National Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

National Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
63%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no sure the saladary

    Cons

    good place to work on

    Advice to Management

    depends on your ia and palces

    National Bank2019-07-03
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Engaging Work. Great staff to work with.

    Cons

    High Work Load. High Stress.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    National Bank2018-04-28
  3. "Do not bank with NBC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Echo credit card is ok.

    Cons

    National bank is super slow. Made mistakes in my student loans. Told me papers were proccessed and money would come in a few days. Every few days. Until 1 employee was honest and told me nothing has been processed and helped me out. 1in 10. Long wait times on phone.

    National Bank2018-05-05
  4. "Finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Bad environment to work in

    National Bank2017-07-13
  5. "Worst CS ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Bank full-time

    Pros

    None at all in here

    Cons

    Client will wait atleast an hour before someone answers

    Advice to Management

    Change your system so that you answer in 10 min max like all other banks. Rbc, TD, Scotia. National bank is the worst

    National Bank2017-06-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "work under pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    good package overall but employee advantages are down

    Cons

    work 70 hours per week, never enough and no recognition taking the number of hours spent, global salary is so so

    National Bank2016-10-19
  7. "No advancement - unless you know the boss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Bank

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits - that's it! You can find a job there because they burn through the good people, the bad refuse to leave.

    Cons

    Silo attitude - No one works together or cares to move things forward. Emails go unanswered. Projects can be blocked with no fear of repercussions. Guilty until you prove, once again, your innocence. The bank is full of bullies. I have never been treated or spoken too so badly at so many levels. VPs use intimidation and bullying, humiliation in meetings. The Bank actually has a mandate to make 10% of employees... fail. This is a target. Yearly review process is unfair and tedious. It's an old boys club when it comes to handing out bonuses. Although it is a Federal Charter, English is not welcome or accommodated. All documents and work is in French, even though it does not have to be. Good luck expanding West!! There is a reorg every six months since I was there. In five years I had 6 bosses, I had to continually prove myself each time. Sometimes I was a hero, sometimes dirt, if the new boss didn't like me. If the new leader does not see your value, you can be escorted to the door. The bank is run by emotion, not logic. Too many leaders with no skill to lead or inspire. I do not have any good memories from National Bank of Canada.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! Stop reorganizing, treat people with respect. Listen to outside advice. Remove some layers of management. Hire professional inspirational leaders, not bullies who motivate through fear.

    National Bank2016-09-13
  8. "don't like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at National Bank

    Pros

    nobody wants to apply here, so you can get a job

    Cons

    bad pay don't speak french you are screwed no career slow service only like french speaking people

    Advice to Management

    terrible place to work

    National Bank2016-06-15
  9. "Quality Control Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    IT technology is outdated. Departments do not communicate enough with one-another.

    National Bank2015-07-07
  10. "Senior Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrator in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company, good to their employees

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, they are the front line.

    National Bank2015-04-14
Found 33 reviews