Morgan McKinley Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Morgan McKinley Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team(in 17 reviews)

  • "Still a lot more room to implement even more flexible working arrangements to improve work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s one of the best recruitment firms I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like here because there are a lot of good PSL to various clients and since clients know us, it’s not like I’m doing a cold BD. I’ve made a lot of good friends here as well which is why I really enjoyed my time in office Clear goals and managements that are open to speak about anything from work to life and that’s something I feel I’ll never be able to get in any other recruitment firms Good commission schemes Good platinum lunches and incentives

    Cons

    Sometimes people can be quite individualistic but I’ve seen a lot of changes the management have been doing so things looks better than the past Nothing much..really like the firm

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-04-03
  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In a nutshell it's a decent firm with deep roots over in Europe. Management from headquarter are genuine individuals that have spent a lot of time developing the business.

    Cons

    Much of the core values and culture of the business are long gone with the incoming of the new management in Admiralty. Essentially a group of random fee earners sitting together in a shared office whilst the MD firing a handful every single week. Short terms business model with a lack of solid long term strategy. A good storm will eliminate culture like these and keep doing what you are doing so the books will be in the red forever.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-04-02
  3. "A great company who genuinely care about their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent career development opportunities and a great place to work with like minded individuals who are committed to go the extra mile for candidates and clients. Great benefits and an awesome culture too!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Morgan McKinley2020-03-19

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 2, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback and star rating. We're really pleased you think positively of our career development opportunities, benefits package and culture. We wish you all the best for a long and successful career at Morgan McKinley.

    Continue reading
  4. "Honest Review, I really enjoyed my time at MMK and sad it didn't work out. Would recommend them for sure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close knit teams, which is good as there really is a good culture feel. Everyone in there was helpful, made suggestions and helps out, candidate sharing not hoarding, engaging and friendly - nights out organised, team games etc. They do have high expectations (and rightly so), passionate - really hard working for the benefit of the client which is so under rated - not a bunch of cow-boys, lovely office and working environment, great training - really intuitive and engaging - management and consultants run them so you know its from people actually doing your job training you, flexibility and ability to work from home was under rated - especially in current times. Experienced leaders and consultants who know the market really well, have some close relationships with clients meaning good access to roles (in my case this was true). Revised commission structure is good. As always focuses on performance = rewards which is good, but allows you to earn from day one.

    Cons

    Tend to focus only on the positives ("positive news only please"), which can be difficult in hard times - a bit of realism to staff would go along way if people are really struggling with market conditions I think it would help to hear empathy in relation to that. Although I understand that positive news is important for team morale. When someone is struggling although management say the right things I didn't feel they worked properly to help fix them (this could be a clash of personality styles or something else), maybe it was that it didn't sink in until it was too late. Pretty cut throat, feel like you are only good as your last deal. Feel like peoples past achievements are forgotten about or overlooked if things change/take a downturn. Not sure where things can go long term for career progression due to lots of managers, unsure of their structure long term even with the revised pathway to success? Apparently some people aren't happy with the revised plans, could result in them earning less money. Think there is a relatively high turnover in a couple areas of the business, but mainly its stable.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-04-01

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 2, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts. We take on board your feedback and are grateful for this insight, in order to help us improve. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Morgan McKinley and wish you every success in your future.

    Continue reading
  5. "Pretty okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great platform, strong brand name, fun and collaborative people

    Cons

    There are always some black sheep in the organisation

    Morgan McKinley2020-03-11
  6. "Fantastic place to work with great senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, inclusive, agile and flexible

    Cons

    Nothing major that is worth noting

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-01-31

    Morgan McKinley Response

    February 3, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback and star rating. We are delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time with Morgan McKinely and continue to wish you all the best for a successful, fun and rewarding career with the business.

    Continue reading
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work at

    Cons

    Nothing to report as of yet

    Morgan McKinley2020-01-29

    Morgan McKinley Response

    February 4, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you have positively rated your experience with us and long may it continue. We wish you every success at Morgan McKinley.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Support in Singapore
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Inclusive culture - Appreciate all the benefits/ incentives like flexible work timings, work from home, birthday leave, loyalty leave etc. - Proper Reward & Recognition

    Cons

    -My first time in the recruitment business so I was not aware of the attrition rates, but having been here for almost 3 years now I've come to realize that this is quite normal and MMK probably has a lower turnover rate compared to others in the industry! -Career Progression - While there are processes in place for the core business/ teams to grow as per their performance, the support group is now getting its appraisal/ career progression processes in place - Better late than never!

    Morgan McKinley2020-02-06

    Morgan McKinley Response

    February 26, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to detail what you think of working life at Morgan McKinley and we appreciate your honesty. We wish you every success in your future with us.

    Continue reading
  9. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - transparent commission schemes - some small events

    Cons

    - unclear career progression - micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team - fear strategies as a motivator tool

    Morgan McKinley2020-02-03
  10. "Excellent company with two passionate and authentic MD's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Morgan McKinley for a long time because of the people who work in the business from the MD's through to junior members of the team, and the clear vision and purpose we share. We all have a passion for what we do and really want to help our candidates and clients. We have some strong relationships across the market from small growth businesses right through to some of the largest companies in Australia. This creates a genuine pipeline of work for our whole business. In addition, I really value the benefits provided to me, the key ones for me include: Flexibility - I live a long way from the city so being able to complete some of my working day on the train has made a huge difference to both me and my family. In addition I've been able to give several of my team the flexibility they need to fit with their lives including part-time hours, starting late or leaving early, to be there for their families. Benefits: extra leave with tenure, annual incentive trip overseas, team lunches, 4hr Fridays, quarterly office offsite etc Environment: Spacious open plan offices with break out areas, touch screen laptop, and phone mean I can work anywhere Structured training and development which has helped me to progress my career, including attending a leadership course in Asia to work with my counterparts across the region

    Cons

    Systems could be more intuitive to improve user experience

    Morgan McKinley2020-01-06

    Morgan McKinley Response

    January 7, 2020Marketing Assistant

    Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback and star rating. It's great to hear how positively you rate the culture, management and collaborative atmosphere, and are extremely pleased to hear that this has been consistent over the 10+ years you have spent with us. We looking forward to celebrating your next 10 years+ with Morgan McKinley and wish you every success!

    Continue reading
Found 331 reviews