Mr X Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mr X Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Mr X Founder/Global Managing Director Dennis Berardi (no image)
Dennis Berardi
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You are required to work long hours and meet their high expectations(in 14 reviews)

  • "Extremely difficult to have a work life balance due to the ridiculous workloads(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Less corporate and great team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    Experienced team, not keen on OT, part of Technicolor

    Cons

    Can be long hours, not so pretty office, benefits are basic

    Mr X2019-01-31
  2. "Experience Not Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    You get to work on different projects.

    Cons

    This place is okay for people who want to gain experience and industry exposure but don't need to earn huge bucks. The pay here is miserable and even lower than the money needed to cover the rent and other essential expenses of two people.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2020-02-06
  3. "The job is irregular"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    You see a lot of interesting and talented people. You get connections when you're lucky enough.

    Cons

    Most people that work here are only here per project. The job is irregular, you only get called for when they needed you only until the duration of each project.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2020-01-27
  4. "Take care of your people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time

    Pros

    Some cool projects every now and then. Most of the artist are trying to get better and push themselves.

    Cons

    Very top heavy hierarchy with no genuine leadership. You are required to work long hours and meet their high expectations. But to expect so much and pray so little is discouraging. Extremely difficult to have a work life balance due to the ridiculous workloads.

    Mr X2020-01-04
  5. "Too much pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mr X full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Despite everything, you still get a regular paycheck.

    Cons

    Working here could take a toll on one's health because of heavy workload and too much pressure. The management doesn't appreciate employee's efforts and thinks that we are only doing minimal work if we get to go home on time. They always want us to render overtime to prove that we're being productive and working hard. The pressure put on our shoulder is just too much to bear.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-12-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Decrease the constant feeling of pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most employees are smart, extremely hard-working and very capable.

    Cons

    Top management makes this place unbearable. CEO is a bully, verbally abusive in meetings, and constantly belittling people around him. Senior management is highly incompetent and analyzing technical work, work life is stressful with almost no rewards and teams are often understaffed. Really intense work environment and atmosphere.

    Mr X2019-12-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Prioritize work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work, if you are a work-a-holic, and want to keep yourself busy all the time, this is the place.

    Cons

    The very definition of a poorly run business. Communication between the management team and junior team is poor. Overworked and overstressed, they require you to render at least 50 hours a week. Working without work-life balance is stressful and exhausting. I have to quit eventually because the workload is affecting my personal life.

    Mr X2019-11-28
  8. "Great opportunity for growth and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CG Supervisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of senior artists to learn from. Lots of project and shot variety to get experience with. Lots of opportunities to step up, prove yourself, and begin taking lead/supe roles. I learned most of what I know while working at MRX and it really was a fantastic springboard for my career, experience, and knowledge.

    Cons

    A few of the leads/supes/managers have a dogmatic approach to things, or are just not at the skill level they should be in their position. Sometimes the production management staff is too focused on making sure every hour of your day is filled, without really taking into account how much time gets wasted by having many artists handing off shots to each other instead of just a couple people seeing it all the way through.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-10-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Only The Salary Day is Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay you a salary every month.

    Cons

    The management is quite bad and makes employees feel miserable. If you work long hours and stay post your shifts without getting paid for it, they take you for granted and offer no appreciation. People cry because of politics and backstabbing going on.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Low Compensation for the Efforts They Want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Production Manager in Toronto, ON
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mr X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked the location of this company.

    Cons

    The company wants the employees to put in unlimited hours and meet high standards but can't pay them decently. My requests for revising the compensation has been ignored. I hate it and can't work for long this way.

    Continue reading
    Mr X2019-10-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 72 reviews
</>Embed