Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto CEO Joseph Mapa
Joseph Mapa
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of full-time employment opportunities(in 4 reviews)

  • "Surprisingly low salary and no benefits(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "rewarding and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Ward Clerk in Toronto, ON

      I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      fast paced, diverse, lots of work opportunities

      Cons

      difficult to grow within the company

      Advice to Management

      mentor your employees so they flourish instead of keeping them stagnant

      Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-07-09
    • "Great teaching hospital."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

      I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Teaching, experience and great people to work with.

      Cons

      Pay, structure and management. No benefits on contract positions

      Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2019-01-09
    • "Totally disconnected management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Assistant in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Close to the subway, lots of food choices around the area

      Cons

      Management does not provide training, first day of the job, they literally just emailed all the instructions to me and expect me to know everything right away. Very disorganized. There are days when management is oblivious how busy the Department is. Very high turnover rate, management hired about 10 temps in this year and last year. The original full time permanent people quit because of the burnout. Again, I...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be more sensitive about your employees. Do not talk to them only when there is a problem. Total disconnect with the staff. Not a good place to work because you will feel isolated and alone.

      Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-12-21
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      It's a collegial, fast paced environment where everyone is working to help patients as best they can. I enjoy working there for many years.

      Cons

      I don't think the cons are any different than any other teaching hospital in Toronto. If you are the right type of person you will find this work fulfilling.

      Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-11-19
    • "Data Scientist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time

        Pros

        Flexible, but busy schedule every week of the year

        Cons

        Long hours every week of the year

        Advice to Management

        Great teams and encouraging people

        Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-10-15
      • "Registration Clerk"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time

        Pros

        Great co-workers. Great place to start a job.

        Cons

        Fast-paced environment and work loads.

        Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-10-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

        I worked at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good reputation, great location, ok benefits, HOOP

        Cons

        No support from HR if you are having issues with your manager, Some department are more collaborative than others, Hit or miss if you work for a physician, Disorganized structure in DOM, No dedicated staffroom/cafeteria for staff, lack of transparency in some areas, depending on the department, no culture exists so you feel isolated and alone.

        Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-10-01
      • "Mt Sinai Hospital Toronto"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time

          Pros

          Good location in Toronto city centre.

          Cons

          Surprisingly low salary and no benefits.

          Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-08-27
        • Helpful (2)

          "underpay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto full-time

          Pros

          beneficial clinician, patient, technologist facing

          Cons

          research community greatly underpay (recent improvement, but not really helpful)

          Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-04-27
        • "Registered Nurse"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          -flexible scheduling -opportunities for career advancement and continued education

          Cons

          -over crowding, not enough bed space for patients in womens and infants programs

          Mount Sinai Hospital - Toronto2018-04-15
        Found 72 reviews