Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Medtronic Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3081 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Medtronic CEO Omar S. Ishrak
Omar S. Ishrak
1394 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits but converging to average(in 185 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance is great also as you have an option to work from home when necessary(in 184 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Deep brain stim, pain management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Neuromodulation Specialist 

      I worked at Medtronic full-time

      Pros

      I know the technology very well, and I love helping people

      Cons

      Not available in all areas of Canada

      Medtronic2019-06-06
    • "Toxic environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operator in Pointe-Claire, QC
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Medtronic full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      good benefits but they keep getting smaller and smaller every year.

      Cons

      Long hours, mandatory overtime extremely pushy with the overtime. Only 1 break of 15 min and a unpaid 30 min lunchbreak in the entire day. You need to leave at the same time as everyone and be back a bit before your break is over so you dont even get truly get the entirety of your one break a day. Lots of underqualified employes in management and very disorganized company.

      Medtronic2019-06-07
    • "Wonderful company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medtronic full-time

      Pros

      Great company, highly organized, wonderful benefits

      Cons

      Elimination of micro management for some divisions may be useful.

      Medtronic2019-04-14
    • "Great company - a company you can build your career and perhaps retire from"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Operations Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medtronic full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Multiple opportunities to grow - across teams and geographies Valued as an employee Ethical and compliant Self / personal development opportunities

      Cons

      Complex structure Difficult to get job done at time, specifically when dealing with teams across geographies

      Advice to Management

      Vision and plans to be percolated down to the lowest level People and teams not working in sales contribute immensely to company's growth - they deserve to be appreciated and rewarded as well. Should concentrate not only on 'Sales' but also on 'other Achievers' - people who are not in the frontline need to be valued.

      Medtronic2019-04-14
    • "Excellent place of employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Medtronic full-time

      Pros

      Strong portfolio, patient focused and emphasis on quality.

      Cons

      I have no cons to report.

      Medtronic2019-04-05
    • "Great Benefits/Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Medtronic full-time

        Pros

        Good Salary, flex hours and benefits

        Cons

        Need to incorporate more training upon hiring

        Medtronic2019-03-31
      • "India operations - average"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Medtronic full-time

        Pros

        Flexi work hours is an advantage.

        Cons

        Growth opportunities are very limited.

        Medtronic2019-04-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "Poor Upper Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brampton, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Medtronic full-time

        Pros

        The company is helping a lot of people with its technology, most of the staff are great people,

        Cons

        Lack of leadership in Canada and management doesn't care about its employees.

        Medtronic2018-11-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "QA tecnician"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Medtronic

          Pros

          Medical insurance in addition to stability

          Cons

          There is no specific challenge

          Medtronic2018-08-03
        • "Clinical Specialist"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Medtronic

          Pros

          Great pay & OR experience

          Cons

          Poor work/ life balance with being on call

          Advice to Management

          Improve distribution of work over associates

          Medtronic2018-07-18
        Found 3081 reviews