Nando's UK & IRE Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nando's UK & IRE Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nando's UK & IRE CEO Rob Papps
Rob Papps
235 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great values/ Free food/ Great atmosphere(in 98 reviews)

  • "You get a free meal every time you work(in 72 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours they had rotirng at times(in 62 reviews)

  • "The late nights can sometimes be 1am(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Back of House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Back of House in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    management was awesome best i’ve ever had, all coworkers were helpful

    Cons

    can be extremely fast paced

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-05-15
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a bit challenging

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-04-20
  3. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE part-time

    Pros

    - Fun, friendly, and youthful atmosphere amongst staff - The tips went towards "Nando's Family" days out, which helped boost morale. These were days given off to everyone in the store to hang out i.e we went bowling, had a BBQ etc. (other Nando's store staff cover the restaurant) - Even if you're under 21, you earn the minimum wage of a 21 year old - You get free chicken

    Cons

    - Other restaurants tip better as you don't take orders at the table, so it's not as personable - I experienced some rota issues with the person in charge of organising it, but nothing that couldn't be sorted out

    Advice to Management

    More chicken.

    Nando's UK & IRE2017-10-17
  4. "Perfect job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing food , after 5 years sabbatical

    Cons

    No cons it is amazing

    Advice to Management

    Work hard, enjoy what you do and you will be successful

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-09
  5. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time

    Pros

    Very good company to work for

    Cons

    No bad words to say about the company

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-01
  6. "Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Griller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, staff and inclusive company.

    Cons

    Uniforms, focus began to switch to profit margins over employee welfare.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-14
  7. "Good job, great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendships, company bonuses(free meal and staff days out), pay £8.21 for everyone and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Stressful when busy, closes late(11pm, don’t get out till 2-3am after close down) Managers don’t follow the same rules as employees (giving people discount without I.D) making us look bad. Closers should get more pay after 11pm.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the same rules you put in place for Nandocas.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-10-30
  8. "Great part time while studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Convenient, Paid Breaks, Break Allowance for food

    Cons

    Can be physically straining, far too busy sometimes (but you know that already)

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-14
  9. "Good for University Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredibly flexible hours. - Free meal - Lots of incentives - Staff parties are frequent - Genuine family feel between staff - More relaxed atmosphere in terms of how the staff interact with one another

    Cons

    - Horrific sense of nepotism (hardest workers are almost never rewarded in favour of those who are 'besties' with the managers) - General sense of unprofessionalism within managers - Overtime is an expectation - Constant focus on profit over service - Often understaffed and shifts can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff members who don't drink or go out often, the same as you would those who do.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-13
  10. "rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Host/Co-ord in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good friends, discount (40% on weekdays 20% on weekends)

    Cons

    bad environment, no cigarette breaks, busy and long shifts, when not as busy, can be clocked out for long shifts (clocked out for 6 hours on 9-hour shift), bad management, favouritism, deep cleaning, can finish at 2 am when you start at 4 pm

    Advice to Management

    change management and get cleaners

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-11-13
Found 602 reviews