Naughty Dog Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Naughty Dog Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Naughty Dog Co-President Evan Wells
Evan Wells
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great projects, passionate team(in 6 reviews)

  • "Creative environment, lots of talented people, learned new skills(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The crunches are hard, lots of long hours at the end of the project(in 5 reviews)

  • "Insane crunch hours, little to no recognition or acknowledgment(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Naughty Dog full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -People are friendly. -The ability to insert your creative choices and views through out the projects makes for a better feeling of ownership and wanting to invest in the work. -Great projects. -Pay is ok ... needs to be better.

    Cons

    Bad Estimation of workloads and bad organization leads to too many work hours. Not great for overall health and family on the long run if you are not careful about setting limits.

    Advice to Management

    Something fundamental needs to change in management style now that the studio is at this scale ... because of burn out some of the best artists will continue to leave after a period, looking for better hours and better pay.

    Naughty Dog2019-12-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Naughty Dog Dream come true?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Developer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked here for over 2-3 years now. Its really been amazing to work here along side the best of the game industry. -Amazing Benefits -Well Pay

    Cons

    -Crunch hours consisted of staying at the studio for large amounts of time

    Naughty Dog2019-10-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Not the best place for people with families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - good benefits and pay - the bonuses are really nice - you are almost guaranteed to work on a best selling, well reviewed game - people are super talented and motivated - full-time employees don't have to worry about being laid off after a project ends (though they do tend to leave in droves between projects because the crunch burns everyone out) - the worst of crunch usually occurs once every 2-3 years and lasts anywhere from 8 months to 14 months. When we're doing reasonable hours and not crunching, this is a great place to work

    Show More

    Cons

    - management doesn't communicate with each other and no one seems to take deadlines seriously, often leading to confusing, conflicting and often contradicting direction/feedback at the last minute. - the crunch hours are awful. This has been the worst/longest crunch I've ever been part of. Despite management's efforts to mitigate crunch with careful planning and strict deadlines, the game ballooned, level designs changed (after design lock - see note *no one takes deadlines seriously) and thousands of hours of work were thrown away or redone. - if you have a child or a loved one waiting for you at home, chances are you won't see their waking faces for days at a time. They either need to be really understanding or this is not the job for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To echo another review, go to management training. We keep losing our best people because they keep getting burned out. Lets evaluate our scope and develop for the studio we have and not the studio we wish we had. Hiring a million contractors in the 11th hour isn't going to fix this.

    Naughty Dog2019-10-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MP QA Tester in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Naughty Dog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is a team player. Experienced team. We worked hard but we also were able to enjoy our work and the department.

    Cons

    There were times where there would be a break in communications due to management style but the person responsible was eventually let go.

    Advice to Management

    I do not know the current management at Naughty Dog. I wouldn't be able to give any advice.

    Naughty Dog2019-05-15
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great projects, passionate team

    Cons

    Crunch, crunch, crunch, crunch, crunch

    Naughty Dog2018-12-14
  6. "Top Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Naughty Dog full-time

    Pros

    Very talented first party developer

    Cons

    Some times the crunch are necessary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going forward

    Naughty Dog2018-11-13
  7. Helpful (5)

    "World's top 1st party developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * top quality games * focus on storytelling * one of the best animation teams in the world * best place for ambitious devs

    Cons

    Santa Monica is very expensive.

    Naughty Dog2018-09-28
  8. Helpful (26)

    "The snake of the games industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You'll be working on some of the best games in the industry, surrounded by some of the most talented, passionate people. You'll be sheltered from external pressure of publishers and have an unlimited budget as Sony's golden goose. Working here will open many doors for you.

    Cons

    Roughly every 5 years, the studio sheds its skin. You'll see developers leaving in droves, then the cycle will repeat as the new hires roll in. For a long time, you'll think this is the best job in games. You'll have likely spent years trying to get here and for the first few years, it delivers. You'll see people leave and go elsewhere and you'll think to yourself 'That's a strange move. Why would they ever leave here?' Then, a few years later, the truth will start to reveal itself. The signs will be subtle at first, but you'll be drinking the Kool-aid. Even though the head of the studio says 'it's not possible to make a game with this quality without crunch', it won't alarm you since you're sure that's what it takes. The money's still good, the people are still good. Whatever, you'll probably have some of the best years of games industry experience in your life here. Then you'll realize the studio has no interest in your personal development or well-being. It only cares about making The Next Big Thing and it'll do it whatever it takes. It might not be any one particular thing that moves you on, but once you make the decision, you won't look back. Work here. Enjoy it. Just don't go in expecting to be here forever. It's not the dream you think it is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Attend some management training. Send your directors and leads on management training.

    Naughty Dog2018-09-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great, Cool, Hip, Rad, Lads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Naughty Dog

    Pros

    Great lads at this joint

    Cons

    Too much good food I put on some pounds

    Naughty Dog2018-05-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Very talented team. Amazing tools. Treated well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Animator in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Naughty Dog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is something special about being surrounded by some of the most talented people in the industry. I love getting to work on a product I’m truly proud of.

    Cons

    The hours have can be long towards the end of the project though they are very generous with PTO. It’s also more of a culture of perfectionism than something that feels demanded.

    Naughty Dog2018-03-30
Found 47 reviews