough since government moves slow and we are trying to shake up the whole civtech industry

    Continue reading
    Nava2020-01-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Empathetic, kind people earnestly trying to improve government services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nava full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Company is very mission-driven * Smart, kind, and talented co-workers * Possibility of making a big impact * Good benefits

    Cons

    * Government work can be frustrating and slow * Limited opportunities to experiment and innovate

    Nava2019-08-18
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Important work, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nava full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working on important problems that impact real lives (healthcare, Veterans, getting people access to public benefits) - Smart, compassionate coworkers - Strongest commitment to diversity and inclusion that I've seen at a tech company

    Cons

    - Typical startup growing pains, with the silver lining that you're getting in on the ground floor

    Nava2018-10-23
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Challenging work with a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nava full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The team is highly skilled and caring - Working for the public benefit runs in our DNA - We work on very complex problems - Lot of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    - Working with government can be very challenging - We can sometimes be slow to staff important roles (I get it, we're looking for the right people, but I do wish we could staff faster)

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-09-26
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Doing important work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nava full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my time at Nava -- it's hard work but so important, and I feel like we've made a real impact on improving government programs and software.

    Cons

    Happiness really depends on what team you're working on.

    Nava2018-09-08
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Be careful selecting the project."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nava full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, really smart and talented team, impactful work

    Cons

    Unhealthy culture regarding work/life balance, so be careful with which project you join. Inexperienced leadership that's unable to accept blame for mistakes or learn from them.

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-10-10
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Challenging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nava full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company is mission-focused. The idea of bringing modern technology to government and improving the social safety net for millions of people is appealing. - Work with thoughtful people who deeply care about building a diverse, inclusive team and making a positive social impact. - Nice work-from-home policy as long as you communicate and get work done.

    Cons

    - The day-to-day is slow and frustrating. The company has very limited decision-making on some projects, and it can be a long wait and back-and-forth to get decisions from the government stakeholders who are the real decision-makers. Decisions and priorities can change without warning, resulting in wasted time/work and lots of context-switching. - Poor work-life balance; recurring early morning meetings or late-night/Friday night code deploys were common. The company tries to encourage sustainable hours, but this is in practice impossible to meet externally imposed deadlines. Generally high-stress environment with severe risk of burnout. - The leadership team lacks requisite experience for navigating complex government relationships and processes. Employees don't always receive important information that directly affects them, or the information turns out to be incorrect. Not sure what's naivete versus willful ignorance, but left me feeling like I couldn't trust what leadership was saying.

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-07-31
  8. Helpful (26)

    "toxic, high-stress environment with disingenuous work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nava full-time

    Pros

    Hypothetically, the mission of supporting the social safety net with technology is very appealing.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the reality of working at Nava doesn't live up to the promise of the company's mission and values. Nava doesn't have the leadership and organizational maturity necessary to manage the relationship with its government clients in a way that allows the work to get done well, much less sustainably for its employees. In the face of critical feedback and requests for help in difficult client situations from employees, leadership "hears" the feedback, assures employees that everything will be ok, then does absolutely nothing to correct the issue. Later, when the situation gets worse, they claim ignorance of what has been going on. Nava's corporate values are extremely appealing, but the company work culture does not live up to them, and even contradicts them in many cases.

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-07-31
  9. Helpful (19)

    "No work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nava full-time

    Pros

    Thoughtful hiring processes; Diversity and inclusion is a priority.

    Cons

    Organizational maturity is severely lacking. Huge government projects are put into the hands of new employees with little oversight and guidance from product and leadership. Projects are consistently understaffed which makes work/life balance impossible. The work is difficult, unclear, disorganized. Priorities on projects change weekly. Sometimes year long projects never ship. Still very much a start-up. Pay is low compared to other start-ups.

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-07-31
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Nothing like what it seems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nava full-time

    Pros

    Impactful work affecting users with real needs.

    Cons

    Poor pay and leadership. The work is meaningful, but the company is not positioned to ship it. Disingenuous about values. Values are used like a hammer used to silence valid criticism.

    Continue reading
    Nava2018-07-29
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed