NYC Teaching Fellows Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

NYC Teaching Fellows Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
NYC Teaching Fellows CEO Anthony Finney
Anthony Finney
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "The other Fellows in my cohort were very bright(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "terrible coaches who constantly complain about not wanting to be a coach(in 14 reviews)

  • "Sometimes it's hard to do full time job SMS to do master simultaneously(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get certified fast and meeting great people

    Cons

    During pst if your coach doesn’t like you. You wouldn’t pass the training. There’s a lot of bias and racism at some sites. This is all about luck and getting into the right site for pst.

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-08-20
  2. "Disorganized high paced mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting awesome people who are driven to become successful teachers

    Cons

    Too fast paced You won’t have time for yourself or anyone else I don’t know how they think it’s realistic to come home and do a whole ton of work when you’re getting home after 8pm and you’ve just been working and at university all day. Communication is horrendous

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-07-28
  3. "There are other opportunities to teaching. Teacher Residency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYC Teaching Fellows for less than a year

    Pros

    I met great kids. I enjoyed teaching them and I met some great summer fellows

    Cons

    it's a 6 week very nasty SBS session. 800 every 2 weeks. it can barely pay your bills. Lots of power plays. As to a Scripted lesson plan, I got that the day before we ended this session. I wish I knew that teacher residencies existed and that there are other ways to become a teacher in NYC. Before you enter a teaching program, substitute teach for at least a year as a lot of the stuff you do as a NYCTF, it does not come naturally. The teacher coaches who observe you , have issues. Don't answer the surveys or if you do. only say positive stuff. they hold stuff against you. Please note. NYCTF should be the last program you chose to be a teacher, Try Teacher residencies first. Please note that nyctf dismisses 15%of thier fellows. You will find out about 1 to 2 weeks after even if you have accepted a new job which you wont be able to take. If you believe you might fall in that 15%. Start applying to the residencies early... like in June, so that you can start in September no matter what., or you will gave to wait until December.

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-08-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I read these reviews before I applied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Teaching Fellow in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows for less than a year

    Pros

    A path into DOE, relationship with others in your cohort, the kids, subsidized masters

    Cons

    Where do I start...”coaches” that aren’t really coaches; just there to collect a check, a challenge trying to balance coursework and teaching, hardly time to reflect on what you learned in skill building

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-08-09
  5. "Worth it, just hardvwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in New York, NY

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Alternative path to teaching

    Cons

    Long hours, no salary during PST

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-06-29
  6. "Difficult Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Masters Degree at Reduced Cost Full-time job with benefits

    Cons

    Low-support for administration It is stressful to teach full-time while trying to get a masters.

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-04-29
  7. "This program is only for you if you are dedicated to serving NYC public schools."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Majority of tuition subsidized *Become an employee of the DOE with full benefits while completing masters. *Pre service training (PST) will prepare you for the expectations of the DOE *The support system of current Fellows and alums *No commitment to stay with the DOE once you complete the program *You are placed for PST training- but you select your school placement in the DOE (apply, interview, and decide if you accept or decline a position) allowing you to find your best fit

    Cons

    *Balancing the demands of full time teaching and completing a masters program *Onsite training (on the job training with a class) for PST is demanding- you have to lose yourself and be whatever the coach wants you to be (ADVICE: Do whatever it takes to pass.Once you complete PST you chose the school that fits you and allows you to develop your teacher self) *The stipend is low during training

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-03-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "all negative reviews are accurate. don't do this to yourself in this amazing job market. no resason for it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fellow in Brooklyn, NY

    I have been working at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    not many, maybe the kids of you're lucky.

    Cons

    so many this could turn into a bible worth of comments

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-04-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Ruined my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NYC Teaching Fellows

    Pros

    Great opportunities if you are incompetent

    Cons

    Dysfunctional opaque makes problems worse in nyc public ed

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-04-11
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NYC Teaching Fellows full-time

    Pros

    Good way to get certified quickly

    Cons

    Very stressful jobs, expect to work long hours.

    Continue reading
    NYC Teaching Fellows2018-12-22
Found 61 reviews