Morgan McKinley "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Morgan McKinley Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team(in 17 reviews)

  • "Still a lot more room to implement even more flexible working arrangements to improve work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - transparent commission schemes - some small events

    Cons

    - unclear career progression - micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team - fear strategies as a motivator tool

    Morgan McKinley2020-02-03
  2. "High turnover, suspicious behaviour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of events and knowledge that is not shared equally

    Cons

    In my short time there I witnessed some very strange behaviour both inappropriate and illegal (even overheard someone mentioning they spike drinks). There is high turnover which the reviews would make you think not.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-01-24

    Morgan McKinley Response

    January 31, 2020People Director

    Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read about your experience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk or by phone +44 (0)7917 838059.

    Continue reading
  3. "Overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with excellent colleagues and flexible hours. There is a diverse work load depending on your role and opportunity to change roles internally.

    Cons

    There can be a high turnover within the company and management is sometimes slow to act.

    Morgan McKinley2019-06-11
  4. "Can’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for graduates, positive environment on some teams. Good exposure to clients, very little business development which gives the opportunity to achieve success quickly. Upbeat social environment and great parties

    Cons

    Abnormally high turnover from senior management down to the bottom. Growth plans are high yet the core of their business gets lost in the process. Company politics are the biggest problem, promotions are handed out loosely and reactively, often when consultants are not capable and cannot handle the pressure put on them by directors. Consultants and senior management disappear on leave and don’t return with unclear explanations creating a serious lack of transparency and fear of instability. A lot of faith put into new management which has resulted in almost whole teams being wiped out within a year.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-05-16

    Morgan McKinley Response

    May 17, 2019Global Head of HR

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m disappointed to learn that your experience has fallen short of the standards we expect. We take your feedback seriously and I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly and confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.com.

    Continue reading
  5. "Take the good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekday only, helped to give me the experience for administration

    Cons

    Monthly pay, bad management, awful working environment, area manager didn't care. I worked in one of their sites near cork city, high turnover of staff due to bad management

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-04-02

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 9, 2019Global Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not positive. It is unclear from your feedback if you worked in Morgan McKinley or on site with a client. If you could contact me in confidence to provide additional detail I would be grateful. Thank you, hgallagher@morganmckinley.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Good location in the city

    Cons

    Everything. Company has no idea how to execute any growth plans. Since Jan this year has had at least 2 people leaving on a weekly basis. Never seen such high turnover. Horrible culture. Managers have no idea. A good HR team would have a field day if they saw and heard some of the problems on the floor. Avoid at all costs. This company will have you wanting to kill yourself every night.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-04-11

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 23, 2019Global Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read about your experience and would urge you to contact me as soon as possible and in confidence at hgallagher@morganmckinley.com or by phone +353 1 4321555.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (10)

    "MMK HK review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Admiralty
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good reputation in the market Nice colleague - corporate and professional - high quality in the market Strong PSL Good staff benefits Great place to grow by yourself

    Cons

    Stressful workplace Serious politics issue raised by the top management Top management is led by the MD to play small-group game - very high turnover rate Downsizing due to management issue

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-01-10
  8. "Great Experience but need to look at Retention Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are the reason I stayed for the few months that I did. Its the culture that keeps people interested. Everyone was so helpful and its a great brand to have on your cv

    Cons

    The wrong people are being put in leadership roles. There is a real culture of micromanagement. Managers feel pressurized and are afraid of performance issues or high turnover so they control their team. Any issues raised are brushed under the carpet and this is why people leave.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2018-03-16

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 3, 2018Global Head of HR

    Many thanks for your review. I'm keen to understand your feedback in more detail. please contact me confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.ie

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Position of the office in Central London, decent salary

    Cons

    High turnover. The working hours can be very long. There is discrimination towards not English native speakers and racism. The Managers pretend they are nice to you, but then talk at your back.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2016-11-26

    Morgan McKinley Response

    November 30, 2016People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed and concerned to read some of your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk

    Continue reading
  10. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley

    Pros

    Good Training, Realistic KPIs, Good team culture

    Cons

    high staff turnover, people leave and go quick

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2016-05-19

    Morgan McKinley Response

    May 25, 2016Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear about your positive experience working at Morgan McKinley ... long may it continue! Please note that our management team are always available if you have any concerns or issues within the business.

    Continue reading
Found 17 reviews