Monster Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Monster Worldwide Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Monster Worldwide CEO Scott Gutz (no image)
Scott Gutz
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The politics in the upper management and company's leadership(in 41 reviews)

  • "Hard Work or quality work will not be acknowledged by senior management(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Motivated, busy, appreciated, fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparency and frequent contact with management keep us in the loop and involved; great collaboration across countries is energizing; varied, meaningful work and recognition from our peers keep us motivated, we feel appreciated; flex hours, strong work and home balance make it easy to work hard and play hard. Fun work environment, collaborative and supportive.

    Cons

    More widespread access to on-going technical training.

    Monster Worldwide2018-07-20
  2. "Monster Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance was good.

    Cons

    The compensation was too low

    Monster Worldwide2019-10-09
  3. "Continuous Steps in right direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, having fun with colleagues as the business does more to be #oneteam

    Cons

    Head office still a challenge, direction, clarity, support - why I am happy we do our own thing. Have a solid plan

    Advice to Management

    Keep going! We are with you Monster CANADA. I am with you

    Monster Worldwide2019-03-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home. High salary for the internet adveritising industry.

    Cons

    Can't compete with Indeed, LinkedIn, or Zip Recruiter.

    Advice to Management

    Innovate or die.

    Monster Worldwide2018-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Once a great company now in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues were great Nice office downtown

    Cons

    Top management has no clue of what they are doing. For an internet company, they do surprisingly little online advertising. Front line employees kept telling management about Monster's weaknesses as provided by clients. Monster kept changing compensation plans leading to ever decreasing commissions with ever increasing targets. Management blamed front line sales teams for lower revenue without looking into why... their services and products were not desirable by clients, despite feedback being provided by clients. Company has done several lay-offs in the past 3 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get someone who understands an internet brand, and knows how to lead them through the real problems.

    Monster Worldwide2018-11-06
  6. "Premium Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premium Service Representative in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, a ton of flexibility and independence, tuition reimbursement program and ability to work from home!

    Cons

    No career advancement and instability within the company.

    Monster Worldwide2017-04-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide for less than a year

    Pros

    No micro management, weekly calls with the sales manager out of the u.s.

    Cons

    Company cut down so much. There was free breakfast once a week and they cut it down to once a month. They had a nice office and then downsized. Monster does not have the tools to compete with indeed and it is clearly showing.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more incentatives for your employees!

    Monster Worldwide2016-08-30
  8. "Great Employer - great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance is great... you are treated as family even though they are a really large global company.

    Cons

    Need more innovations to make sure we are ahead of the competition! We are the pioneers and we need to take back.

    Monster Worldwide2016-05-09
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Extinction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. Sadly that's it. Oh they are great at "selling" would be staff to join them based on the vision of "the new Monster". Following through on the new monster is a different story.

    Cons

    - leadership: as with the other reviews, management seems to be content with offering "me too" product & service offerings. While they are fiscally responsible, I think if Monster is serious about trying to survive they need fresh, entrepreneurial blood and not ex-bankers - middle management: clueless about employment laws! Overheard in a meeting with a staff (this was within earshot of the team!) well, if you... are sick of cancer or anything serious, then just resign because it will be so complicated to get HR involved. Plus I don't know the process. IF you get better then just apply again if there's an opening." Forget labor laws but how about pure unadulterated compassion? - account executives: I don't know how to sell "solutions" and I don't know how to sell other "things" if it's not media related (job posting), no matter what the company says is the flavour of the month, if I keep selling my job postings then I'm safe.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a visionary to take the helm.

    Monster Worldwide2014-09-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Sad, slow end..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Monster Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, and lots of flexibility

    Cons

    Disconnected management who refuses to change with the demands of their customers or their employees.

    Advice to Management

    It's not 2001 anymore...time to change. Technology has already changed...marketing your "new" tools for 4 years does not make them new anymore. Additionally, the increasingly political environment kills innovation from your employees.

    Monster Worldwide2014-08-07
Found 1004 reviews