MindGeek Employee Reviews about "poor management"

Updated Apr 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 365 reviews

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
MindGeek CEO Feras Antoon (no image)
Feras Antoon
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, free breakfast, flex hours(in 64 reviews)

  • "Very professional work environment with strong leadership(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of care from upper management(in 15 reviews)

  • "Poor management and low salaries(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "poor management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to start

      Apr 28, 2019 - Web Developer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, great people, good accommodations.

      Cons

      Poor management, my manager never says hi when we cross paths in hallway, just to start with that imagine.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Marketing

      Apr 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed atmosphere, parties, and free breakfast

      Cons

      Poor management and low salaries

      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Web Designer

      Dec 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talented employees. Cool office. Good perks

      Cons

      Poor Management. Nepotism. a little bit of a bro culture

      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Tons of Fluff, lots of Hot Wind. Silo mentality and limited room with little room to innovate

      Oct 23, 2017 - Software Quality Assurance in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MindGeek will be remembered for it's laid back atmosphere and at times, friendly coworker and office environment. Free breakfast, lunches, company outings and parties etc. - 35 hour work weed - Interesting benefits - Company Culture

      Cons

      No sense of responsibility or process. Arbitrary, and often changing expectations with poor management creates a lot of stepping on work, rather than building proper practices and processes. Planning and management suffer here, with key project members leaving or changing roles. Causing many delays and halts in certain areas. Do not come here if you wish to be innovative and use cutting edge tech, it will not happen. If you're more agile and prefer collaborating with friendly team members, their is blatant siloing and hoarding of project info with little to no incentive to work on from the outside in. It's often leave be and focus on small key areas rather than larger scope. Features often get lost in translation because of overall poor communication between teams. Good point is there are some new hires with talent who are representing some products quite well within the company, so if you decide to seek employment be sure to invest time into potential new team dynamic and work environment. - Lower than avg salary (35 hours however) - Poor management & process - Clear Nepotism - No cutting, bleeding edge tech - Working with limited resources - Blatant silo mentality - Poor communication between teams

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      MindGeek Response

      Employee Success Advisor

      Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We value and consider all feedback as we understand that this is the best way to improve and build a better work environment for all our team members. We are really sorry to hear that your experience here did not meet your expectations. We are committed to creating a friendly, transparent and collaborative work environment, and communication is one of our highest priorities. There are many ideas that we have for improving internal communication, and we will continue to push forward on those. Thank you again for your review, and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not worth the effort

      May 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Breakfast, Foosball tables, state-of-the-art facilities, benefits after 3 months

      Cons

      Nepotism, promotions based on seniority and not based on merit, high school bullying mentality, poor management, no one to turn to in cases of harassment or problems with your manager, HR is unapproachable and doesn't offer employees the ability to come to them with issues. Basically think of it like high school, the bullies are in charge and the nerds do all the work. There's no pension plans or RRSPs, super low salary, all the big bosses are driving ferraris and mazzaratis and the rest can barely make rent. Don't get side-tracked by the perks, the company is run by greedy idiots.

      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      I worked at MindGeek fulltime.

      Jan 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Breakfast, working with data was fun

      Cons

      Poor management, unprofessional and disrespectful staff, poor sense of organization, too many people with big egos and constant turnover (instability).

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good first job but leave after a year

      Jul 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Breakfast everyday, cool people, birthday month, bbq, christmas party

      Cons

      Poor management, VERY poor salaries, unqualified people getting hired

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Legal

      Jan 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, amazing people, many perks.

      Cons

      Poor management, unprofessional and disrespectful staff, poor sense of organization, too many people with big egos and constant turnover (instability).

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      MindGeek Response

      VP - People, Talent, Culture

      Hi there, Thanks for your insightful feedback. I must admit, our recent hyper growth and fast paced environment have been very conducive to our teams focusing most of their energy on results and delivery. What often happens amidst this organizational context is the development of people managers does not necessarily take center stage. We are very much aware that nurturing the professional development of our managers is a key element of our continued success. To that end, we are very excited to tackle a challenging slate of initiatives for 2018, including a plan that will focus on developing and enhancing all of our leaders’ ability to tap into their team and employees’ talent to reach even bigger heights! While we appreciate your comments, MindGeek doesn’t have a “clean up” approach to employee performance; we develop and groom our folks internally and ensure only the best suited employees are in place to grow and succeed along with the organization. Thanks again for your review, cc

    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with MindGeek Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MindGeek? Share Your Experiences

    MindGeek logo
    or