Nando's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nando's UK Reviews

Updated 14 November, 2018
383 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nando's UK Managing Director Rob Papps
Rob Papps
170 Ratings

383 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "free food everyday, nice atmosphere" (in 64 reviews)

  • "A free meal every shift - sometimes twice if you work long enough" (in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours if working in restaurants" (in 38 reviews)

  • "except late nights when on a close which is expected in this line of work" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    - Fun, friendly, and youthful atmosphere amongst staff
    - The tips went towards "Nando's Family" days out, which helped boost morale. These were days given off to everyone in the store to hang out i.e we went bowling, had a BBQ etc. (other Nando's store staff cover the restaurant)
    - Even if you're under 21, you earn the minimum wage of a 21 year old
    - You get free chicken

    Cons

    - Other restaurants tip better as you don't take orders at the table, so it's not as personable
    - I experienced some rota issues with the person in charge of organising it, but nothing that couldn't be sorted out

    Advice to Management

    More chicken.


  2. "Nando's Manchester Fort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work culture is great, and they are lovely helpful people, their managers are really understanding and helpful and helped me out in a rough situation. They also helped me progress as a person to my next job, the workers are friendly and lovely and there is a great work social balance. I cannot understate how understanding and fair the managers are if you put the work in.

    Cons

    The work is hard, but they don't shy away from that, you work long hours and its a very busy shop of theirs.

    Advice to Management

    None, they did a great job.

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Really great comments, many thanks for your review :-) hope you're enjoying your job wherever you are now.

  3. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Great bonuses, great staff nights out, supportive management

    Cons

    Sometimes holidays are forgotten on rota

    Advice to Management

    Tiny bit more organised with holidays

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments. It would be best to speak to your Patrao about the rota to see if they can make any necessary improvements for you.


  4. "A wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    True family values. If you work for Nando’s, you are entering a work family who will have your back and truly look after you as a family. There’s a cosy feeling of safety in being in that environment

    Cons

    It can be difficult to work your way up the ladder as staff turnover is very low. This can sometimes make it feel a little ‘dead end’.

    Advice to Management

    Never let this culture die, it’s what makes nandos special

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your comments. Great to hear you're enjoying your time with the Nando's family, but we would recommend speaking to your Patrao about progression and your goals to see how... More


  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Good staff members which is nice

    Cons

    Late shifts can be difficult for some people

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments! We would suggest for you to speak to your Patrao about the late finishes to see if they can help support at all with this.


  6. "Hard work but great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Great perks, especially if work at a restaurant inside a shopping centre

    Cons

    Hard work and management can be too tough on floor staff/cashiers

    Nando's UK Response

    15 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your review. We'll be happy to look into your feedback further if you wish to email more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.


  7. "Nandoca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Free food on shift if it’s are going out of date staff will get first dibs to take home

    Cons

    Absolutely busy restaurant
    Some days short staffed

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    People / Culture / Fun / Great food / Opportunities to progress / Great training

    Cons

    I have to travel quite far for work

    Nando's UK Response

    1 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, many thanks for your comments. Hope your commute isn't too stressful, it may be worth speaking to your Patrao about it to see what they can do at all to support you.


  9. "Good place, fun experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Free meals on shift
    Real opportunities outside of the restaurant like the Head Office

    Cons

    Hard work, miscommunication from young management

    Nando's UK Response

    15 Nov, 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments. We'd like to look into your comments further, if you can email HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail.


  10. "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Cork (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Cork (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great friendly atmosphere. great food

    Cons

    can become overwhelming when busy

    Advice to Management

    appreciate employees during busy periods


Showing 383 of 388 reviews
Reset Filters