NIKE "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

NIKE Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
NIKE CEO John Donahoe
John Donahoe
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours really hard but it isnt that bad(in 136 reviews)

  • "You have to make a personal commitment to maintain your work/life balance or wind up working completely crazy hours(in 117 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at NIKE full-time

    Pros

    great work environment and free shoes

    Cons

    the labour practices are weak

    NIKE2020-03-03
  2. "Fine for a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FT Athlete 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NIKE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health benefits for FT

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth, Immature work environment

    Continue reading
    NIKE2019-12-10
  3. "Nike Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NIKE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people and managers Nice work environment

    Cons

    Strict while you just started out No Commission

    NIKE2018-03-14
  4. "Comfortable work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NIKE part-time

    Pros

    -Comfortable work environment and flexible hours

    Cons

    -Cant move up within company

    Continue reading
    NIKE2017-08-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate @ NIKE Metrotown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NIKE part-time

    Pros

    You get a really good discount working here. You get a free uniform every few months. If you're going to school and need a part time job with flexible hours they are very accommodating.

    Cons

    If you want a job that doesn't have a whole lot of space to move up in, this is the job for you. Managers and supervisors are extremely clickey and if you're not in their social circle don't expect to be treated as an equal. You are expected to hit sales targets but don't receive a commission from it and will rarely receive any accolades. It can take a long time before you get a review and sometimes you yourself have to demand to have one. There is a lot of power tripping from certain supervisors towards subordinates. On the first day of my job, I walked into Nike and did not receive a hello from the manager there, as he was talking to another supervisor, even though they both saw me come in. There tends to be some passive-aggressiveness as well. If you do something wrong, they may take their time before talking to you about the issue. It can be really hard to defend yourself here too, especially if you know you didn't do anything wrong. Because it's retail don't expect to be treated as a valued employee. To them, you're merely just draining their money. Overall not a very healthy work environment.

    Continue reading
    NIKE2017-05-14
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chemical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NIKE

    Pros

    great work environment place and co-workers are from different background. the meal is perfect and free. It is like all you.

    Cons

    There is no plenty of opportunity to work outside of the oversea. Basically your destiny is located to where you belongs to. And it is unable to get promoted to high-level management position due to the culture different.

    NIKE2017-01-15
  7. "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at NIKE

    Pros

    Flexible hours and a good employee purchase discount

    Cons

    Salary and no organized work environment

    NIKE2016-11-10
  8. "Very friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at NIKE

    Pros

    - The employees are very friendly and outgoing - Fast paced work environment - Enjoyable environment

    Cons

    - Not much opportunity for advancement - Very difficult to get pay raises

    Continue reading
    NIKE2016-04-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible experience and career development but lacking in compensation for the level of work given"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NIKE

    Pros

    good employee perks, casual yet professional work environment. company has a clear view of their goals and business objectives.

    Cons

    career growth of it's employee's is not really a priority for the company, there is no incentive for current employees to stay at the company and continue to work hard

    Continue reading
    NIKE2011-11-09
  10. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Portland, OR

    I have been working at NIKE full-time

    Pros

    Excellent lifestyle and benefits with competitive pay

    Cons

    Demanding work environment, with very heavy periods of work

    NIKE2020-04-01
Found 352 reviews
</>Embed