Naughty Dog Game Programmer Reviews

Updated May 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 110 reviews

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Naughty Dog Co-President Evan Wells
Evan Wells
7 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nod

    Feb 6, 2022 - Game Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good for working a well polished

    Cons

    No cons can telled against

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awesome work environment

    May 5, 2022 - Game Programmer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible schedules - Good treatment/ethics

    Cons

    - Stressful at some certain times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    amazing

    Mar 7, 2021 - Game Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    best place to work at

    Cons

    I have nothing to say really

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Naughty Dog Dream come true?

    Oct 19, 2019 - Game Developer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked here for over 2-3 years now. Its really been amazing to work here along side the best of the game industry. -Amazing Benefits -Well Pay

    Cons

    -Crunch hours consisted of staying at the studio for large amounts of time

    12 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Get ready to crunch and burn out.

    Jan 18, 2017 - Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best work in the business.

    Cons

    Exclusive, clique culture. You're either in the in club, or a resource to be used up.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Where else?

    Jul 26, 2016 - Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will work on the best games in the industry, and constantly be challenged to do your best work, including things no one has ever done in the industry before. Good work is recognized and rewarded.

    Cons

    The crunches are hard, lots of long hours at the end of the project. Your spouse must be ok with this.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Best Job so Far

    May 24, 2015 - Game Programmer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Great medical insurance + Best benefits + Employees are industry veterans and super skilled + Fun working environment

    Cons

    - Crunch hours are sometimes really intense - Some distractions while working

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Greatest Professional Experience of My Life

    Mar 27, 2015 - Game Developer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will work the the best people in the industry. The talent and work ethic is unmatched. There are no managers or assistant managers, or assistants to the managers at Naughty Dog, because everyone knows what they are doing, and more importantly, is passionate about what they are doing. Everyone from the Co-Presidents down is approachable, and honest about what their expectations are for you, and how high a bar that is. I've been in this industry for 12 years, and I learned more about how game development SHOULD be done in my first month at Naughty Dog than I would have thought possible. There have been some past reviews that indicated problems with family/life balance. I can see that perspective, there is a lot of crunch at the conclusion of projects. That's usually what it takes to make great games, since you're trying to improve them as much as you can up to the last second. I can also say I've found Naughty Dog to be extremely supportive to me and my own family - so perhaps they've made changes recently in how that's been handled. I know that I've had broad allowances when I've needed family time.

    Cons

    You have to bring your "A game" every day. If you are looking for an easy paycheck, or a job where you can rest on your laurels, this isn't the place for you. You'll be hired because you're experienced and talented, but will be challenged on what you are doing, and how you are doing it on a regular basis. You will be expected to learn new tools, and new skills. You will need to adapt to keep pace. If can't do it, you'll be shown the door. High expectations come with a job at Naughty Dog. Be prepared.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company around

    Sep 28, 2014 - Game Programmer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make the worlds best game Amazing people Always pushing for perfection

    Cons

    Some limited crunch time before a project ships

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome

    Jun 18, 2014 - Game Designer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work with the most talented people in the industry. People here genuinely care about the games we make and work hard to satisfy our standards.

    Cons

    Standards are high, but everybody is in it together to make things as good as they can be.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Naughty Dog Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Naughty Dog? Share Your Experiences

Naughty Dog logo
or