Merrill Lynch Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Merrill Lynch President & CEO of Bank of America Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
962 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and extremely demanding teams(in 104 reviews)

  • "Do not pursue a career in wealth management if you are looking for work/life balance(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch

    Pros

    Intellectually rewarding, good partners, global reach, high profile, professional.

    Cons

    Compensation, opportunities for promotion do not come frequently.

    Merrill Lynch2016-11-14
  2. "software engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Very good work life balance

    Cons

    Job role is very well divided, and hard to learn skills outside

    Merrill Lynch2019-02-09
  3. "Large Company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Some bright people as coworkers

    Cons

    Big place, hard to meet people and connect

    Merrill Lynch2017-11-24
  4. "Great people, interesting work. Management needs more transparency, especially when it comes to pay for performance."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company small Canadian footprint, can get exposure to many lines of businesses. Opportunity to move around or up, but only to a certain level to be honest then it kind of plateaus

    Cons

    Management. Ugh. Always saying one excuse or another to manage our expectations. They do little to retain talent and it’s extremely frustrating because otherwise great workplace...

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2017-11-08
  5. "Client Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Merrill Lynch

    Pros

    Great culture, good training , good pay , good benefits, lots of room to grow

    Cons

    harder for women to move up

    Merrill Lynch2016-08-29
  6. "Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Intelligent people and good culture

    Cons

    Difficult to progress or get promoted

    Merrill Lynch2016-07-08
  7. "Tough but rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy Pay generally above industry average Opportunity for advancement available

    Cons

    Lots of restructuring Hours are long

    Merrill Lynch2015-10-05
  8. "Administrative assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with in own department and throughout other departments, company promotes within, good training on many topics/ skills.

    Cons

    Sorry but I can't recall any negative experiences or situations while I was working at Merrill Lynch. Everything was good.

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2015-05-12
  9. "Good culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch

    Pros

    Good culture, guarantee work life balance. People work well together, no back stabbing . Could be the over Canadian culture. A place where you can make friends

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for vertical movement. That could be a Canada thing as things move slightly slower in the country

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2011-05-24
  10. "Nice working place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch

    Pros

    Awesome atmosphere in the team. People in there are very nice and helpful. I didnt need to stay often after hours.

    Cons

    No software I needed and I had to wait to get it. It's not convenient to search something useful on the internet.

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2010-11-09
Found 2927 reviews