Minacs Employee Reviews about "minacs"

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 of over 835 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Minacs CEO Anil Bhalla (no image)
Anil Bhalla
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "I worked for Minacs (PSI Data Systems) for 2 years and it was a great place to work(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good company for Tech support profile(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I always considered "The inmates are running the asylum" a cliche until I worked for Minacs(in 39 reviews)

  • "Beside low pay the schedule is not good(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "minacs"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great in-between job

      Mar 30, 2016 - Tier I Advisor in Hamilton, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work in the Hamilton downtown location and I feel that Minacs is overall a great place to work. The management and Team leaders seem to care and try their best to accommodate employee schedules, situations etc. The benefits are OK at 80% prescription drugs after 6 months and dental after a year. This is pretty average among workplaces that are not unionized at least. The facilities are clean and offer everything you need for your breaks and lunch. There's a nice lounge with a TV and comfortable seating for when you're off the phones and a lunchroom with vending machines, microwaves and fridges. The location is convenient and easily accessible as it's right downtown at King and Bay. As an in-between or first job it fits the bill.

      Cons

      The pay is mediocre at best at $12.30 for the tier 1 Advisor position. They do have an incentive bonus that for me has been about $300 per quarter. I believe you can earn up to $400 per quarter if you're a superstar. There are promotion opportunities if you'd like to make this your permanent career and if you're OK making only $35,000 then this could be great for you. At the end of the day this is a call center and I'd say half the people that try this job will leave within the first three months. If you can't handle talking to upset, annoyed, unintelligent and ignorant people then you'll have a hard time here as at least 20-25% of the customers fall into one of those categories. If you're patient, smart, have good technical and problem solving skills then you'll do just fine at this job, however you're skills should net you a higher paying job somewhere else so keep that in mind. The system logs every second of your time. There are no washroom breaks. If you have to use the washroom you have to sign out of the system and you don't get paid for that 7 minutes or however long it takes you. You're given one paid 15 minute break. The 30 minute lunch and other 15 minute break are unpaid. I guess this is pretty standard fare but would be nice if both 15 minute breaks were paid. If you have all the right qualities as mentioned above then you'll be really good at this job. You'll also feel very underpaid and you'll constantly be looking elsewhere to get paid what you're worth.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Experience makes me thankful for every day I'm not working there

      Jan 8, 2019 - CSA in Oshawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees were friendly enough but the high turnover meant friends come and go very quickly

      Cons

      Literally every other aspect of the job. Since leaving the company I have had tough days at work but I always look back on my days with Minacs and think "At least I'm not still there"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical Call Centre

      Mar 8, 2017 - Technical Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees, especially team leaders are wonderful and supportive. Sometimes they have free lunch. Lots of opportunities for extended hours, depending on campaign. If a client's contract runs out, it is easy to transfer to a new one. Fun acivities. Okay benefits.

      Cons

      Slightly above minimum wage. High stress job. Lack of proper training and resources. Forced extended hours. Very little coaching time. High turnover. Will hire anybody, may hire sketchy employees that sexually harass. Understaffed. Little incentive to stay. Depending on campaign, hours may be inconvenient, like evenings and weekends. Computers break down all of the time. High pressure for short calls and spend as little time as possible in between calls. Supervisors are rude and treat you like you're stupid when you don't have access to the same resources. Possible injuries from repetitive work. No paid sick days or vacation. Most of these issues may not be the fault of Minacs but the clients.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Advisor

      Jan 11, 2017 - Subscriber Advisor in Oshawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of hours if you want them, training was good although most people quit after ever getting on the floor which is a waste of minacs money, instead of making their employees happy and comfortable it's a revolving door and money dumped into training. Gas and mall card incentives are good but reflect the fact that people need to be rewarded to work extra hours because the job sucks so much and sucks your entire life and all your energy. The actual Job was not difficult and sometimes you would talk to nice clients and people on the phone

      Cons

      Mess with computers so employees don't get overtime, will fire you if you complain about managers to hr, did not pay severance or overtime. Shorted me almost 2000$ wish I had of made a formal complaint. Vicious managers who did sketchy things on files of employees they were not managing. There was a husband and wife working, shortly after I was moved to the husbands team I began noticing his wife who had no business to be in my file looking at it and writing things we had no interaction I am a young attractive female. I immediately took the issue to hr and found myself being walked out just short of two years as an employee. The reason was a late which was actually a system interruption a problem on the end of Minacs. The mangers were bullies once I got sent home ( so I would loose my overtime hours and be ineligible for a raise ) because my skirt that was past my knees was too flouncy I made a skirt out a friends mechanics coat and walked back in. They take advantage of the underprivileged. The scheduled times are so basically you never see your family and you are always tired.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Routinely Breaks Human Rights and Employment Laws

