Microsoft "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Microsoft Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work. Smart people.

    Cons

    Sometimes too big of a company

    Microsoft2018-03-13
  2. "Overworking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Smart people Free drinks Company is headed in a good direction

    Cons

    Manager overworked people every night and weekend

    Microsoft2019-12-28
  3. "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Prestige, benefits, perks, travel, smart people

    Cons

    Travel, life on the road,

    Microsoft2019-12-14
  4. "Your success depends more on your team rather than your performance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - interesting projects with complex challenges (if you have the luck to end up in a cool team, if not you see it as a cons) - smart people around you (you don't feel like the smartest man in the room :))) - a lot of resources available for you to learn. - senior people are willing to help you or are sharing at least from their knowledge of experience what's the best you can do in a particular situation. - I ended up in a really new team and the product is written from scratch so I know almost the whole codebase and I know who to ping in case I have questions. Also we're using the latest tech stack so I am up-to-date :) -

    Show More

    Cons

    - you don't have to choose your team. When you come to interview you will be picked by one interviewer, so if you wanted a team that it's not in the interview rounds, bad luck - your manager can be your "best friend" or your "worst enemy". The bad part is you don't have to chose. - promotions vary from team to team. You should switch teams if it's not a fair process. - you thought you don't need to brush your algorithms? guess what, if you want to switch teams you will most likely re-interview (and all the times you want to switch your team, basically you start the process again, but you have your connects) - pay is less than competition (Google and Facebook and many others still pay you more...) - there's no free food. God I wish I had that! Besides saving money, an important factor for me would be saving TIME! I'd rather do something else when I arrive home than cooking dinner. - in some teams you have work-life balance, but for me I feel that there's always something to do or I feel the pressure to ship as fast as I can.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please raise salaries and give free food to employees! Also consider a team-matching process before ending up in a team. If I am not a lucky person I would hate my day-to-day job only because I didn't chose my team before. There's Google matching process, where you can talk with teams before accepting your offer. And there's also Facebook and Bloomberg with their bootcamp / training and after that a "job fair" where teams present what they are working on and you have the possibility to choose your top. Also make the promotion process more transparent.

    Show More
    Microsoft2019-07-04
  5. "Bing Ads Account Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, nice office, smart people

    Cons

    Under-paid contract work, limited support on Canadian teams compared to US resources

    Microsoft2019-03-23
  6. "Great Experience & Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Super smart people driven to get results Strong collaborative environment Opportunity to move up and laterally within the company to experience different roles Strong partner ecosystem Awesome place to develop experience and to get training - first class Excellent salary and benefits

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic - not agile Focus on results comes at expense of lack of focus on customer Work-life balance is a sacrifice

    Advice to Management

    It's hard to focus on customer needs when the company believes that every customer is a Microsoft customer. Microsoft needs to focus as it is trying to be all things to all people. Keep engineering amazing products

    Microsoft2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A good, but not great, company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • Myriad of potential products and career paths • Incredibly smart people • Relative stability • Work/life balance • Lots of learning resources (books, courses) • New CEO has definitely helped galvanizing people and slowly embracing positive change

    Cons

    • Isolated, centric and not-invented-here mindset • Country club - lots of antiquated people just "resting and vesting" • Insane politics - Everyone will try to take credit for, and steal, the coolest projects from hackathons • Good enough compensation and benefits, but far, far from other big tech players • So-called diversity forced quotas can result in forced diversity hires, token employees and the like • Silly approach to increasing the bottom line: it's always a coin toss whether you'll be axed during the next RIF • Cronyism, lots of it

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote transparency on policies. Stop trying to savagely save $$ -leverage on that army of incredibly smart people to create cool stuff instead of trying to keep zombies alive. Come up with mechanisms to reward and promote the smart and motivated people, instead of the ones whose only achievement is stealing spotlights. Be honest and humble on compensation and benefits: stop with the kool-aid, why is there such a difference with other big tech companies?

    Show More
    Microsoft2018-04-16
  8. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft

    Pros

    Smart people, cool projects, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Large company, development done in Windows

    Advice to Management

    I think they're going in the right direction

    Microsoft2017-10-25
  9. "I learned a lot here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Great direction from team leads Great career support Motivating environment with smart people

    Cons

    office politics competitive not enough food

    Microsoft2017-10-02
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    - Inspiring direction from Satya - Tons of career mobility - Surrounded by really smart people

    Cons

    - Red tape - Bureaucracy - Some people get ahead by managing upward vs actually having technical capability

    Microsoft2017-09-26
Found 1892 reviews