MediaMath Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MediaMath Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great engineers, while they’re still there. Interesting technical product. Well-meaning product team.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional product incentives lead to ever-increasing amounts of tech debt. Engineering teams shrink and don’t get back filled (combination of leadership and slow hiring process).

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2018-12-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Senior in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Smart people who are genuinely ready to help - work life balance - best views of the city ( in the Boston area) - snacks and perks

    Cons

    - maybe the internal wiki can be more organized

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2018-10-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best places to work in NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people, and one of the best curriculums for anyone looking to break into ad-tech.

    Cons

    Really nothing comes to mind.

    MediaMath2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Challenging computer science problems with a great culture to boot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very academic environment on the engineering side, spawned from the difficult computer science problems the technical folks need to tackle to scale the business. - The most interesting engineering work you will probably ever work on in your career. Digital advertising naturally lends itself to some of the most fascinating technical problems you will ever work on as an engineer. - Unbelievably kind, smart, and compassionate people. - Good market fit, scaled product, and potential to take more market share from our competitors.

    Cons

    I left to give to give another role a try at a different firm, but I will always miss the folks I left at MM. And I would recommend MediaMath to any of my friends, especially engineering folks, because that was most of my exposure to the firm. Now I’m realizing I put a pro in the cons section, but I really don’t have anything negative to say here.

    MediaMath2018-07-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Marketing Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Such great people. Really high caliber. - Professional but also casual -Built some great friendships there - MM builds the tech (TerminalOne) that many agencies use. - Great Pantry - Great views - They focus a lot on personal growth.

    Cons

    - It's been more than a month since I ended their career accelerator, Marketing Engineering Program, and I am still out of a job. - Many people say trust the process and there is a false sense of security when going through the accelerator. They are trying to help with introductions but not gaining much traction. It is a great company I just am finding it hard to get to the next step.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2018-06-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great company and tech culture for an engineer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture and people are amazing. Fun and enjoyable place to work at. If you are working on interesting projects, I don't think it can get any better than this.

    Cons

    Sometimes the rapidly changing environment and frequent re-orgs create some chaos, but it's all for a good end goal.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2018-01-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The best Frontend engineers I've worked with easily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Frontend engineering team is extremely talented. There is no reason MediaMath engineering should not be competing at the level of Google, Facebook, Apple and friends. They have the talent to do so. We could probably use some direction from management and trust from management to do the right things to further the business goals. - Location is wonderful. - Office is beautiful. - The people are great - You will like who you work with. - Work from home policy is great. - PTO policy is great. - I feel like my VP of Engineering is great. - My product manager is particularly helpful. She's almost as good as the last one I had at a previous employer and she has far less experience than he had.

    Cons

    The product is disappointing despite having the most consistently talented Frontend engineering team I've seen in my decade of Frontend experience. I haven't figured out why its so disappointing yet. Everyone seems constrained and under-utilized or just plain blocked from creating an amazing product due to the lack of a full UX team. Most companies would kill to have the Frontend engineering team we have at MediaMath. I hope they realize they have a diamond in the ruff here. MediaMath leadership just needs to make it shine. Documentation is lacking when on boarding. You are just kind of on your own if your team is not lucky enough to have someone who's been working at MediaMath for a few years. For what MediaMath offers we need to come up with structured on boarding and education for each and every employee. Each employee should feel empowered to provide value to the company. Its very hard to do this if you employees do not even fully understand the business which is crucial in MediaMath's business. On the Frontend side of things people are encouraged to work in silos but still on a single app. Decisions can feel like they are top down. However, we've been working to find ways to make decisions a conversation rather than a top down approach. I'd like to be more connected to the various teams which can be difficult when people are spread across so many offices.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2017-09-08

    MediaMath Response

    September 20, 2017Chief Product Officer

    This is helpful feedback, and I wanted to take the opportunity to address some of these comments. All the items you mention are areas we also feel strongly have to constantly evolve and improve to maintain our position as a market leader. First, we are in the midst of hiring a new head of UX, and then further investing in the already-talented team. On the topic of onboarding, we are hiring a new global head of Learning and Development who will help formalize the existing processes even more, and myself and Steve (SVP Engineering) have specific programs we’re rolling out this year to help new folks onboard and develop key skills effectively. Lastly, we’re in the midst of a period I find personally very rewarding at MediaMath, where we actually are investing a lot (as we just turned 10 years old) of preparing for the next 10 years – including paying down the technical debt that accumulates in all businesses. For me as a product leader, it’s heartening to be at a company where we take the time to do foundational rebuilding and refactoring work to ensure we’re consistently modernizing our tech and tech processes to be ready for the ever-more sophisticated needs of our customers. Finally, if you are interested in learning more, you are welcome to reach out to me, or any of the senior team directly – we love to get constructive feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Mediamath for over a year. In Engineering it's a lot less top-down than I've seen at most other organizations both in terms of managerial structure or attitude as well as technology stack. There's a healthy lack of self-satisfaction in the technological status quo, and instead there seems to be a constant striving in doing things cheaper, faster, and better. This does not mean to say the environment is high-pressure because, on the contrary, I've found it to be one of the most relaxed places I've worked. We have unlimited PTO and it's for real, meaning if you are capable of delivering good results then no one questions when or how you go about it. Other pros: People and culture are friendly and diverse; good benefits and free snacks; the view is awesome.

    Cons

    Onboarding could be better; wiki organization is pretty bad.

    MediaMath2017-08-06
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Good work life balance Good office

    Cons

    Not public yet Only on demand side

    MediaMath2017-03-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath for less than a year

    Pros

    Every single person there was welcoming and enjoyable to be around. Tons of office perks. Great attitudes, motivated people. I would work there again.

    Cons

    seems they could offer more in salary

    MediaMath2017-02-27
Found 36 reviews