Nando's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nando's UK Reviews

Updated 23 April, 2019
471 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nando's UK Managing Director Rob Papps
Rob Papps
202 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Free food with every single shift" (in 72 reviews)

  • "Free meal up to 10 pounds after each shift;" (in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours they had rotirng at times" (in 48 reviews)

  • "The only thing I do struggle with is work/life balance" (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "1 assistant manager in Nando’s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great salary , great people , great training . I have been in management for about 7 years worked for different companies and Nando’s is the only one which so far has lived on their values of family pride courage integrity ! I just joined the company last December ... And I must admit I could not be happier ! I learnt a lot already and more to come . Can’t wait to go to my first trip abroad with other manager from my same area !!!! Some of the stuff that Nando’s does for its own employees are unique and not even imaginable in other hospitality companies

    Cons

    Maybe some late night finishing . But if the rota is built properly is not even a big deal !

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing guys !

    Nando's UK Response

    8 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Many thanks for your review :-) we'll keep doing what we're doing, don't you worry!


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a bit challenging

    Nando's UK Response

    23 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Hey, thanks for your comments. Great to hear you mostly loved your time in Nando's, hope all is well where you are now.

  3. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    - Fun, friendly, and youthful atmosphere amongst staff
    - The tips went towards "Nando's Family" days out, which helped boost morale. These were days given off to everyone in the store to hang out i.e we went bowling, had a BBQ etc. (other Nando's store staff cover the restaurant)
    - Even if you're under 21, you earn the minimum wage of a 21 year old
    - You get free chicken

    Cons

    - Other restaurants tip better as you don't take orders at the table, so it's not as personable
    - I experienced some rota issues with the person in charge of organising it, but nothing that couldn't be sorted out

    Advice to Management

    More chicken.


  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    A lot of job perks.

    Cons

    Nandocas do the close down, and cleaning which results in leaving late from time to time.


  5. "Nandoca at Nando's for a year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Maidstone, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Maidstone, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment. Friendly colleagues and less stressful than other waitressing jobs as customers come to you at the till. Also you get around £10 worth of food for each shift over 4 hours.

    Cons

    Tips are communally shared and in my workplace often went to work socials, but as I was 16 at the time I was excluded from these.

    Nando's UK Response

    23 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Morning, thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in the Nando's family, shame you couldn't come along to the socials though!


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great People always looking at the bigger picture

    Cons

    External Vs Internal Pay scale

    Nando's UK Response

    18 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Morning, thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time in the Nando's family! We'll be more than happy to answer any concerns you have around your less positive comments if you drop an... More


  7. "Hard work minimal reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free food
    Fun environment depending on store
    Family aspect (also depending on restaurant

    Cons

    Long hours
    No work life balance
    Poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Nandoca's are not robots please be mindful when doing the rota, 4 double closes is illegal.

    Nando's UK Response

    23 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Afternoon, thanks for your review. We'd like to look into your less positive comments further - can you please drop an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail?

  8. "Everything & More"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety & Quality Assurance CE in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Safety & Quality Assurance CE in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love working at Nando’s, I moved from Restaurant to Central Support and the support I received was amazing. My line manager is so supportive of my ambitions & the team I work within are amazing - everybody is so honest & work really well together.

    Cons

    Too much of a fun time? ;-)!

    Nando's UK Response

    8 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    No such thing as too much fun! Really appreciate your comments, thanks for sharing.


  9. "Nando’s UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people with lovely offices.

    Cons

    Poor salary, maternity pay and pension. Extremely hierarchical and favouritism throughout the business.

    Nando's UK Response

    23 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Morning, thanks for your review. We'd like to look into your feedback further, if you are happy to drop an email with more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.


  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Great staff and management team. Team really get to know each other. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons

    Nando's UK Response

    4 Apr, 2019 – Nando's UK

    Great to hear you loved your time in the Nando's family, many thanks for your comments :-) hope all is well where you are now.