Metroland Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Metroland Media Group Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Metroland Media Group CEO Ian Oliver
Ian Oliver
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and clients to work with(in 9 reviews)

  • "Friendly people for the most part, 3 weeks vacation to start (which now appears to be the standard anyway)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "sent work outside which caused quality to go down, low pay, no chance for real advancement(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management has let this company slid for years(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Paper Handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paper Handler 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time

    Pros

    Great use to learn social skills

    Cons

    Not as good pay

    Advice to Management

    to consider me for the job due to my hard work and great social skills even though i don't have a lot of experience

    Metroland Media Group2019-09-21
  2. "Part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time

    Pros

    Nice, easy going office atmosphere

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Metroland Media Group2019-12-11
  3. "Not Proactive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment No one breathing down your neck

    Cons

    Lack of vision & forward thinking approach

    Advice to Management

    Go lean and use more Tech

    Metroland Media Group2019-12-02
  4. "Easy and convenient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Newspaper Deliverer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, easy to fit delivery times into your schedule

    Cons

    Intense deliveries some days, load gets heavy

    Metroland Media Group2019-11-30
  5. "Good environment, poor hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oshawa, ON
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, job isn't stressful

    Cons

    Half my shifts end up cancelled because there isn't enough work

    Advice to Management

    Inform your applicants when you hire them that they will be working for a place that closes down, and that your shifts may end up being cancelled.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-27
  6. "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employee morale, great benefit package

    Cons

    Slow industry, no room for growth

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-25
  7. "Flexible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Hamilton, ON

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No micro management Get to get out of office and meet clients

    Cons

    Pay is horrible! Commission is not that great

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-23
  8. "Provided a Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Media is an interesting career path

    Cons

    Industry evolution is challenging and ever-changing. Fast paced.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-13
  9. "Great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and great benefits. The managers are very supportive and flexible and work hard to ensure employees feel appreciated and are happy.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, this position does not pay enough. It pays more than a lot of customer service positions I've applied to in the best, however, with bills, it's difficult to make ends meet.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company can be okay to work at if you get along well with management more than one tier above you.

    Cons

    Any manager can end any advancement without you ever really being told why.

    Advice to Management

    Base promotions and salaries on job performance and qualifications rather than whether all managers like the employee.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-02
Found 160 reviews