Mountain Equipment Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mountain Equipment Co-op Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Mountain Equipment Co-op Chief Executive Officer Phil Arrata
Phil Arrata
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pro-deals you get from other companies are great (you'll get the same if you work at any outdoor retail store)(in 20 reviews)

  • "good work-life balance and nice co-workers(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Good luck getting a 'status' position aka Part-Time or the unicorn Full-time(in 18 reviews)

  • "It would be nice if MEC offered rewarding incentives to long time employees, 10(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Planner 

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work with good benefits and opportunities

    Cons

    None so far for me

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-15
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, easy going management & work environment

    Cons

    Not much career/growth opportunities, low pay

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-12-03
  3. "Toxic and greedy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts and the promise of outdoor fun

    Cons

    The Walmart of outdoor stores. They fired me when I was talking about having a degree in kinesiology and joked it wasn't super applicable to my current role as a cashier. They said it was demeaning/condescending to other co workers and fired me on the spot.

    Advice to Management

    Get outdoors and laugh a little. It will do you some good

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-12-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Prepare your behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pro deals. After you've saved enough between rent and bills on their meager salary, you can enjoy pro deals from other brands

    Cons

    Don't care about your hours preference, will put you on phone duty till you go deaf and if you speak french, prepare to hate the entire province of QC. Not the brightest bulbs nor the most polite people.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and stick to your promises. Respond to emails asking for your advice and understand that most people are working for you until there's something better. BECOME that something better!

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Retail Environment To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    MEC employs great staff and great Managers. I worked with Chris Krutzmann, when he was the Burlington store manager, for 3 years. Chris was very empathetic, supportive, the type of manager that made you want to do your best. He was and still is greatly missed from the Burlington location. If I ever have the opportunity to work with Chris I would jump at it.

    Cons

    It would be nice if MEC offered rewarding incentives to long time employees, 10 + years of service. i.e. Monday to Friday hours.

    Advice to Management

    MEC Head Office to be more supportive to Managers out side of the Head Office location.

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-10-26
  6. "Toronto Store a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and team have really worked well together to make this a great place to work especially after the move from the old location on King St. Very proud of our store!

    Cons

    Store layout is less then "User Friendly"

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing this store and the team rocks in Toronto

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-10-26
  7. "Positive experience working at MEC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing office, great talent and company making good changes.

    Cons

    no snacks, policy to work from home not flexible

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-10-04
  8. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bilangual Advisor 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, nice people, good environment

    Cons

    Working over the weekend

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-09-23
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Line Staff in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good times Outside With MEC

    Cons

    No complaints about the company

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-09-10
  10. "As good as it gets in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Staff in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding workplace, keeps you on four feet, and makes you think. Lots of great colleagues.

    Cons

    Poor understanding of the general direction of the company. Very little opportunity for advancement.

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-09-05
Found 174 reviews