McMillan Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McMillan Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
McMillan Chair and Chief Disruptor Gordon McMillan (no image)
Gordon McMillan
2 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Art Director in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan for more than 10 years

    Pros

    McMillan is an great place to work, very creative atmosphere, great management team, talented team of creatives, and you can bring your dog to work!

    Cons

    Most of the work is B2B.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    McMillan2017-01-20
  2. "Love McMillan!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture - amazingly talented people who want to do amazing things, dogs in the office, lots of fun activities. Emphasis is on doing great work while maintaining a work/life balance. Great location, great space. An executive team who genuinely wants to listen to the team and make things the best they can be. Interesting, challenging clients. Proud to be a member of the McMillan team.

    Cons

    Maintaining the unique McMillan culture as we grow is a challenging endeavour.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    McMillan2017-01-20
  3. "Most fantastic place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Marketing Technologies in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The President and CEO have a clear vision for the agency and I feel as a member of the executive team, that my opinion and contribution is expected and valued. I genuinely like everybody here. Everybody is talented in their own right, and what's more, everybody truly is trying to deliver the best product they can. So many little perks including birthday day off, volunteer days, freedom to explore non-client... projects and little objection to purchasing hardware for testing (within reason). With children, there are often doctors appointments and sick kids which necessitates working from home. Management's philosophy is to start from a place of trust rather than scepticism. We know that things come up but we trust employees are adults and will still work to get the job done. As a result, very few people abuse this privilege. For the most part, the clients are great. Of course there are challenges, but we are quick to manage challenging relationships and people.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being on 2 floors can make integration of teams tough especially at a small agency. Small nit, and easily overcome with 2 feet and a heartbeat!

    McMillan2017-01-20
  4. "A special place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time

    Pros

    A variety of challenging work Clients with budgets you can really make an impact with Flexible work environment Respectful work environment Team environment Culture of transparency and accountability Training programs Integrity Bonus tied to profit

    Cons

    Unpredictability of the business Some work does not always hit the market due to changes on the client side Growing pains - managing growth and maintaining work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  5. "Fast-paced, fun, flexible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time

    Pros

    - Talented and creative colleagues - Supportive and understanding management - Commitment to professional development of employees and management - Great benefits - Generous bonuses - Ability to work from home - Volunteer day, birthday off - Fun, liberal environment/culture - Dog friendly

    Cons

    - Tight deadlines mean overtime is often required making work/life balance a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    - Ensure major changes in organizational structure are communicated clearly. - Knowledge transfer between old and new managers with respect to employee development/action plans needs improvement.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  6. "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    McMillan provides a wonderful workplace culture, a fast paced/dynamic, dog-friendly environment in a great location. Educational opportunities and growth opportunities are available. Upper management has strong leadership skills and are focused on mentorship. Another nice perk is the option to work from home. The company is sympathetic to family obligations and understands the importance of work/life balance.

    Cons

    My only criticism is that salaries are not always competitive depending on the role.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend reviewing the average salaries for digital agencies in Canada and align to those.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by very talented and intelligent people Lots of opportunity to grow and constantly challenged to do so Senior management openly shares vision for firm Casual friendly and vibrant office environment and open door policy no matter what role you are in the agency junior or senior The culture is amazing- many fun staff vents throughout the year Get your birthday day off Closed between Christmas and New... Years is an awesome perk End of year bonuses

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance is a challenge due to inconsistent workload and tight timelines Projects can tend be dull and repetitive (B2B / software tech) Salary for certain roles can be below industry standard

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency of sharing business goals and vision - its very motivating and encouraging. Consider offering a consistent work from home day per week or flex hours to help with work life balance Explore other 'best place to work' companies to see what benefits/perks they offer and consider bringing them to Mcmillan such as fitness memebership, top up for mat leaves, parking pass etc.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  8. "Big fish in a smaller pond."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motion Design Director in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    McMillan is the top agency in the city of Ottawa, in my opinion. McMillan has created great opportunities to work with a very talented and experienced team. The agency culture allows for good work - life balance. The best agency I have personally worked for. I look forward to a long future with McMillan.

    Cons

    The internal revision processes could use some streamlining.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture here is unbelievable and people genuinely want to do great work.

    Cons

    There can be challenges with busy periods because it is a tough balance between personal and work life.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster a pro feedback environment!

    McMillan2017-01-19
  10. "A model place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior CopyWriter in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan

    Pros

    Firm vision and a commitment from management to make it a reality.

    Cons

    Seriously hard to find any that really matter.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure reasons for major decisions are communicated quickly — a challenge as the company grows, but essential.

    McMillan2017-01-19
Found 52 reviews