McKinsey & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McKinsey & Company Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3528 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company CEO Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
434 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, truly global opportunities(in 199 reviews)

  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 197 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Come here to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Investment in each people development through hands-on work, coaching/mentoring and trainings - Ability to have material impact on organization or society through access to top decision makers - great salary and benefit packages (e.g., 8 weeks paternity leave and 6 months maternity leave) - One Firm model that enable true international short/long term mobility and access to experts globally

    Cons

    - Fast pace environment that will push you to your limits so you can grow faster - Can require some long hours, but they are offset through generous PTO and exceptional opportunities to grow

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in living the dual mission of lasting client impact and creating unrivaled environment for top talent

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-28
  2. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    paid OT, great vacation pay, annual bonus guaranteed

    Cons

    No career development opportunities for admin staff

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-20
  3. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great place to gain exposure to HR and build up a great network

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-19
  4. "Great opportunity to have a far-reaching, tangible, positive impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - great depth and breadth of experiences available across industries, geographies, and functions - opportunity to learn from global leaders in each of those areas - work with highly talented and motivated individuals

    Cons

    - requires travel (although we are increasingly getting better at this) - Will sometimes require long hours

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-28
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Client Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, all striving to make an impact

    Cons

    Many different directions and priorities

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-11
  6. "Best place I could imagine to work. Has truly changed my life and my world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We help to change the world for the better, through our work in the private, public and social sectors. Super-charges any career. Start as a high potential; live to your potential.

    Cons

    Too many opportunities and choices. Tough to decide where to say no, where to lean-in...

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-26
  7. "I still can't imagine a better place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love the people I get to work with - they are friends, but also help me grow and develop

    Cons

    As it's client service, we're sometimes at the whim of clients

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push on new ways to work

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-26
  8. "Amazing place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart and caring colleagues, challenging and interesting work, a true meritocracy.

    Cons

    Travel isn't for everyone but the firm has programs to help take time off and support work life balance.

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-20
  9. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart team to work with

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure at the workplace

    McKinsey & Company2019-04-19
  10. "Great training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Sets you up for success later on in your career

    Cons

    Work life balance could be better

    McKinsey & Company2019-02-11
Found 3528 reviews