Minerals Technologies Reviews

Updated Apr 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Minerals Technologies Chief Executive Officer ​Douglas T. Dietrich (no image)
​Douglas T. Dietrich
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people that are mostly looking for work elsewhere(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great people working in production, etc(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance is very poor with little support from management(in 5 reviews)

  • "Mostly new ideas are targeted at cutting cost; the sales has globally not grown for many years with the exception of Amcol acquisition(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "marketing"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time

    Pros

    large company and good location good people

    Cons

    may be not at least i can not think about this staff

    Minerals Technologies2016-04-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Upper management greedy, lack of integrity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many hardworking and capable employees

    Cons

    Micromanaged, overpaid executives laying off employees, no respect to people, set unrealistic performance target.

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2020-04-17
  3. "Micromanaged, lack of integrity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Manufacturing Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people working in production, etc

    Cons

    Upper Management lacks integrity, does not treat people with respect.

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2020-03-19
  4. "Micromanaged"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people that are mostly looking for work elsewhere

    Cons

    Unreasonable expectations. The epitome of corporate greed.

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2019-03-16
  5. "Slow down and makes a difference"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities if you can get through the layers. Employees are hard working and dedicated to doing their jobs and willing to help others get through the chaos.

    Cons

    Executive management needs training on people management. All about the bottom line. Politics and bureaucracy are a barrier. Nothing is ever good enough.

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2018-12-28
  6. "COTA"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Minerals Technologies

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, loved the population of clients

    Cons

    Later afternoon hours, after school appts due to population

    Minerals Technologies2018-09-16
  7. "Rigid hierarchy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers and colleagues around the world

    Cons

    Executive Management and their bonus structure which totally drives their actions

    Minerals Technologies2018-07-06
  8. "ok company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of empty offices for people to use

    Cons

    focus on working hard and short term

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2018-02-12

    Minerals Technologies Response

    February 25, 2019Director of Marketing

    This review is not for MTI (Medical Technology Industries). We have requested that Glassdoor remove this review as it does not accurately portray our company. MTI (Medical Technology Industries) is located in Salt Lake City and manufactures the world's best powered medical chairs and mobile medical cabinets. We have no offices in Chicago.

  9. "inventory management and operation, planning."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Management and Operation, Planning in Dakshina Kannada
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    safety enviorment and system of the compay good

    Cons

    Statewise boss behaviors and pramotion problem

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2018-01-05
  10. "Not a career company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Operator in Dillon, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minerals Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience provided. Decent wages and benefits.

    Cons

    Culture of "never enough" as far as employee performance. Filthy environment. Tendency to build people up so they can tear them down.

    Continue reading
    Minerals Technologies2017-08-01
Found 42 reviews