McKinsey & Company Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McKinsey & Company Consultant Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company CEO Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Intense, great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant Associate in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure Accelerated learning Confidence booster - there's nothing you can't accomplish! Fantastic career booster - some senior executive jobs require MBB experience

    Cons

    Lifestyle Professional services environment - not made for everybody Travel may be hard if you have a family Need great physical resilience - you will be tired

    Advice to Management

    Need to create more tailored paths for employees

    McKinsey & Company2014-11-21
  2. "Training ground; wouldn't do it for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant Associate in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company for more than a year

    Pros

    - You will become better; great on the job training - strong network - excellent exit opportunities

    Cons

    - Can be a tough environment; not unusual to see someone crunching late on a Friday night - Structure can lead to

    McKinsey & Company2016-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting work, great compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company

    Pros

    Very smart people, interesting work, great compensation, learn a lot of things fast

    Cons

    Non-existent work-life balance, on planes and hotels 80% of your time.

    McKinsey & Company2015-12-03
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best reputation Top notch knowledge Cream of the crop colleagues

    Cons

    Hours and engagement selection process

    Advice to Management

    Smile

    McKinsey & Company2012-08-10
  5. "As good as it gets for top tier strategy consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great colleagues, interesting work, fast paced

    Cons

    terrible hours, lots of pressure

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-20
  6. "An incredible place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    McKinsey is one of a kind in so many ways... the training opportunities, the people, the global nature, the cool, meaningful work. I feel fortunate to grow my career here and build my network with gracious, smart, interesting people.

    Cons

    Not a pro or a con but we work hard so if you're not interested in doing important work, it's likely not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great benefits.

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-02
  7. "Comments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interested in the consultant industry

    Cons

    Long work time over 8 hours a day

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-22
  8. "Super"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Superb everything good perfect fantastic

    Cons

    Nothing till date now

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging work, goodies and hotels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the lifestyle; amazing team

    Cons

    Work team life balance and travel

    Advice to Management

    Follow regional staffing

    McKinsey & Company2019-04-18
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Management Consultant.....or rubber stamper?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good and it will give you exposure to many industries. Depending on the company you may be allowed to influence it's current practice for the better.

    Cons

    This is a very tough position. The majority of my consulting gigs have had me go into companies to find some way to justify layoffs. I've been forced by my manager to update recommendations to match what the customer wants ( need to find a way to show some roles as redundant to the detriment of the business). For example: get rid of all the logistics functions and outsource even if I see huge risk to revenue. I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More support needs to be given in the work life balance arena. I feel like my current group are burned out knowing we are finding a way to justify getting rid of people.

    McKinsey & Company2019-04-04

    McKinsey & Company Response

    April 25, 2019Recruiting Expert

    We're sorry to hear you feel like you've had to make recommendations that don't align with the best possible solution. If you have not already, please share this detailed feedback with objective leaders in your office or with our Ombud so that they can help resolve these issues in ...

    Show More
Found 99 reviews