Mitacs Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 132 reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Mitacs Chief Executive Officer John Hepburn
John Hepburn
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Mandate that makes for a great purpose(in 6 reviews)

  • "People at mitacs are truly authentic and caring(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Impossible to maintain an adequate work-life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • "need company to continue research(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,890

    960 Comments

    Teachers

    160.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Mitacs~616545
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Job Review

      May 5, 2022 - Business Development Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment with wonderful colleagues

      Cons

      Need to have top-notch multitasking skills but this is a great place to develop that

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great mission, bad execution

      May 20, 2022 - Business Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employees who hustle to do their best for the company. Remote work.

      Cons

      Management is not responsive enough to organizational needs and structural issues. Low pay for the work. Work-life balance non-existent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great entry level job for new grads !

      May 4, 2022 - Business Development Representative in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, good pay for a non profit

      Cons

      No downsides! Great work environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to be!

      May 10, 2022 - Research Officer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to grow within the agency

      Cons

      Mostly remote work, hard to find the perfect balance with the social life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Probably not what you think it is

      Apr 22, 2022 - Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independence Ability to build network Ability to practice business development Ability to work across different subjects with innovative and talented people The product is good and gives opportunities to students while supporting business innovation

      Cons

      Upper management is unsophisticated and only motivation for employees is fear Lack of care for leading and managing employees Very numbers focused with very little additional compensation if you hit big numbers Not merit based

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Agricultur, Animal Science

      Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, friendly, Gained a wide range of experience. Great networking opportunities.

      Cons

      Pay is Low, Hard to Achieve

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Supportive environment, great organization

      Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Motivated people working on important projects.

      Cons

      Lack of clarity around goals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Recommend this Role

      Mar 7, 2022 - Globalink Mentor in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      quick response and flexible hours

      Cons

      work alone, not much of a community

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mitacs Response

      We are sorry to hear that your experience at Mitacs was one where you felt alone without a community. Our mission has always been to create community through various in person events, online gatherings, and support employees with our Wellness Program. Through the pandemic we committed to Town Halls and focused more attention on creating community through our internal Mitacs Hub. Again, we are sorry your experience with Mitacs did not offer you community. I hope you’ve found yours and are feeling less alone.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place

      Mar 10, 2022 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are great and lots of opportunities to move around

      Cons

      Compensation not competitive as the industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mitacs Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive feedback is always important for us, and we will use this to learn, improve and grow. Compensation is an important factor when considering a role at an organization and we understand this. We look at and compare our salary to general industry which includes public, private, and not-for-profit sector organizations as well as universities across Canada. We also believe there are factors other than salary that attract candidates to apply to our jobs. With all of this taken into consideration we believe we have a comprehensive and competitive total rewards.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great mandate, great colleagues

      Jan 24, 2022 - Business Development in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work among like-minded individuals. Incredible mandate.

      Cons

      Amateur executive leadership, in light of increased financial responsibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mitacs Response

      Thank you for your feedback. Mitacs takes great steps to ensure our leadership team members are competent and capable each bringing specific expertise and experience with them to support our strategic initiatives. We employ best practices and transparency in financial reporting, management and risk mitigation. We also ensure we comply with all financial regulations and ensure sustainability of our operations through prudent financial and capital planning.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Mitacs Reviews FAQs

    Mitacs has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 132 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Mitacs to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 11% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Mitacs employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Mitacs. This rating has improved by 13% over the last 12 months.

    85% of Mitacs employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Mitacs 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Mitacs Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Mitacs? Share Your Experiences

    or