McMillan Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McMillan Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
McMillan CEO Pierre Paul Samson
Pierre Paul Samson
0 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lovely atmosphere, extremely creative people, and has a very engaged management team.

      Cons

      It can be very busy at times.

      McMillan2017-01-23
    • "Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan

      Pros

      I've worked in many agency environments and it seems like cynicism pervades many of these cultures. This place is way different. Everyone has each others' back and there is a genuine concern for everyone on the team. I think the quality of the work could be better but I also believe there is nothing standing the way of doing better work. Everyone is given permission to do the best they can and is given lots of support,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Being a B2B Creative agency is a double-edged sword. It has definitely allowed the agency to focus on massive global clients, which I like. But it is sometimes difficult to persuade them to take risks to do great work. But that's a challenge I think we are game to take on.

      McMillan2017-01-23
    • "Great company culture!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time

      Pros

      Great company culture Wonderful coworkers who support and lift each-other up Given lots of autonomy Clients with budgets you can really make an impact with Respectful work environment Culture of transparency and accountability QA department Bonus tied to profit

      Cons

      Growing pains - managing growth and maintaining work/life balance

      Advice to Management

      Walk around and listen - you might be surprised what you'll learn!

      McMillan2017-01-23
    • "Is this part optional?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      With almost every advertising/marketing agency these days being governed by international holding companies or by a distant c-suite who only observes work from the ledger sheet at their desk, it's refreshing to work somewhere that truly cares about work/life balance. While you may have to work outside a typical 8-hour day or travel, you cannot work in marketing/advertising atmosphere that's more caring, forgiving and...

      Show More

      Cons

      While the investment of time and attention in client work is extremely high, not everyone is as motivated as others to create 'the best' work. Clients win but sometimes the opportunities can feel slim if you're a creative.

      Advice to Management

      As you grow, don't lose the entrepreneurial spirit and warm environment that's been fostered over the past 20 years.

      McMillan2017-01-23
    • "Best employer I've ever had. Honestly."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Art Director in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time

      Pros

      McMillan is a dream. The management is open, transparent and inclusive (not to mention ultra-friendly and approachable). Employees are valued, appreciated and compensated fairly. Professional development is strongly encouraged. The environment is open, creative and encouraging. The culture and values is something I've never experienced and can't really describe - dedicated creative professionals who work hard, play hard...

      Show More

      Cons

      B2B can be challenging and demotivating sometimes. Projects are large and tend to last for very long periods of time with no end in sight. But to counter that, we're given the opportunity to work on moral-boosting fun pro-bono work regularly.

      Advice to Management

      Your openness and appreciation for your staff is the glue that keeps the culture strong. Keep doing what you're doing. You have an army supporting you.

      McMillan2017-01-23
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan

      Pros

      - Great team - Good perks and benefits

      Cons

      - Work/Life balance is hard to maintain - There is an inconsistency of how people are treated, which leads to varied experiences depending on the your position in the company - The salary is low compared to the industry standard - There is barely any movement for advancement and growth - There is a culture of fear: Fear of saying anything bad about the company (people are always scared to lose their jobs)

      Advice to Management

      Invest in the employees in your company (salary and promotions). Stop the favouritism and treat people based on their work ethic.

      McMillan2017-02-06

      McMillan Response

      February 22, 2017

      Thanks for your candid feedback. We try our best but, yeah, we don’t have all the answers. If you’re game, please reach out to me or Rob. We’d love to brainstorm on how to make things better. Gordon McMillan

    • "Simply the best!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - The Albert in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great culture, great talent. Awesome perks (volunteer days, fun events, dogs in the office, etc.). A very liberal environment, designed to the hilt for comfort and creativity. The executive is invested in full transparency and updates us regularly around company goals and status. I never dreamed I'd get to work in such a cool place with such cool people.

      Cons

      There's overtime to work when it's there, but it's very reasonable in that regard.

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening to your employees, and keep reaching for the stars.

      McMillan2017-01-20
    • "Awesome place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Art Director in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan for more than 10 years

      Pros

      McMillan is an great place to work, very creative atmosphere, great management team, talented team of creatives, and you can bring your dog to work!

      Cons

      Most of the work is B2B.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      McMillan2017-01-20
    • "Love McMillan!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Director in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Fantastic culture - amazingly talented people who want to do amazing things, dogs in the office, lots of fun activities. Emphasis is on doing great work while maintaining a work/life balance. Great location, great space. An executive team who genuinely wants to listen to the team and make things the best they can be. Interesting, challenging clients. Proud to be a member of the McMillan team.

      Cons

      Maintaining the unique McMillan culture as we grow is a challenging endeavour.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      McMillan2017-01-20
    • "Most fantastic place I have ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Marketing Technologies in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McMillan full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The President and CEO have a clear vision for the agency and I feel as a member of the executive team, that my opinion and contribution is expected and valued. I genuinely like everybody here. Everybody is talented in their own right, and what's more, everybody truly is trying to deliver the best product they can. So many little perks including birthday day off, volunteer days, freedom to explore non-client projects...

      Show More

      Cons

      Being on 2 floors can make integration of teams tough especially at a small agency. Small nit, and easily overcome with 2 feet and a heartbeat!

      McMillan2017-01-20
    Found 52 reviews