Mercuria Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mercuria Energy Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Mercuria Energy CEO Marco Dunand
Marco Dunand
19 Ratings
  1. "Tough but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mercuria Energy full-time

    Pros

    Lots to do and learn. Very flat structure. Nice and dynamic working environment.

    Cons

    Comp is not great. No pay increase. Low bonus. Management is not about people management.

    Mercuria Energy2015-12-02
  2. Helpful (6)

    "poor working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercuria Energy

    Pros

    fresh fruits and good location...

    Cons

    no development for employees, bad packages, poor work environment and treatment of employees in general, high

    Mercuria Energy2015-12-11
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Mercuria Energy

    Pros

    Friendly and approachable operations team

    Cons

    high turn-over rate of staff

    Mercuria Energy2015-09-30
  4. "Great experience and learning environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercuria Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has a very casual and excellent learning environment. People are experienced and energetic. It is great to work among them.

    Cons

    Yearly package may not be what you expect. Provides fewer leaves and work responsibility is high. However team working atmosphere is good so things are manageable.

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-08-14
  5. Helpful (7)

    "No strategy apart from enriching equity owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercuria Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks and healthcare Good benefits Good physical work environment

    Cons

    Treats employees like cogs unless you are front office producer Lies to employees Will get rid of anyone in a heartbeat No communication

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-09-06
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercuria Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress every day and you will not find better insurance benefits for yourself and all dependents.

    Cons

    No raises so try to negotiate as much salary as possible up front without the expectation it will increase more in the next couple years. Do not count on a bonus either unless you are in the front office. During my time at Mercuria I saw many people laid off without a clear indication as to why, and some of those were with the company a year or less. Also, it is almost unheard of for people to move around departments so expect to spend 3 or so years in the role you initially accept. As for work-life balance, this really depends on which department you are in, but don't count on it. Many people work weekends and late nights. Even after working 80+ hour work weeks, and being a high contributor to your department, do not expect to be compensated for that performance in the form of a bonus.

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-08-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good fit for experienced professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercuria Energy full-time

    Pros

    Pros: Abundance of talented, knowledgeable people Flat organization with easy contact to all tiers of management Solid benefits package Free food and/or drinks in office kitchens No dress code Flexible work schedule Mercuria employs some very high-caliber talent, which makes it a great opportunity to increase your industry knowledge and gain exposure to a wide array of segments like o&g, power, metals, etc. The hierarchy is very flat, which means that junior-level employees have the chance to interact with senior management and traders directly. Insurance/401k/etc are solid. Offices are supplied with, at the very minimum, free drinks and some offices have snacks readily available or daily lunch catering. The dress code and office atmosphere is very laid back. Flexibility in schedule and ability to implement more efficient processes yourself means you don't feel like you're being babysat by management. There are frustrating aspects to the company, but overall I am happy at Mercuria and I enjoy the freedom I have within the company to pursue business segments that interest me.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and direction in some depts Difficulty negotiating salary increases, small bonus Adequate staffing No formal training Mercuria is not a great company for someone new to the industry, as there is no formal training or mentoring. You are just left in the hands of your colleagues, who are often not adequately trained in managment. They prefer to hire more experienced people who can jump right in, rather than people who will require introductory development. The company is a mishmash of people from all over the world and other companies, so communication and defined expectations for performance are lacking. Some departments are better than others, but it's really up to individuals to decide to put for the effort to keep colleagues informed are there are not rigid, defined communication channels within the company. I have found Mercuria to be tough for salary negotiations. Bonuses and raises are either low or non-existent. Some departments run very lean and employees feel overburdened and others are overstaffed and everyone sits around bored all day - I haven't seen any action from HR or management to attempt to address this. Performance reviews seem to be just done out of habit, as no compensation changes seem to be based off of them.

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-07-03
  8. "Ex-employee on the Geneva oil trading floor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     in Geneva
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercuria Energy

    Pros

    The company structure was extremely flat - you had direct access to talented traders, which was a great learning experience The access to the traders allows you to develop a commercial sensibility quickly You are challenged everyday to provide value - which is incredibly motivating I loved the informal dress-code which was highly unique to the industry.

    Cons

    Career trajectory can flatten quickly - growth prospects are limited, there is a reluctance to promote internally or seek organic growth. Commercial hires are always external on expensive packages which increase costs to the business without always providing returns.

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-06-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Full of Internal Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercuria Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no positives working in this company.

    Cons

    There is no culture, no team work, no warmth amongst colleagues. really shocked how company is doing such a big business or may be just juggling with numbers. lower and middle management ideas are neither appreciated nor taken forward.

    Continue reading
    Mercuria Energy2015-06-03
  10. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Summer Intern in Singapore

    I worked at Mercuria Energy

    Pros

    Good exposure to markets by the team

    Cons

    A lot of office politics involved

    Mercuria Energy2015-04-07
Found 48 reviews