      Dec 19, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Niagara Falls, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job is pleasant enough and the people are really nice, however no way does that compensate for the savage corporations whose share holders are scamming the profits which should be going to pay a living wage to the workers who have an outrageously demanding job

      Cons

      You cant ever make bonuses because the metrics are diametrically opposed so you can never win. The constant changes by Apple ensure that no manager or supervisor is up to speed, so they will all tell you different things. They will try to cheat you out of public holiday so demand the day off if you don't want to work. Please note that you can revoke the 44 hr working agreement in writing. You will be assessed on the basis of dissatisfied customers but if you didn't even speak to the customer you will still get a dissat, on things which you have no control. Customer waiting times will get you a dissat because Apple or Minacs cannot keep staff and they may wait hours just to get to you. Your life expectancy at Minacs is 6-8 months. Don't whatever you do take a promotion, They pay peanuts to take all the crap from angry customers. And Apple pay well over 30.00 ph.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      bilingual agent

      Oct 28, 2016 - Customer Service Agent in Moncton, NB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You develop a healthy immune system from tolerating the deplorable working conditions-( if you look long enough at the carpets, they actually move, and The chairs are designed to accommodate masochists who like being impaled with metal armchairs,. and the air is almost visible for the pollution...Lots of fun

      Cons

      Environment:Broken chairs, collapsed fridges, microwaves, broken old fridges-filthy environment- and it has been like this for at least 2 years- people have filed complaints- no return from management with plans to improve. Management: conditioned to answer by rote- no independent thought, no ideas, no inclusiveness with staff. Poorly run ship, hence a churn rate in the double digits in a single digit time-frame. Fire the scheduler- there is rampant favouritism, and everyone knows it, and nothing is ever done about it. Training: Unbelievably broken- in so many ways- THIS is the piece that really matters- because the trainers are the ambassadors of any good company- Minacs is the poster child of how not to do things- right from the work- style to content to systems ( if they aren't crashed yet again). Team leaders look like the walking dead, are not equipped with skills to lead anyone, and some of them are just plain odd, and contribute zero value-add.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Marketing Solutions

      Oct 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job functions are good and the ability to work from home is nice. It takes away the commute and allows for more time to be spent working. If there was a little more on the growth side, it would be great.

      Cons

      In the upper management, there is too much favouritism towards certain people and not enough leaders. The VP level leaders do not lead their people, they take over and then under promote or negatively speak of their own employees to their respective leaders, taking away any chance of movement or advancement. Now with the acquisition of Minacs by Concentrix, I hope that these people are treated as they treated others. Not badly, just equally as they did to others.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      High Stress

      Aug 20, 2016 - Technical Support Representative in Peterborough, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a fantastic trainer, he was very helpful and made the boring corporate presentations interesting and fun. We had 4 weeks of in class training, followed by 2 weeks of 'nesting' (being on the call floor with support and supervision). The people at Minacs were great, the customers and upper management were AWFUL! I lasted 2 days into my nesting, and after a illegal shift change (7am to 3pm one day off 2pm to 10:30pm) I had a mental breakdown after receiving a 'warning call' for being in my call for too long. The call was 37 minutes, and I resolved the customers very extensive issue. After that I had a target in my back. If my call time was anything more than 15:51 (the average of my que) I would be taken off the floor and yelled at by management. The company balance is completely off, the Minacs side was great, the Apple side was very cooperate and you were just a number. They didn't care about you or if your customer was happy and well taken care of, they cared about your stats and has unrealistic goals of what they wanted. I also found that the training was very sugar coded and it was said multiple times that you would RARELY recieve an angry customer. This was the BIGGEST LIE! All of the customers were so rude, they would swear and belittle you and you couldn't say or do anything about it. I have tough skin, and I can handle a lot of situations, but being screamed at for 8 hours a day on top of the immense pressure of the expectations caused myself and many other people in my class to get physically ill. I applaud the people who work here long term and advance, it definitely takes a certain type of person to work there.

      Cons

      Unrealistic expectations, high stress, no perks or benefits.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Tech support

      Aug 22, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is nothing good at Minacs

      Cons

      Low salary benefits are available only after 6 months...complete crap

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stressful and undervalued employees apply here

      Jul 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Oshawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot honestly think of anything positive to say about Minacs other than my Co workers are the only pros with this company.

      Cons

      Management is reactive rather than proactive. No pay increases and employer expectations are ridiculous. You are a number not a person. Upper Management needs a total overhaul.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews

    Work at Minacs? Share Your Experiences

    Minacs logo
    or