Mesa Air Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mesa Air Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 481 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Mesa Air CEO Jonathan G. Ornstein
Jonathan G. Ornstein
293 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "LOW LOW pay (it’s embarrassing)(in 70 reviews)

  • "VERY HIGH TURN OVER RATE for Flight Attendants/LOWEST REGIONAL PAY(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time

    Pros

    quick seniority and ability to move up

    Cons

    long days with long legs in certain bases. Not a lot of options for west coast bases.

    Mesa Air2019-02-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've had many jobs and this is by far the best place I have worked for. Amazing benefits and discounts with several companies. I've been here for years and I still can't get over the fact that I can fly for free on my off days to almost anywhere that I want with so many airlines to choose from. I also fly my family around and they love the benefits. As opposed to many mainline companies, you get a solid schedule... (not on call anymore) usually within a few months, which allows you to manipulate your off days and overnight preferences. Company pays for nice hotels while I am on my trips. In terms of management - Kevin Shirley-Tudesko is one of the friendliest and most helpful inflight supervisors that I have ever come across, great co-workers with the company as well. I personally know people who have left the company, and then come back. That's a statement in itself.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a fast paced career. Have to be on time and ready for action (as with any airline). Some people can't handle the heat of the aviation world, but once you get the hang of it, it can be quite thrilling.

    Mesa Air2016-09-17
  3. "Lowest Pay in industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mesa Air full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most co-workers were fun and bidding system is easy.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay. Start $16.20 per hour with a low $1.65 per diem. Medical benefits are extremely expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salary and better benefits.

    Mesa Air2019-09-13
  4. "Decent airline to work for; for newbies to the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mesa Air full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It gets your foot in the door

    Cons

    The pay is not that great

    Mesa Air2019-09-06
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - International Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Traveling and meeting great people

    Cons

    limited bases, low pay, no extra flight attendant jumpseat

    Mesa Air2019-09-02
  6. "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mesa Air full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work in Mesa good reputation company, and one of the fastest airlines industry’s in the USA. More on opportunity await.

    Cons

    Well, it’s a small salary, but more on benefits.

    Advice to Management

    In order to expand the company keep more on recruitment of a staff, to give us more idea and share experiences from other employee. FA. From those expertise and experienced of a customer service priority in the airlines industry.

    Mesa Air2019-08-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stepping Stone Company with perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Become a line holder fast. International trips immediately Family environment

    Cons

    Mesa is the lowest paying Regional airline Management plays favorites, and are unprofessional, click-ish, and gossiping. Be careful when reporting or giving feedback about issues relating to job duties because you may get scolded for it. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who practice confidentiality. Hire ppl willing and ready to work as a team. Weed out the “mean girls” and trouble makers, and down right rude flight attendant hopefuls during hiring process because a lot of new hires have very poor customer service skills.

    Mesa Air2019-09-01
  8. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mesa Air

    Pros

    Nothing everything is a mess

    Cons

    Everything manager is a joke, hr a joke, they don’t need humans they need robots.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management on IAH and be more mindful that you work with people, humans not with robots

    Mesa Air2019-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For those looking to be a flight attendant and don't know where to start or if you'll even like it look up Mesa they're almost always hiring because most use it as a stepping stone to major airlines. There is a lot of flexibility you don't stay on reserve at this time for more than 8-9months and you end up living in the base you want almost immediately. It's a small family type company so you get to know people well... and so you can form more of an intimate bond, you can also enjoy working with same crews more often, and above all swap trips or drop trips with co-workers because there's usually enough flight attendants they keep on reserve to allow this wonderful perk if you don't need to work as much and/or want to take advantagr of UA and AA brnefits and travel!

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is relatively low compared to other airlines but it is a regional so smaller and fewer aircrafts are flown. It is a contracted company with AA and UA so we do not have buddy passes at this time and our status to travel on UA and AA for leisure as a non-rev is below those who are employed with mainline airlines or the regionals wholly owned by AA such as Envoy PSA and Piedmont

    Mesa Air2019-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Dont work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mesa Air full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to fly for free

    Cons

    Company doesn't care about it's employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    Mesa Air2019-08-30
Found 481 reviews