Milton Hershey School Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Milton Hershey School Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Milton Hershey School President Peter Gurt (no image)
Peter Gurt
13 Ratings
  1. "Golden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Greatest Residential School in the World!

    Cons

    More need to know about this amazing place!

    Milton Hershey School2020-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "You're better off where you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Houseparent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pros of the job (lifestyle) have fizzled away.

    Cons

    1. Extremely long, arduous work schedule. 2. You basically have to give up being involved in the lives of your own kids. 3. Dealing with non-stop disrespect and bullying, from both students and administration. 4. Quality of benefits dropped significantly with the recent contract. 5. Forced to join a union that the school walks all over. 6. Virtually ZERO opportunity for advancement. 7. Excessive and redundant meetings and "training". 8. Incompetent administration. 9. A clear focus on the quantity of students served vs the quality of care for the students. 10. A turnover of over 25% of houseparents in the past year, wonder why?

    Continue reading
    Milton Hershey School2020-02-18
  3. "Great pay, mediocre environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Houseparent in Hershey, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, purpose, great students

    Cons

    Animosity between union and administration, always feel like somebody is out to get you

    Milton Hershey School2019-12-25
  4. "For the kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Spartan Warrior in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resume Builder, many different work experiences , great first job , Boss takes out for fun trips

    Cons

    Your working for the school you stay at.

    Milton Hershey School2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Horrific environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - House Parent in Garden City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with kids!

    Cons

    305 hours of work around the clock a month with a 12- 3 schedule! Management Horrific and pay is terrible for all the work you have to do! Management talk to you like trash! Our mistake was buying into the atmosphere and thinking it wouldn't happen to us! It's a scary place and easy to lose your credibility. The kids are Lways right. Be careful at this school we made it out safe will you?

    Continue reading
    Milton Hershey School2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Never judge a book by its cover."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transitional Living Specialist in Hershey, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Allowed me to have positive interactions with the students within the program. - allowed me to formulate meaningful relationships with some fellow co-workers. - free cost of living which allowed me to pay off debt.

    Cons

    - Toxic work environment due to poor program structure. - The work schedule is outrageous. (12 days on, 3 off) No social life. - A highly political environment with lots of cliques amongst employees. - No flexibility with requested time off. (personal days, bereavement, sick days) - The administration does not respect the time of its employees. - Weekly meetings and training sessions that are taken out of your already minimal time off. - Not allowed to have children while in this role. - Cut off from the outside world. (MHS Bubble) - You are required to live with your direct supervisor which causes many issues. (Be careful who you talk to) - No pets allow. - Complicated procedure for having visitors. - No form of meaningful advancement.

    Continue reading
    Milton Hershey School2019-07-31
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an excellent place to work. The staff really care about the kids.

    Cons

    Some of the stories some of the students share are heartbreaking. Also since the school is residential, you are encouraged to spend after hours with the students at times.

    Milton Hershey School2019-02-11
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Housparent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hershey, PA

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Helping kids ..free food ... long Christmas break long summer break

    Cons

    Long hours ... not many weekends off . Management hard to work with. It’s a lifestyle not a job . To many good house parents fired for dumb stuff .

    Milton Hershey School2018-12-19
  9. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milton Hershey School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits and working with the kids is very fulfilling.

    Cons

    Additional staff needed, which is currently in process

    Continue reading
    Milton Hershey School2018-11-30

    Milton Hershey School Response

    December 3, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your kind review. We agree, working with the kids is very fulfilling!

    Continue reading
  10. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Milton Hershey School part-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and vacation days (due to school schedule)

    Cons

    Work/Life life balance could be better

    Continue reading
    Milton Hershey School2018-11-23

    Milton Hershey School Response

    December 3, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello - thank you for taking the time to write this review. I see you have moved one, but if you'd like to dive deeper into your advice to management, please reach out. Justin, TA, recruitment@mhs-pa.org

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews