National Oilwell Varco Manager Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
National Oilwell Varco President and Chief Executive Officer Clay C. Williams (no image)
Clay C. Williams
52 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management and good culture

    Cons

    Long hours work and life balance

    National Oilwell Varco2019-09-07
  2. "Production Operator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager-Operatons in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Prositive place to work, freedom to operate

    Cons

    Lack of delegation and encourages the growth with internal candidates

    Continue reading
    National Oilwell Varco2018-08-12
  3. "Oil prices falling were the only downside."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, managers. High quality products more often than not delivered on time on budget. Customers were never let down even when things went wrong.

    Cons

    No work. "National Oilwell Varco said on Wednesday that it expects to undertake a round of mass layoffs as low oil prices continue to hamper demand for services. “We are signaling mass layoffs,” the spokesperson said."

    National Oilwell Varco2016-07-11
  4. "Good company with opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Massive organization around the world Chance for internal advancement Can request to be move to another division or location within the company Charity initiatives Good benefits and chance for educational upgrades and progression

    Cons

    Red tape that comes with a large organization

    National Oilwell Varco2015-12-01
  5. "Great place to get experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area HSE Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    will offer lots of opportunity

    Cons

    pays poor and very top heavy

    National Oilwell Varco2015-11-18
  6. "Working for NOV has had for the most part had a very positive effect on my life."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Manager in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities for employees to advance within this large orginization. There are numerous training modules such as inhouse training, online training and outsides sources. The benefit package is great for a family or single person. There is a company matching RRSP program ( company match increase with years of service ). The company encourges employees to use there vacation time

    Cons

    A huge issue is hiring entry level employees in my area due to very low unemployment levels and a below industry starting wage. Activity in my area is like a bees hive, never stops. This situation is a hardship on all current employees.

    Continue reading
    National Oilwell Varco2014-05-28
  7. "After Thiught"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Account Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The ability to try different areas of work within the company when openings are available locally or globally. .

    Cons

    Purely a numbers company when it comes to downsizing. Zero effort to work with employees in options to stay employed.

    National Oilwell Varco2020-05-24
  8. "assistant"

    2.0
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    to operate safety and maintain high standards

    Cons

    having basic twic and basic plus

    Continue reading
    National Oilwell Varco2020-04-09
  9. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    They provide decent benefits and retirement

    Cons

    Oilfield services are not steady

    Continue reading
    National Oilwell Varco2020-02-26
  10. "Great opportunities for development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Sourcing Manager in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth is there if you want it.

    Cons

    High level of Red tape, this constrains the businesses ability to adapt to the market changes.

    Continue reading
    National Oilwell Varco2020-02-23
Found 122 reviews