Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Memorial University of Newfoundland CEO Gary Kachanoski
Gary Kachanoski
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "remote island, not a very diverse community(in 5 reviews)

  • "no career growth in administrative kind of job, most jobs are contractual(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in St. John's, NL

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible timing Friendly colleagues A great job for a student

    Cons

    Nothing in my mind to complain about!

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-08-06
  2. "Flexible job with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility and lots of paid vacation.

    Cons

    Short contracts and being shuffled from lab to lab.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-08-09
  3. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in St. John's, NL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, many great people, beginning to see glimpses of innovative and generative leadership

    Cons

    Leadership deficit in key areas resulting in hanging on to old-fashioned power structures; non-human centred design approaches to large-scale change; overly conservative approach to business leadership in certain key areas

    Advice to Management

    Have made a major compensation course correction on the backs of high performing, future leaders. Seek innovative approaches to compensating high performing employees.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-08-03
  4. "Generally, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, No stress

    Cons

    The only cons might be the low salary

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-07-20
  5. "Graduate Studetn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex time, good opportunities for research development

    Cons

    can be hard to find good courses, aging infrastructure

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-05-27
  6. "Technical Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time

    Pros

    Awesome environment, great management, good benefits, flexibility.

    Cons

    Salary could be a bit better.

    Advice to Management

    Good job.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-04-25
  7. "TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant 

    I worked at Memorial University of Newfoundland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Memorial University team and Logistics

    Cons

    I do not have any downside.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-04-23
  8. "Good study and research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PhD Researcher in St. John's, NL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place for studying and researching subjects related to the ocean technology. Low tuition fees. Some opportunities to apply for different scholarships. People are really nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Weather can get harsh at times during the winter.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-03-19
  9. "Office assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Memorial University of Newfoundland part-time

    Pros

    This company provided expectional learning opportunities for me and they also had great relations with their employees.

    Cons

    Could not say there were many cons to this workplace. Overall my couple months spent there were very enjoyable and I had no bad experiences.

    Advice to Management

    As for advice to management I would not know what to say. I did not have much experience with senior staff as I was only a par time assistant.

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-03-19
  10. "research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial University of Newfoundland full-time

    Pros

    awesome place to work and live

    Cons

    remote island, not a very diverse community

    Memorial University of Newfoundland2019-03-15
Found 89 reviews