Morrison Hershfield Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Morrison Hershfield Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Morrison Hershfield CEO Anthony Karakatsanis
Anthony Karakatsanis
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company is pretty top-heavy when it comes to management distribution(in 4 reviews)

  • "it can be quite noisy at times in open concept office space(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Rewarding Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on diverse and interesting projects. Culture is great, everyone is very collegial and there are opportunities to develop your career. The company has been growing over the past 4 years so there are plenty of opportunities for advancement. MH is an employee owned firm so it feels very tight knit but you have the support of a large firm. There are also opportunities to invest in the company and become...

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication between project teams can sometimes be improved

    Advice to Management

    Remain employee owned. Expand pay-for-performance to lower bands

    Morrison Hershfield2018-10-31

    Morrison Hershfield Response

    November 5, 2018Manager, Recruitment

    Thank you for the review!

  2. "Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a very good work environment

    Cons

    There is no disadvantage I can think of

    Morrison Hershfield2019-06-13
  3. "Good company covering all the aspects of the engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical EIT in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location. Convenient access with car or transportation

    Cons

    Too early to have any comments

    Advice to Management

    More structure will allow new people to integrate easier

    Morrison Hershfield2019-06-06
  4. "Lax dress code and flexible hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lax dress code and flexible hours. Many people work remotely. Good variety in projects. Employee owned. Fairly shallow hierarchy with a lot of great people. Nice offices.

    Cons

    Low starting compensation. No bonuses without shareholder status. Some departmental butting of heads. Some departments put their internal finances above the project well being, making co-operation sometimes difficult. Not a ton of meet and greet type events. Can be difficult to meet other people within the company.

    Morrison Hershfield2019-05-27
  5. "Great place to gain experience with high profile projects. No so good for work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High profile clients and projects. Nice coworkers, some are very knowledgeable and helpful. Decent pay, vacations and benefits, flex hours

    Cons

    Any business strives to keep their costs down but MH takes this to extreme. Some departments are severely understaffed resulting in you having to put crazy overtime hours which you obviously won't get paid for. It is not uncommon that engineers have to compete for a CAD drafter desperately trying to catch up with the deadlines. No wonder quality suffers... Company won't pay for any professional training / development....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    think ahead strategically and not just how to survive the day

    Morrison Hershfield2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee of 1+ years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time

    Pros

    For the most part it is a very friendly environment and I enjoy most of my coworkers and others in the office. I don't dread coming into work everyday. Flexible hours are great. I personally enjoy and respect my team leader and how he manages the department.

    Cons

    There are very few but there are some. Extremely rude and short fused coworkers that nothing seems to get done about, probably because they are senior. Interdepartmental collaboration and communication can be lacking severely in some cases. Still to this day I don't know which group is responsible for what in certain situations because there seems to be a hope that the "other guys" will take care of it.

    Morrison Hershfield2019-05-03

    Morrison Hershfield Response

    May 27, 2019Manager, Recruitment

    Thanks for sharing! We are glad that you have enjoyed your time with MH. With regard to your difficult coworker, have you brought this forward to HR or your team lead? We welcome these conversations as we want to ensure that you feel comfortable in your work environment.

  7. "Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Office is a bit far for some people

      Morrison Hershfield2019-04-25

      Morrison Hershfield Response

      May 27, 2019Manager, Recruitment

      Thanks for your feedback!

    • Helpful (2)

      "not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineer in Markham, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      good pay, variety of projects, able to relocate between offices, generous severance package

      Cons

      there were no celebrations, no announcements of new workers or who left, no chance to say good bye, big gap in communication between management and teams, sometimes even hindering work delivery

      Morrison Hershfield2019-04-22
    • "Principal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Interesting projects and colleagues, donuts on Friday.

      Cons

      Location is traffic congested with poor access to transit, the office space is a sea of desks with no partitions for privacy or noise.

      Morrison Hershfield2019-04-23
    • "Structural Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Structural Designer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Morrison Hershfield full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Some of the structural engineers are very professional.

      Cons

      Morrison Hershfield is the worst place I have ever been with. The management of the structures group is bad enough to make the most intelligent people to leave. Even the manager are being asked to solve the problem, they just ignore as if they didn't know it. Harrassment happens a lot in this group. I would say don't go to work with this group, especially the young people, or you are going to have mental issue.

      Advice to Management

      None.

      Morrison Hershfield2019-05-08

      Morrison Hershfield Response

      May 27, 2019Manager, Recruitment

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We take all complaints very seriously at MH especially when it comes to anything such as what you have described. Please reach out to our HR group as soon as possible as we would love to work with you to address your concerns.

    Found 82 reviews