McGraw-Hill Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McGraw-Hill Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill Interim President and CEO Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great people/culture; flexible work hours/options; rewarding work environment(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 32 reviews)

  • "Do lots of experiments, Strategy change & Senior Management Change(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team to work with.

    Cons

    None to report over here

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-07-09
  2. "Great place to work in education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work in education

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    McGraw-Hill2019-12-30

    McGraw-Hill Response

    January 2, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you have had a positive experience working with us. If you have any further feedback to share, please reach out to us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  3. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Value employees - Family atmosphere - Good benefits package

    Cons

    - Upper management changes frequently

    McGraw-Hill2018-11-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people there were great to work with.

    Cons

    Senior management did not care about the employees. Their main focus was meeting the bottom line not matter the cost.

    McGraw-Hill2018-10-25
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, ability to work from home office, annual bonus plan

    Cons

    Hard to get a salary increase once you're locked in.

    McGraw-Hill2018-07-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    - Excellent staff and collaborators - Friendly and flexible work environment

    Cons

    - There is some uncertainty about future projects

    McGraw-Hill2017-05-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent Company, Excellent Strategy, The best work environment I've ever worked in.

    Cons

    Since the purchase of McGraw Hill by Appolo Global Management, the company has lost leadership and as a result has caused low moral. apathy and frustrations

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-05-13
  8. "Learning Solutions Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    Flexibility, remote, car allowance

    Cons

    noticeable hierarchy among levels and departments

    McGraw-Hill2017-05-15
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    Innovative, flexible, high expectations.

    Cons

    Cons that comes with high expectations in an innovative company.

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not Welcoming, Not Caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    Pay was good and the work load wasn't overwhelming.

    Cons

    The office environment was very cliquish and they put little to no effort into training me or including me. As a result I felt that I was set up to fail at the position and was not asked to stay at the end of my contract.

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-03
Found 843 reviews