NEXON Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
53%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
NEXON CEO Owen Mahoney (no image)
Owen Mahoney
7 Ratings
  1. "Good company if you want to develop your skills"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun online games to deal with

    Cons

    Many changes on company structure

    NEXON2019-11-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Make sure you are working on a title that has long term guarantees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Production Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. The company overall sets employees up with the tools needed to get the job, this includes software and hardware.

    Cons

    Upper management don't take the opinions of people below them very well, or very rarely into consideration. No guarantee of long term employment if you are on a game title that is canceled or is no longer published by Nexon.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-08-02
  3. "Fun Job, Bad Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work colleagues and a very fun job if you are into gaming industry

    Cons

    Terrible Management, no career progression

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-07-30
  4. "Localization Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Localization Project Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NOTE: My review is mostly about my localization team experience. - Katy was one of the best bosses that I have ever had. I learned a lot from her. I could always count on her to hear us out and treat us fairly. - Nice coworkers - Thorough training - Collaborative environment - Flexible lunch time

    Cons

    - Frequent overtime for some team members (but it was steadily improving as I was leaving Nexon.) - Work-life balance was a challenge for my position (but that's not the case for everyone) - Slightly lower pay than the industry average in LA area as mentioned by employees from other Nexon teams

    Continue reading
    NEXON2018-10-06
  5. Helpful (12)

    "A lost office"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch once per month. Occasionally, HR allows people to go home before 5pm (e.g., before Christmas holiday) Rare opportunity to learn how NOT to publish games in the West

    Cons

    Micro-management is the preferred style Retrograde treatment of employees Bed bug infestations several times per year Korean language skills necessary to stay informed History of very weak products

    Continue reading
    NEXON2018-04-06
  6. "Investment Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Manager in Pangyo, Kyonggi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1st in Korea maybe in Asia fast decision making process

    Cons

    can define details yet. too short to review the cons

    Continue reading
    NEXON2018-03-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Product Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hours , work life balance, teamwork

    Cons

    there was nothing negative about Nexon

    Continue reading
    NEXON2018-01-29
  8. "Associate Manager Operations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager Operations in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people that I worked with on a daily basis were fantastic, both eager to learn and help when needed.

    Cons

    Constantly shifting focus and management.

    NEXON2017-10-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Too Bureaucratic"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are good and talented people

    Cons

    Too much internal politics No room for growth

    Continue reading
    NEXON2017-04-09
  10. Helpful (19)

    "A place to go to if you have no dreams and are looking for an easy job."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people across all departments. Flexible hours. Good location.

    Cons

    Company is too cheap to pay to clean floors, refill soap in the bathrooms. Extreme racism towards non-Koreans. No actual experience developing or publishing western games. Most of the leadership, operations team do not speak fluent english, which is embarrassing and frustrating when trying to work with western studios.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2017-02-21
Found 18 reviews