Me To We Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Feb 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 119 reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Me To We CEO Roxanne Joyal (no image)
Roxanne Joyal
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people to work alongside everyday(in 9 reviews)

  • "great travel opportunities, like many people have said(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance at different points of the year(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay, lack of transparency from upper management(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Awesome Organization with Growth Opportunities

      Dec 17, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great people to work alongside everyday - unique travel opportunities - great skill development

      Cons

      - work life balance at different points of the year

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unehtical

      Feb 27, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some great people (not in management) that worked there.

      Cons

      Terrible and toxic work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Client Experience Coordinator

      Jul 26, 2020 - Client Experience Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, very collaborative environment

      Cons

      Low pay, lack of transparency from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great cause with a great team.

      Jul 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work for. Very down to earth and understanding. Positive work environment.

      Cons

      Charity means pay is less competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Coordinator

      Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You meet great people who genuinely want to help others.

      Cons

      Very low salary and lots of overtime hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked, Underpaid, Unsustainable

      Nov 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Colleagues If you ask anyone working at WE why they love it they will likely say ‘the people’, which is also the main reason I stayed as long as I did. WE hires great people, but unfortunately is not set up to retain them. Onboarding The weeklong onboarding program was an exciting and informative introduction to the organization, providing resources and networking opportunities for new hires. More professional development opportunities like this should be offered, not only to new staff, but those who are looking for growth and professional development within the org. Interesting Position I did enjoy my role and felt that it was a good fit for my background and skillset. I was given ownership over my portfolio and took pride in my work. I was quickly given more responsibilities than the initial job title, which I saw as a way to challenge myself and step into a leadership role. Opportunities to liaise with external stakeholders were readily available

      Cons

      Staff Retention and Impossible Workloads This is a bit of a 'chicken or the egg' situation. Are people overworked because staff keep leaving, or do staff keep leaving because they are overworked? Myself, as well as my colleagues, were overworked and there was not a proper compensation method for overtime. Rather, a popular option for compensation was the distribution of lieu days that people cannot afford to use due to their massive workloads. Work-life balance did not exist for me, and it was difficult to find separation from the role, as everything seems to be urgent, last-minute, and disorganized. Working evenings and weekends was not acknowledged by my direct report, and burnout was common among all levels. People will tell you to set your own boundaries, but I could not stay above water without sacrificing balance, and due to the staffing issue, my workload could not be redistributed. It was difficult seeing work friends leave after a short amount of time for better opportunities at other companies. I was encouraged to leave by many people who had moved on as they assured me “this is not a normal workplace”. Ultimately I had to come to that decision on my own, but I now know they were right. Even colleagues I contacted for information in other departments seemed to be suffering from the reassignment of responsibilities due to mass exodus. It was frustrating to feel like nobody knew what was going on as often as I did. No Discussion of Opportunities for Upward Movement My first few months in the role I was excited to be a part of WE and could see myself staying long-term. Every 3 months a Growth and Success Plan is completed by you and your direct report to touch-base on your performance and discuss your professional future. This was quickly abandoned after my first meeting due to the tumultuous state of the department. These meetings are important for retention, as employees are not likely to stay if they feel there are no opportunities for upward movement and are not being recognized for their work. Interview Process 4 step interview process spread out over 1 month. I completed a case study and presentation with less than 24 hours notice. A little excessive for an entry-level position.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Growth

      Dec 13, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot off opportunities to step up and try new things. To be successful anywhere you have to take leadership roles and look for ways to grow and improve the business. You can't do the bare minimum. Great people and a great message

      Cons

      You need to take ownership of where you want to go in the organizaiton. If you want to be a successful employee work with your director and ask for promotions - they won't be given to those who don't ask. There isn't as much pro-d as they preach but that just means you gotta do your own. Definitely a cult feel so you gotta buy in.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great short term job for recent university grads

      Oct 4, 2015 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, unique opportunities for skill and career development. Great short term job for young people fresh out of university looking to grow and learn leadership.

      Cons

      Long hours, the organization takes advantage of employees passion and hardwork and they don't stand behind their employees, Low pay especially since they operate in metropolitan area. Not sustainable long term.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A waste of time, not beneficial at all!

      Sep 24, 2014 - Youth Engagement Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will meet some great people working here. The training "on-boarding" experience is the best one I had there. You will get to learn some cool stuff about yourself as well as your career goals in the future.

      Cons

      Turnover rate of employees is very high. This is the first and most important sign you should not ignore. You are constantly told to swallow the terrible pay because of your will to help people in developing countries. You are being forced fed this idea that you are meant to help people so then you don't complain about the extra hours. People are not compensated for working 50-60 hour weeks. I was told that working 6 day weeks (50 hours) is not so bad, considering that 2 years ago they worked full 7 day weeks during busy seasons. People from many departments often work more than 40 hour weeks without any compensation and I am not sure if this is legal. They often try and bribe people with "free trips" where you get to work 24/7 and supervise children even though you might not have experience doing this. Coworkers have complained that the travel is extremely stressful and not satisfying. If you express your opinion on the unfair wages or other things that you disagree of the organization doing you are immediately corrected by management and staff. Any disagreement or personal opinion is not welcomed at the work space. Once you get hired you are constantly told that there is room to grow and move up in the organization. I've met multiple people that have never been allowed to move up even though they had the opportunity. Instead the organization would hire people externally. Me to We prides on being a part of a charity. It is a very corporate environment mainly focused on money. I understand that Free the Children may have low wages as a charity but there is no reason why Me to We should pay so low. Do not think that you will get anything out of this job that you can't get elsewhere! In any other company you can get the same experience and get paid accordingly, I know this from many examples of my friends' jobs that have moved up way quicker than anyone in this organization. Having Me to We on your resume is not a positive attribute. Employers are very well aware of the way that this place operates. I had a personal experience where employers were in disbelief that I had actually worked at Me to We and told me horror stories of past employees they know.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Work at Me To We? Share Your Experiences

    Me To We logo
    or