Mott MacDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mott MacDonald Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mott MacDonald CEO Mike Haigh
Mike Haigh
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Transport Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top-heavy management structure - always a lot of people to learn from

    Cons

    Top-heavy management structure - limits growth opportunities

    Mott MacDonald2019-11-19
  2. "Amazing people, fun projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Newly renovated office, great collaboration opportunities all over the world, awesome team.

    Cons

    Could be more laid back.

    Advice to Management

    Value your people and continue to allow for advancement and encouraging growth from within, as well as adding on people to support the stream of new work.

    Mott MacDonald2019-06-11
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of work always busy

    Cons

    Little down time during the work day

    Mott MacDonald2019-03-11
  4. "Pipeline Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    none really. There are a number of good people that work in the Calgary office but beyond that ... no pro's. If seen other reviews that state similar to mine.

    Cons

    Lots. Poor working atmosphere Poor training Its tough times that the management are using to work people hard. There is a saying that is hung over people,"There are 10 people i can get to do your job if you don't want it" The management is a bunch of guys in the US that are nothing less than entitled and lord over everyone. I'm looking for a new opportunity.

    Mott MacDonald2018-01-25
  5. "Great chilled company with impressive projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Civil Engineer in Altrincham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was travelling at the time of my interview, so Motts organised for me to do a Skype interview instead, which was a strengths based interview rather than experience/knowledge based, and so they go to know what I'm like as a person rather than my full knowledge. The office is friendly, everyone is available to talk to when you're stuck or just fancy geeking out on a subject. There's a lot of sports, social and CPD... events going on throughout the year too to get stuck in to. The company helps a lot with the ICE chartership process and we have an ECP committee who organise events to count towards CPD and training.

    Show More

    Cons

    You start with 22 holiday days plus bank holidays, however you can buy up to 15 additional days for each year (and you can roll them to the next).

    Mott MacDonald2019-12-05
  6. "Safety Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSE Manager in Dubai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best Pride mission vision value

    Cons

    Lack of Client focus

    Advice to Management

    Must reach to ground staff

    Mott MacDonald2019-12-01
  7. "An excellent, inclusive and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Archaeologist/Heritage Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent people, managers and team Rewarding work and exciting projects and clients SMART working, flexibility and good work-life balance fun office and lots of social events hard work is recognised and appreciated allowed to manage your own workload and time good graduate scheme lots of opportunities for career progression and to learn new things diverse and inclusive workplace

    Cons

    sometimes there a pinch points with lots to get done, but this is in the nature of the work as the company is large it can be slow to adapt to change technical support which is online is not always great, but in office-technical support makes up for this.

    Mott MacDonald2019-11-25
  8. "Friendly and collaborative ethos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Project Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule Supportive management Friendly colleagues Good career progression Good training schemes

    Cons

    Salaries slightly lower than competitors Organisation can be a bit siloed between divisions

    Mott MacDonald2019-11-25
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Understanding, good hours, good pay.

    Cons

    Unclear line management, unclear job level

    Mott MacDonald2019-11-24
  10. "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Good projects, Work balance, supportive manager.

    Cons

    Opportunity is hard to come by.

    Mott MacDonald2019-11-24
Found 681 reviews