MediaMath Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "They trust in their employees, and the work/life balance is really good(in 64 reviews)

  • "flexibility , smart people, office view and food pantry(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All good problems - the company is growing so quickly that the dynamic environment can be hard to manage(in 14 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains -- some instability due to several re-organizations over the past few years; way too many disparate technology stacks(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 2, 2020 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to Work. I love it

      Cons

      Nothing i can think of

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Solid Changes Happening!

      Apr 14, 2021 - Site Reliability Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paternity leave is a MONTH! PTO is super generous. Pay is super generous! Tons of freedom to creatively solve problems. CEO is fired up and believes MediaMath can be a winner in the market.

      Cons

      Like with any company, switching between teams can feel like switching between companies, and how effective you’ll be has a ton to do with how well you can gain the trust of the team you’re working within. Lots of cost cutting focus.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      strong Adtech culture

      Apr 27, 2021 - Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great local leadership. Global team managed Covid very well. Flexible working conditions and strong team culture.

      Cons

      lots of structural change over the 3 years I was there, did impact feeling of overall company health as some of these changes were not successful.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Frustrating

      Feb 2, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -People are awesome. Made some of my best friends here & brilliant coworkers. -Culture was A+ before the pandemic & leadership switch -Pretty flexible, good work-life balance. Common in tech companies -Good opp to learn a lot if you apply yourself.

      Cons

      -SLT talks to employees but doesn't talk with them. Would be much better if they could have an honest discussion with their employees, especially in 2020, instead of being hush hush. -Tries to do too many things. Caters to whatever clients ask to make $; unfocused. -Cheap when it comes to salaries & bonuses. -Extremely difficult to get promoted unless you have a stellar manager. -Do not seem to care to retain the good folks. -Continuously compare themselves to a company that is public, makes 6x the revenue and has triple the manpower. It's not realistic. -Far too many re-orgs. -Some teams have a very toxic culture.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Feb 1, 2021 - Client Services Lead in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started my career off at MediaMath, with great people and was able to learn a ton of skills while having a ton of fun. MediaMath provided the opportunity to grow and take on leadership within teams to be able to expose yourself to all types of problems and issues, gaining invaluable experience. The culture there was great and everyone fully enjoyed the team they were on.

      Cons

      Too many team/org realignments, as well as disjointed communication and priority pipelines between departments. New leadership has been totally focused on this, but there was a lack of vision for a while.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to grow your career

      Jul 5, 2020 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really big, interesting CS problems to work on. No futzing about with weak tea python/nodejs services you would have at your average CRUD SASS company. You have to use serious tools because the scale is bigtime. Many services have to handle billions of requests/datapoints hourly. Working on these kinds of problems is how you grow as an engineer. The company has comparable scale to FAANG but cant/doesnt pay as well, but they compensate for it by being really chill. No expectation of long hours, no packing stressful amounts of work into sprints. Want to actually use your unlimited PTO? No problem. You have kids and errands? No problem. Very flexible WFH policies. Right now we have summer Friday where every Friday is a half day. Netflix would pay more, but having your life back is priceless.

      Cons

      10 years of techdebt overhang that slows development down significantly and causes reliability issues/firedrills. Management is serious about addressing it, so there is a silver lining, and you may get to rebuild some stuff from scratch, which is nice. That said, I don't think a day goes by without some production incident.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Nice Company

      Apr 2, 2021 - Account Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you get to work with

      Cons

      Tough market and struggles financially

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Mostly good things

      Feb 3, 2021 - Trading 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is lots of opportunity if you are okay working in a start up like culture.

      Cons

      Frequent changes in middle and senior management lead to disorganization and unclear direction.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Friendly Environment with lots of good work

      Jan 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly Good Work Openness of ideas Relaxed work culture

      Cons

      Not yet public Too many higher management leaving

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Once a great company, now not so much

      Sep 9, 2020 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good benefits - Good people / culture - Good work life balance

      Cons

      - No personal growth unless you know someone. Experience does not matter - Uncompetitive salary - no yearly pay rise (maybe limited to certain offices and/or people) - People jumping from one depart to another with no experience into senior positions. It is quite demoralising to see - It feels like there are more VP's and directors than individual contributors - VERY US centric - Constant production issues - the engineering teams try their best to keep a broken product running. Releases often lead to production issues - Leadership are interested in pushing out new products/features when the time should be spent on fixing/optimising the current state of the product The company has not been the same since the well publicised 2016 layoffs. There have been regular cuts to budgets/benefits since then. I personally do not trust the vast majority of these positive reviews.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      MediaMath Response

      Manager, HR Business Partner

      Thank you for providing your feedback. We want to be sure we adequately respond to your feedback point by point and welcome the opportunity to talk even further. First, we’re glad to hear that during your time with us you had a good experience with your colleagues and enjoyed our benefits. We do put a lot of thought and intention into our culture and strive to foster a healthy work-life balance across the company. As part of our focus on continually improving the experience of all of our employees, we recently hired a new Chief People Officer. Among her areas of focus for the near term is evaluating our overall promotion and compensation practices to ensure we are promoting fair practices throughout the organization. We do take pride in our internal mobility program as we think it is a great opportunity for our employees to stretch and flex their transferable skills into new roles and learn along the way, reflecting onf one of our core values: “Obsess Over Learning and Growth.” While we always try to align our internal transfers to ensure their skills and abilities match the position, your feedback is a helpful for us to be hyper focused on ensuring that our transfers are adequately equipped to succeed in their new roles and ensure our teams are properly staffed. Over the past 24 months, we have implemented a new engineering organizational structure aimed to ensure our people have a dedicated leader focused on their growth; in doing so most of our engineers find themselves in individual contributor roles with a small number of VPs managing people. We are also continuing to invest in our global growth and recently welcomed a UK-based Chief Client Officer. Our technology leadership team is committed to focusing on the improvement of our technology and release process to best serve our clients. In the interest of continual improvement, we will certainly bring this feedback to our head of engineering. Our leadership team is committed, now more than ever, to transparency and is open and willing to discuss ongoing issues through our weekly global all hands meetings and opportunities to ask questions openly and anonymously. Like many companies, 2020 has presented vast and unanticipated challenges and we did instate a 10% pay-cut across the board, including all leadership team members. We were open and transparent about this pay-cut and also prioritized the reinstatement of salaries to non-leadership positions first. (We are now happy to say that we have reinstated salaries across the company!) Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 356 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MediaMath Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MediaMath? Share Your Experiences

    MediaMath logo
    or