Moxie’s Grill & Bar Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Moxie’s Grill & Bar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 184 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Moxie’s Grill & Bar CEO Tom Gaglardi
Tom Gaglardi
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours depending on the day/time of day for shift(in 9 reviews)

  • "High staff turnover, stressful work environment - management always wanting to reduce overhead by cutting people too early(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Moxie’s Grill & Bar full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment Amazing guests Great shifts

    Cons

    Must have hair down

    Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-03-02
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at Moxie’s Grill & Bar part-time

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity to grow

      Cons

      Unreliable shift work and hours

      Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-05-17
    • "Great Serving Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Server in Mississauga, ON

        I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Supportive team Great people Room to grow!

        Cons

        Cut times Side duties Uniform Overall great experience

        Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-05-08
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Moxie’s Grill & Bar part-time

        Pros

        Great management Fun work environment Freedom to fix problems and allow guests to have a great experience

        Cons

        Almost too much freedom that staff tend to take advantage

        Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-04-22
      • "Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar full-time

          Pros

          Organized company, room for advancement

          Cons

          Low wage for the hours and work required

          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-04-28
        • "Couldn't handle even one year there"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Calgary, AB
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Some really great people - Fun corporate events like Stampede day and Christmas party

          Cons

          - Was barely trained but disciplined for "not doing things correctly" when I was never shown another way - Lack of communication regarding who I report to - this led to major projects being assigned to me from nearly every department - Far too much work on too lean a staff - over worked and underpaid is the general feeling there - Changes are a great thing, but this company is changing too many things at one time with...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          - Clearer expectations of duties - More communication regarding organizational structure

          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-04-23
        • "Trash"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Food Server in Pickering, ON
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Literally maybe one manager and one coworker who's amazing and actually cares about how you train and answers your questions.

          Cons

          Extremely Competitive Drama central Majority White Workers with Mainly White Managers Unorganized long hours no breaks or rarely any overpriced food even at employee discount rate

          Advice to Management

          Stop over hiring people, train the staff you currently have properly, organize your documents, encourage your team to actuabbly be a team versus giving new employees warnings about cliques within the restaurant. From the first day of working there, almost every single employee including the supervisor training me talked poorly about management and the brand itself. The staff over works and mistreats new emplyess and are...

          Show More
          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-05-10
        • "Great place!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Supervisor in Toronto, ON

          I have been working at Moxie’s Grill & Bar part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Very organized, tons to learn. Cares for their staff.

          Cons

          Feels more like a dictatorship than corporate business.

          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-03-29
        • "Kitchen"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          Some friendly peole as co workers

          Cons

          Secrets. Talking behind your back. Not honest Managment.

          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-03-16
        • "I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar Full Time (Less than a year)"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Line Cook in Ottawa, ON
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Moxie’s Grill & Bar full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Very nice General Managers 40% Staff Discount Tips was ehh

          Cons

          Treated like a pig in the kitchen Have to pay for uniform - $120 for full kitchen outfit Hours wasn't much

          Advice to Management

          Hire more staff on the line than FOH

          Moxie’s Grill & Bar2019-03-15
        Found 184 reviews