McMillen Jacobs Associates Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McMillen Jacobs Associates Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Daniel Adams
22 Ratings
  1. "A great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to large, interesting, and global projects. Ability to take on as much responsibility as you can handle. Good pay. Great technical mentorship. Some travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Depending on what office you are in, you may get very little exposure to actual construction sites. Company bureaucracy/politics can get in the way of promotions (and hence your career progression). Not sold on the senior management team.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-12-29
  2. "Chief inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in , very collaborative , treat you like an individual Instead of a number.

    Cons

    Old guard can be a tight knit group

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2019-01-14
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is growing but not too big for itself.

    Cons

    Natural growing pains but organization does a good job to help employees through the stress.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2018-10-08
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Clearly on the path to being purchased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time

    Pros

    Awesome staff, great culture, super technically competent. Projects are very, very interesting. Ambition and grabbing more project is almost always welcomed.

    Cons

    Management thinks the staff is obtuse and tells some pretty blatant lies about stuff that "is to our benefit" but really is the company's bottom line protection. Promotion is rarely merit based. Obvious the merger was about one thing and one thing only - a 5 year path to resale and inflating the retirement of the higher ups. Cutting profit sharing, minimizing dividend distributions, minimizing bonuses, minimizing raises, maximizing the number of staff on hand, cutting benefits, all speaks to one thing - a higher book price and a higher price when we sell. Buy stock if you work here. Get rich with them. Hardest workers are exploited/marginalized. Generally, there is an incredible resistance to cutting the dead weight when it starts dragging down offices, projects, and morale. Merger still hasn't gelled. It's two companies, it's going to continue to be two companies for a long time.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2018-01-03
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting and iconic projects with an intelligent , practical and energetic team.

    Cons

    No cons for this company.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-12-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time

    Pros

    Good reputation, opportunity to work with industry leaders, decent enough benefits

    Cons

    Managers do not hold employees accountable for their actions, very poor communication, slow to respond to inquiries, made me feel like I was just a warm body filling a position rather than a valued member of a team

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-10-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "engineer for 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun projects. Great teams to work with. Good clients. Design-build company with a great sense of purpose. I've worked at McMillen Jacobs for over 5 years. McMillen LLC and Jacobs Associates merged together, and the results have been good so far. The CEO and Engineering Manager are fun people.

    Cons

    My design teams are divided among different offices, so coordination takes more effort. Fine points of the merger between McMillen LLC and Jacobs Associates are still being resolved.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-06-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "No longer the old JA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1) Still many technically strong people 2) Company still a top operator in the tunneling market 3) Good financial performance (disclosure: I'm a stock holder, but with a very very minor share) 4) Flexibility for good work-life balance (this depends on your office, though) 5) Management has been responsive and supportive of my diverse professional development interests 6) Most offices have a fun culture and happy employees to work with 7) McMillen merger was an interesting move with a dynamic, ambitious young company 8) Top compensation among competitors, in my experience

    Cons

    1) Strange double standards regarding promotions (some people move up earlier than others with questionable justification) 2) I don't agree with company's position on equating years of education vs years of experience (spoiler - I think education is unfairly overcompensated) 3) McMillen side has largely taken over company operations, and the old "employees first" JA culture that successfully retained lots of talented people is shifting to a larger-company type dynamic 4) McMillen side seems to be benefiting more that the JA side from the merger. JA side is slow to roll-out a coherent and comprehensive strategic plan. Why is McMillen so much more put together? 5) Management is shifting resources away from employee comp and into improving stock price and stock value. This is a big win for major holders (which there are few) at the expense of the employees (which there are many). 6) As a minor shareholder and employee, it feels like the company is being run by a small group and I have very little control over corporate issues (like who gets nominated for election to the board).

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-06-14
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Management Take Warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture, locally within the offices

    Cons

    I don't need to list many - the other "negative" reviews spell it out pretty well. They are all fairly spot-on and it looks like the situation hasn't improved since I left the firm.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-04-23
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Management needs training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillen Jacobs Associates full-time

    Pros

    Excellent staff throughout company. Interesting projects. Good pay.

    Cons

    High-stress environment, heavy on internal politics, and plagued by nepotism. There are no pathways to success unless you are related to management. Unqualified family members/spouses in leadership roles. These managers micromanage to cover up their inexperience or are not approachable.

    Continue reading
    McMillen Jacobs Associates2017-04-06
Found 34 reviews