Morrison Child and Family Services Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Morrison Child and Family Services Reviews

Updated May 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Morrison Child and Family Services CEO Drew Henrie-McWilliams
Drew Henrie-McWilliams
6 Ratings
  1. "Good work experience, terrible pay, high stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the laid back environment with supportive coworkers along with generous schedule flexibility. The work with the families was rewarding and it was good work experience. The CEO is outstanding!

    Cons

    There is little to no room for career advancement. There are erratic budget and program cuts- I never felt my job was secure. Positions were cut to save money at the expense of overworking remaining staff. Some locations are in unsafe neighborhoods. The pay is insulting- seriously, most starting pay here is what HUD would classify as low income or very close to it, but the positions require bachelors or masters degrees and the raises are nonexistent. The turn over is incredibly high because people simply cannot afford to stay. The health insurance is alright but be warned, though they're a family service agency they don't offer any maternity leave which is beyond hypocritical to their mission. Constant stress at work over my job being cut and constant stress at home over low income level pay made this a very unpleasant place to work.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2019-05-15
  2. "Fair Working place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Worker in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offered a lot of hours, thus could rack up a good amount of overtime. Nice people to work around, enjoyable culture.

    Cons

    At times they’d hire people that really didn’t help the team at all.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2019-04-30
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and positive environment. They really work to build their leadership and listen to make improvements

    Cons

    A lot of turn over, but its a large organization

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2019-04-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Organization to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Care Worker/Milieu Supervisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Morrison for nearly 6 years and held a range of positions and I must say all my time there was extremely enjoyable. I thought all my supervisors listened and really sought to create a quality work environment. I also felt as though upper management really cared about the mission, which was helping youth within the ORR programs. Fellow coworkers were also a pleasure to work with. Lastly, the benefits, such as; vacation, sick leave, medical, and dental are competitive within the non-profit sector.

    Cons

    Though my overall experience with co-workers/teammates was a positive one, I must say that as a Youth Care Worker, co-workers can be difficult. It is the recurring issue of a large team, where a small percentage of that team ends up doing most of the work. Then, it is those who don't work as hard did the most complaining. Ultimately, those employees tend to leave. Again, this is seen most often, almost solely, at the Youth Care Worker level, where a small but vocal contingent of unhappy employees who aren't motivated to work hard can really have a draining effect. If a person can stick that out, do their work, and ensure all policies and procedures are being followed, then you will be fine.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2019-03-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great experience working with youth from diverse backgrounds but quality leadership is severely lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time

    Pros

    I worked at downtown shelter and left in good standing but fed up. The thing I enjoyed most was working and learning with the youth. Many demonstrate resilience, patience, grit, compassion and strength. They're teenagers so some were cruel to eachother, petty, and demanding sometimes but most we're great kids. They have a lot of rules they need to follow so it can be rough. You'll get your creative abilities callenged constantly. (Ex. come up with and lead an engaging dinamica or activity to a group of 20 youth who speak one of 3 different languages and a few of them can't read). This job attracts a lot of really great compassionate people unfortunately not many stick around for long because of the lack of support and training from higher ups, frequent turn over puts a constant strain on entry level staff. There is a considerable budget for clothes events and outings which makes it nice to provide kids with fun things to do and nice clothes to wear.

    Cons

    Cons: It's an entry level job that can provide good experience but... Expect to be under trained, under valued, under paid and under mined. Milue admin frequently jumps to conclusions and asks loaded questions to start disciplinary  conversations. They constantly ask too much without giving workers the tools to make it happen. I frequently saw staff getting reprimanded in front of other  staff and youth for things that they weren't properly trained to do (this happens to even the hardest working and  eager to please staff, it was embarrassing and sad to see). Rebecca, the ADP, a good person but has a lot to learn about being a good leader, she micromanages constantly and is very passive aggressive. She gets things done but one often comes away from a conversation with her feeling talked down to and demoralized.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2018-07-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Improvements have been made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Milieu Supervisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff reflects the diverse client base at the ORR programs and works hard to provide the kids staff who can speak their language or understand their culture. Teens are sweet and overall a joy to work with.

    Cons

    Management can really make or break the work environment.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2018-06-21
  7. "Parent. Mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parent Mentor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible chance for advancement good management

    Cons

    Poor pay original director left

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2018-04-04
  8. "Youth Care Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and team work. Opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Not many. Overall is a good place to work

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2017-12-14
  9. "Youth Care Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good foot in the door for social work

    Cons

    Unfair promotion practices (very bias and not professional)

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2017-10-12
  10. "Morrison's Parent Mentor Program is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Morrison Child and Family Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Parent Mentor Program is a great place to work. They cultivate a nurturing work environment where staff can develop their professional skills. Supervisors provide regular one-on-one time with staff in order to support them in the difficult work of mentoring Child Welfare involved parents. Staff are encouraged to prioritize their recovery, self care, health and family needs in order to do their best work. Morrison leadership is working on implementing the Sanctuary Model agency-wide in order to provide a trauma-informed culture for staff and clients.

    Cons

    Morrison has over 20 separate programs, so work environments and supervision practices may vary at different worksites.

    Continue reading
    Morrison Child and Family Services2017-08-19
Found 31 reviews