McMillan Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McMillan Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
McMillan CEO Pierre Paul Samson
Pierre Paul Samson
0 Ratings
  1. "The place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great culture and working dynamic between all departments - Truly a work hard, play hard environment with the growth potential - McMillan make a real effort to invest in your personal and career growth (conferences, training, etc.) - Strongly promote a work/life balance but overtime is often needed

    Cons

    - Entry-mid level salaries are not very competitive compared to industry standard and it is difficult to secure promotions - High turnover - Limited creative opportunities

    Advice to Management

    - Invest in the talented employees you have and ensure they feel valued. - Continue to grow business that fits the agency instead of just taking on new business specifically for the revenue.

    McMillan2017-02-03
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture here is unbelievable and people genuinely want to do great work.

    Cons

    There can be challenges with busy periods because it is a tough balance between personal and work life.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster a pro feedback environment!

    McMillan2017-01-19
  3. "A model place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior CopyWriter in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan

    Pros

    Firm vision and a commitment from management to make it a reality.

    Cons

    Seriously hard to find any that really matter.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure reasons for major decisions are communicated quickly — a challenge as the company grows, but essential.

    McMillan2017-01-19
  4. "A Truly Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior CopyWriter in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine concern for the working well-being of employees founded in an appreciation of the fact that employees drive business, revenue and profit.

    Cons

    Minor quibble: Some business practices aren't quite in sync with a) the rapid growth in employee count and b) a significant change in in the nature of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. Keep listening and learning. There is no perfect and there is no done. It's a process leading to better and you're doing it better than most.

    McMillan2017-01-19
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very supportive. There is opportunity for anyone who steps-up. They value proactivity. Surrounded by smart people that I enjoy working with and hanging out with.

    Cons

    Nothing really that I would pick on.

    McMillan2017-01-19
  6. "An amazing place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Artist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan

    Pros

    I work with a talented group of people. McMillan has a great working atmosphere. I feel we all support each other. No big egos. Well, a few big-ish egos, but that goes with the territory. Totally reasonable and tolerable.

    Cons

    Too hot in winter and too cold in summer. Really, no complaints on my end. Any complaints are usually taken care of right away and problems solved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the great work that you are doing, and continue with the training that McMillan provides.

    McMillan2017-01-19
  7. "Simply the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - The Albert in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great talent. Awesome perks (volunteer days, fun events, dogs in the office, etc.). A very liberal environment, designed to the hilt for comfort and creativity. The executive is invested in full transparency and updates us regularly around company goals and status. I never dreamed I'd get to work in such a cool place with such cool people.

    Cons

    There's overtime to work when it's there, but it's very reasonable in that regard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees, and keep reaching for the stars.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  8. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    McMillan is a creative, fair, respectful, dog-friendly, collaborative, great team camaraderie, trusting, enjoyable and fun place to work.

    Cons

    When with working in a creative space such as McMillan, sometimes there are too many 'cooks in the kitchen' so to speak.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your peers and support and nurture training

    McMillan2017-01-24
  9. "Amazing culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time

    Pros

    •Amazing culture and employees •Great office space •Every day is different and exciting •Tries their best to provide a good work/life balance

    Cons

    •Salaries vary with no rhyme or reason. People in the same position doing the same thing can have major pay gaps with no explanation or reason. •There’s favouritism from upper mgmt towards certain employees

    Advice to Management

    •Listen to and invest in your employees so you can attract keep great talent •Don’t make people fight for what they deserve

    McMillan2017-01-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Unbeatable people and environment, painful work and clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McMillan full-time

    Pros

    -Amazing colleagues and great environment -Intelligent, hard-working and fun people -Very supportive management who appreciate everyone's efforts -Leaders who genuinely listen to their staff -Generous bonuses -Parties are hard to match

    Cons

    -Exclusive B2B (especially technology) clients leads to unique challenges and often times very dry work -Uniqueness of required skillsets given complex nature of B2B clients' work leads to periods of understaffing -Nature of clients' work and industries necessarily leads to a painful focus on technical details at the expense of time and resources for creative brilliance -Potential lack of willingness to truly... turn down work and clients who do not present a big creative opportunity

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to consider the acquisition and retention implications of maintaining a 100% B2B approach.

    McMillan2017-01-20
Found 52 reviews