McDonald's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

McDonald's Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29201 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
McDonald's CEO Steve Easterbrook
Steve Easterbrook
5272 Ratings
  1. "If you are a college student don't even bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discount on food, a place to grow

    Cons

    lots, rude co-workers, barely do their job, just come and gossip

    McDonald's2019-08-19
  2. "Typical minimum wage job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mcdonalds Crew Member 

    I have been working at McDonald's part-time

    Pros

    Scheduling is generally flexible and you do get to meet some cool people. For a part time job it fills the role and depending on the store and it’s guest traffic you can expect to get as much or as little hours as you wish.

    Cons

    Crew are expected to do more work without pay and vice versa. There will also be crew who do considerably less but the pay is the same all around.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people!

    McDonald's2019-08-19
  3. "Very good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier 

    I worked at McDonald's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounted meals and flexible schedules

    Cons

    you smell like fries at the end of your shift

    McDonald's2019-08-04
  4. "Pretty okay starting job for when you're in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at McDonald's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get into Learn a lot of general skills applicable to other careers Fast-paced

    Cons

    Repetitive and stressful, especially when it comes to working at the kitchen Being in retail, you deal with many rude customers and all

    McDonald's2019-08-17
  5. "I wanna do what I love and love what I do but I still haven’t found what I’m looking for. This could be it:)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Presenter in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since I took my first position with McDonalds I have discovered I have a knack for upselling products ( ie: suggesting a new product or a perfect pairing to a guest. This position has fine tuned my interpersonal skills when it comes to talking to guests

    Cons

    Every restaurant is different in the size and style of building; - my current restaurant is so small for the capacity of guests and employees that my coworkers and I constantly run and bump into eachother - some nights are so busy that we are unable to complete our secondary duties like washing dishes before the next shift due to the high volume of guests especially on game nights or special events like K- Days -...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Periodically relieve employees on drive- thru to start their secondary duties like baking, dishes and and counting waste or; To sufficiently stock and sanitize food prep and service areas

    McDonald's2019-08-01
  6. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker 

    I worked at McDonald's part-time

    Pros

    Good hours , good pay overall good

    Cons

    Smells bad, weird customers don’t work night shift

    McDonald's2019-08-01
  7. "good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice people to work with

    Cons

    some managers are rude, Sometimes treat other unfairly

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to your employees

    McDonald's2019-08-15
  8. "Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at McDonald's part-time

    Pros

    nice people and management team

    Cons

    none, it was pretty good

    McDonald's2019-08-16
  9. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pizza Maker in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at McDonald's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun to work at,

    Cons

    Work under pressure under a short time period

    Advice to Management

    Get more workers

    McDonald's2019-07-31
  10. "Flexible, sometimes frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Coordinator 

    I worked at McDonald's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, interesting people, discount!

    Cons

    Understaffed, busy times, unpleasant customers.

    McDonald's2019-07-31
Found 29201 reviews