NEXON America Associate Production Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 156 reviews

2.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
NEXON America General Manager Kenny Chang (no image)
Kenny Chang
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Make sure you are working on a title that has long term guarantees

    Aug 2, 2019 - Associate Production Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with. The company overall sets employees up with the tools needed to get the job, this includes software and hardware.

    Cons

    Upper management don't take the opinions of people below them very well, or very rarely into consideration. No guarantee of long term employment if you are on a game title that is canceled or is no longer published by Nexon.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    it was the best of times, it was the worst of times

    Dec 1, 2015 - Associate Production Manager in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people you work with are some of the best people i worked with, and many who i can truly call my friends. The hardest decision for me in leaving was knowing that i would have to leave working with some of these people

    Cons

    I was very confused with the direction my career was going, as i did not get a lot of direction from the upper management, and whenever i felt like i got my bearings, there would be a company restructure.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Too Bureaucratic

    Jan 14, 2017 - Production Coordinator in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Got my foot in the door working in online games production. Some of the employees are pretty cool, but a lot of "lifers". The company was trying to go through a "Western Renaissance" while I was there, focusing on developing western games and exporting back to asia. Doesn't seem to have worked out, last I heard the parent company (HQ in JP) is reappointing more Korean leadership. They've been down that road before... With the products they're pushing and the developers they have falling apart, I don't see a lot of growth potential for the company. This was strictly the PC division in El Segundo, btw. Can't speak to the Emeryville mobile location.

    Cons

    On a personal level,they rarely seem to promote from within. The structure felt too hierarchical and political for a normal worker to rise. Once you realize that those HR performance review things are a load of BS, you'll start looking elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to learn things, if you make it into the inner circle, you're golden

    Feb 14, 2018 - Live Game Production in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some of the best co-workers one could ask for - You learned a lot from colleagues that were willing to teach - Free food on last Fridays of the month

    Cons

    - Serious cases of Nepotism - If you weren't in the inner circle, you weren't moving up - Quality workers got laid off, robot managers that don't understand video games got promoted

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Overall a "good" experience at Nexon America.

    Aug 19, 2014 - Production Coordinator in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and a casual atmosphere. Great gym in the building next door. Quite a few team outings that are fun and to cool places.

    Cons

    I found it difficult to climb the ladder at Nexon. It seemed as if you were at least making it seem like you were busy, staying late as much as possible (even though there may not be anything pressing to handle), etc., that was seen as productive and a way to look good in the eyes of upper management. I saw micro managers move right up and it seemed to be due to their overall apparent stress level, willingness to constantly work late (needed or not) that made them appear to be steering things in the right direction. Then there were other employees who quietly got things done in a much more efficient manner and didn't need to work late five days a week that got pushed aside.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A place to grow

    Aug 1, 2013 - Production Coordinator in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity for growth. Good people, a good plan, but too many hurdles to reach your goals.

    Cons

    Interference from less important departments. Lack of faith in good employees from upper management.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    LA offices are in trouble

    Sep 18, 2012 - Production Team Staff in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Close to the beach *Because so many people quit and are laid off, plenty of opportunity to learn *A basketball court at the office *Fun activities

    Cons

    *Games are failing, with office planning to close at the end of the year, friends at Seoul setting up teams to take over for staffs in LA *Very inexperienced top leadership *Inexperienced leadership selected because company plans to close the LA offices, except for small opps team *Staffs not treated well, those of us sponsored by Nexon are treated like servant and have to work extra hour *Best talent has abandoned the company for better jobs

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    :)

    Jul 27, 2012 - Assistant Producer/Production Coordinator in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work with great people. Managers/Team Leads are always willing to share their knowledge. Friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Bit of a drive if not in the area. TRAFFIC

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with NEXON America Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at NEXON America? Share Your Experiences

NEXON America logo
or