Natera Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Natera Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Natera CEO Steve Chapman
Steve Chapman
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great, catered lunches and stock options after one year of employment(in 26 reviews)

  • "If you are into food, the company provides free lunch and snacks(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Good company for lazy people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good heath insurance. Some good colleagues. Flexible working time.

    Cons

    - Free coffee is provided, but the company's mugs are always dirty, and there is no foam cup or paper cup. - Free snacks, cookies are completely rubbish. - Management people don't trust employees very much. - Hard works are not appreciated. - People at director level and middle management level are under qualified in term of scientific and engineering knowledge, so they cannot run the company effectively. -... There is no room to develop and grow. - Low salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire all director-level middle management level people.

    Natera2016-08-27
  2. "Cutting Edge Genetics Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Clinical Specialist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Advanced tech, great culture, great people, things get done, impressive, leadership has the ship going the right direction

    Cons

    Nothing to report at this time

    Natera2019-09-25

    Natera Response

    October 7, 2019HR team

    Our leadership team is creating a new and exciting future for Natera and doesn't always hear the praise, thanks for sharing!

  3. "Overall great company with an exciting future, incredible training program and support!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Support Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, room for growth, great products, compensated well for hard work, positive environment, team feel

    Cons

    Can be a lot to learn at the start but there is great support available

    Natera2019-09-25

    Natera Response

    October 7, 2019HR team

    It is really great to hear that training stands out in your experience. Our training folks work really hard to make the complex look simple!

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the biggest pros is that the work they do is rewarding in itself. My co-workers were great and there was a lot of positive energy around. There is always scope for growth and keeps the focus on the end goal under good leadership.

    Cons

    Since I am a process-driven professional, I’ve had a few disagreements with other work groups about how they work. However, nothing major to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to have more engagement activities for employees and some innovative work practices like remote working (of course for administrative roles) or flexi-hours.

    Natera2019-09-13

    Natera Response

    September 16, 2019HR team

    Thank you for commenting, we are driven by the expanding mission of Natera. As with any role, our work is connected to many others. We encourage reaching out to other team members to build relationships with those we collaborate with in order to drive clarity about roles and build trust.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, compensation plan, autonomy, compelling products, stability of business

    Cons

    Traveling required was impeding a private life. Not enough recognition. Disorganization in every department.

    Natera2019-10-06

    Natera Response

    October 7, 2019HR team

    We understand having to balance work and life. Sometimes the best ideas for recognition come from employees themselves. We encourage you to share what you think is inspiring.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Great Experience and I'm grateful for all I've learned

    Cons

    Great employees left the company which changed many things.

    Natera2019-09-20

    Natera Response

    October 7, 2019HR team

    Indeed, employees leave from time to time. It is our mission to continue to bring in great new talent that will help drive our mission

  7. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot to learn Work-life balance is good

    Cons

    Not a lot of company-wide events Wish there were more company sport

    Natera2019-08-30

    Natera Response

    September 16, 2019HR team

    We host quarterly Town Halls and encourage departments or working teams to form their own activities. Just finding a few people with a similar interest is a great place to start!

  8. "Absolutely love working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Technology. Brilliant cutting edge tech developed by brilliant people, making a profound difference in peoples lives. People. People are brilliant but I have already mentioned this. Enthusiasm and energy are bouncing off the walls. Professional growth and learning opportunities for proactive employees are abound.

    Cons

    It's getting tighter in the office. I'm not sure it's a con, really, as it's a sign of business growth. But it does get tighter and louder - little less personal space, a bummer for naturally introverted people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work.

    Natera2019-08-29

    Natera Response

    September 16, 2019HR team

    So glad you are feeling the energy and the mission! Thanks for being flexible as we evolve to a more open work space, its a balance of preserving an environment that allows for both privacy at times and openness.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Insecure Work Environment,Dishonest. Lied to reps."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Iss in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k match, free lunch three times a week, great benefits, friendly co-workers

    Cons

    no job security!Poor Management!

    Natera2019-10-02

    Natera Response

    October 7, 2019HR team

    Business and resourcing needs are continuously being assessed. We thank you for your time at Natera

  10. "SOOO much happier at NATERA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has high expectations, but they treat you very well so you can give maximum effort. This is a place where thinking is appreciated.

    Cons

    There is a steep learning curve if you are not used to a Google based office.

    Advice to Management

    Really ought to be more proactive in teaching how to use all the available IT functions.

    Natera2019-08-12
Found 253 reviews