Mountain Equipment Co-op Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Mountain Equipment Co-op Chief Executive Officer Phil Arrata
Phil Arrata
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pro-deals you get from other companies are great (you'll get the same if you work at any outdoor retail store)(in 21 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is very good for a retail business(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be difficult to move from casual to part time or full time, which means limited health benefits(in 19 reviews)

  • "i cant really think of anything bad to say about MEC(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "water sports advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits!!!!!!! (Staff Sales, Pro-deals, Raffles, and mountain bike/climbing symposiums)

    Cons

    i cant really think of anything bad to say about MEC

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-05-17
  2. "Review from an optimist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Solid place to work, if you are able to determine what you need from the organization + keep that scope in mind.

    Cons

    Past few years have been turbulent, due to the overlapping factors of organizational change, retail landscape and online shopping.

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-05-25
  3. "Trying hard to rebuild"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Sales Audit & Accounts Receivable Coordinator in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Ample holiday time, solid benefits, a lot of amazing colleagues, terrific new CFO & Controller, secure indoor bike storage for commuters, showers & lockers

    Cons

    Communication silos, loss of knowledgeable staff who've left of their own accord, and through layoffs and terminations, difficulty taking that ample holiday time due to lack of staff

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-05-14
  4. "Friendly work environment"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Front Line Staff in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Learning about gears and technology.

    Cons

    Not too many opportunities to be promoted it

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-04-23
  5. "stuck in the mud"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Incredible work life balance. Amazing crew of passionate people

    Cons

    verrrrrrry slow to change processes. Not willing to embrace big ideas & take risks

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-04-03

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    April 9, 2020Director of HR Operations

    We are very proud of our amazing and passionate employees, and thank you for your time working at MEC. We launched our 'Listen, Act, Share' portal for employees to share ideas, feedback and big ideas with management.

  6. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits and employee support - Flexible hours

    Cons

    - May have changed since I left in 2017

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-20

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    April 9, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and for your time working at MEC. We appreciate your support!

  7. "Great place to work with your friends!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and culture, their commitment to the environment makes it an organization you can be proud to be a part of.

    Cons

    It’s retail. Some disconnect between head office and store locations

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-05

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 7, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience working at MEC! We're working very hard to eliminate any disconnect between head office and store locations.

  8. "Overall Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Great industry deals - working with people who share a passion for the outdoors

    Cons

    - You won't have a lot of control over which hours you work

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-01

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at MEC. We're working on a number of initiatives around store scheduling to provide consistency.

  9. "Great employer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Transparency and care for the environment

    Cons

    I don't have any to share

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-30

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you're enjoying your experience at MEC. #PeopleFirst!

  10. "Great work environment with fair wage increases"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Staff in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time based wage increases Very positive work culture Plenty of opportunity to learn Staff rental and trips available Benefits for status employees Work life balance is very good for a retail business

    Cons

    Lack of status for those that truly do work full time Not much opportunity to advance into leadership roles

    Continue reading
    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-30

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and advice, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at MEC!

Found 187 reviews